Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=230

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Panasonic  ›

Panasonic GD55 / A100

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

4.04
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

GREAT!

 

Jul 27, 2006 by kenstee

Best $40 I ever spent. Got it on ebay before I went abroad. Most amazing is the size. This thing is tiny. I've never seen anything like it - and it can fit easily in a jeans coin pocket or a shirt pocket.

It is very bareboned, no camera, etc. But if you want a no-frills, solid "talk" phone when you need GSM this is it. No problems switiching SIM cards. EZ set-up. Buy SIM cards locally in the country you are in for the best rates. If you roam using your current US-based CDMA or GSm service the charges will be very high.

Ring volume is good as is reception and earpiece volume

I have the GD-55 and there is no speakerphone on this version. But, to me this is not a negative.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A100 Not GD55

 

Aug 2, 2004 by okeanos

Great phone!!! Excellent reception actually better than the Siemens SL55 probably due to the External type antenna.
This phone the A100 does not fit the cases for the GD55 so I wouldn't consider it the same phone. Some things notably the microphone and speaker are different and Better. The battery compartment is a cover and the battery snaps into place separately.
VERY TINY PHONE but bright blue back-lit display is easy to read and very easy to dial.
For use as a phone it is highly recommended.
No camera, no color Very long battery life just what I needed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Grat things come in small packages

 

Mar 8, 2003 by Jeff Harris

Wonderful little world phone! and, it DOES have a speakerphone, which is very convenient. Kudo's for the smallest phone (the new Samsung 300 is still bigger when you open the clamshell)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Panasonic Gd55.....Small But Incredible!

 

Feb 1, 2003 by Allison Santiago

I work at WirelessMart, and I see a lot of phones every day, but still I prefer the World's Smallest GSM tri-band phone; keeping that in mind, this is the best one I've ever owned. The only thing that holds this phone back from the perfect five rating is the lack of the handsfree speakerphone feature and you cannot download ringtones and pictures. (just like what they are claiming on the specifications)

Gd55 is just simple phone but in terms of the reception...its fantastic! And the voice quality its very clear for both parties and even the battery life its excellent. I had it for 3 months already and it didn't cause me any problem so far.

As for the young consumers, we are going to need a few more things on a phone. Like a built in camera, and a bluetooth feature too with the chicken nugget size of this phone. I hope Panasonic could uppgrade this phone very soon.

But the bottom line is I recommend this phone if you like a cute little world phone on your hand, 'coz its worth it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Bad Bad!!!

 

Feb 1, 2003 by Vincent Chan

This phone is very small and has amazing features too. But when you are using this phone in a moving vehicle, you will find that the duration is not clear even the signal is good. It sounds really bad. After you stop the car, everything will back to normal. This is the true experience from myself.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone for...TALKING! :)

 

Sep 1, 2007 by mrpearson253

I'd love to start by saying this is the smallest phone I've ever owned. I took it with me when I went to Europe awhile back, and the phone is darn durable too! I dropped it several times, and aside from the odd scratch or bump, the thing has survived amazingly well. The back lit display is very clear, and the keys are easy to find, even with big fingers like I have. I'm 6'4", with pretty big hands, so that's saying something! If you need a bare-bones phone for pretty much calls only, this would definitely fit the bill. I got mine on eBay and it works with my T-Mobile SIM card, even though it says "Cingular" on the display and has a little roaming symbol. Not sure if that's changeable or not, guess it doesn't really matter as long as the phone works.

The pros: great size, lightweight, clear call quality, plug in for handsfree (REALLY clear), good battery life, nice display.

The cons: No camera and no internet to speak of (except low end WAP, but that's what actual computers are for!), monochrome display (as opposed to full color).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love this little phone!

 

Feb 22, 2005 by jc2849

I just got my GD55 and I think it's the cutest phone I've ever seen. I love the speakerphone and the reception is great. It is the perfect size to carry in a small purse or pocket. It doesn't have a lot of extra features but I only care that it works well as a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my "baby" phone

 

Jan 21, 2005 by beachic434

I have had this phone for about a year now and it has treated me very well. it is a very unique phone and everyone is always impressed. it fits everywhere. im a very active person so i have droped this phone a lot and it has still been very good to me. im sure if i was more careful with it i would last me a long time. ah! what wonderful times my phone and i have had.

oh also! i have taken this phone to india, hong kong, germany, austria and france and it works wonderfully there! if you travel a lot it is perfect for you bc it will work in other countries and it isn't heavy to carry around.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


fred .m. wille

 

Jul 19, 2004 by newstylez21centry

come on now rember wen we used the big brick phone waied 1pound 1/2 company called cell one ..well now says the word ((TECH & STYLE)) well now things r getting samller and better for some people.. but just rember every thing thats comes to USA is all ready (OLD SCHOOL) OVER THERE ware it was made come on can the usa make a phone like that ??ya if wee realy tried

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wicked Good Phone

 

Dec 17, 2003 by TfrmToronto

Well.. i've had my GD55 for aproximately 7 months now, sure it's got a few scratches, but it's earned each one of them. I normally change phones every 6 months and this one is coming due. However This phone outdid my expectance. The standby time is excellent, I think I actually lost track of time and it normally lasts about a week even with some minor talking (fido). Before I had fido I was on Rogers AT&T and it wasn't too bad even then with about 6 hours of overall talk time and about 3 days standby. I must have got a crazy model. Features on the phone are something to talk about. Only thing missing is the bluetooth and color screen. However saw the G50 and wasn't impressed with the color screen anyway (takes away from the standby time). The speakerphone is excellent if your in the car, you won't need a handsfree kit at all. Overall though, after my 6 month trial ready to move on. Would however reccommend this phone to anyone that wants a small phone with alot of kick.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1