Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2039&r=34555

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Clutch i465

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

2.6
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Save your $$$ for R.I.M., you'll thank me.

 

Jul 27, 2009 by Suppozo

I bought this phone from Boost, brand new, on their unlimited plan. TALK ABOUT GLITCHY!

Half the shit doesn't work as far as features go. It has been COMPLETELY nerfed for Boost. I have heard that the Nextel version fixes some tiny problems, but none of the ones i'm mentioning. After buying the phone for $129.99+tax, im sad to say I didn't do my research and buy a 8350i Blackberry Curve from Nextel...silly me I didn't realize you can just pop a Boost sim card in one and keep it movin.

-CONSTANT messaging issues (even more then usual with iDEN)
-NO tools/calculator/alarm (datebooks events do not set off anything, just notify flash screen)
-Browser (OpenWave) is slow as all anything, and you cant download ANYTHING. HALF the websites wont work for absolutely no reason (even boostmobile.com, their own site)(pics/tones/apps) due to the fact Nextel/Boost has this BLOCKED.
-There arent any software hacks like with Moto Q to get rid of annoying features/settings
-Camera is okay but needs spotlight/flash, and you CANT turn off the shutter sound (wtf?)
-Screen budges out further then keyboard so it takes ALL the scratches on the screen only
-When replying to text messages (in thread style or not) you cannot remove the inserted reply to text. e.g.; you send me a text saying HI, when I reply hello you will see ------- in reply to HI below my hello. STUPID
-No Picture/Caller ID with Photos (boggles my mind how a 200$ phone doesnt have this??)
-No memory/micro SD slot
-Shift key was rumored to not work, thats not true- people are just idiots and dont know there is a press, hold, and 3 sec hold toggle settings on shift/caps/symbol buttons
-People also said that you could get a new OS/web browser by download an uploader..this is NOT allowed on the boost version and can only be used on Nextels version.

...the phone sucks. I'm selling this one on Craigslist and getting a 8350i BlackBerry curve, for around the same price...with POP email added and more reliable service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Let's Clarify

 

Jul 25, 2009 by ashgirl

"I was really excited that Boost had come out with a full QWERTY phone. Boy was I disappointed. Apparently the Boost Mobile version of this phone is completely stripped down, no alarm, calculator, notepad, games, or java."

LETS CLARIFY ABOUT THIS REVIEW AT THE TOP. hAVE YOU GONE INTO THE MAIN MENU AND THEN HIT THE "MORE" BUTTON IT HAS...MORE!

THERE IS JAVA, GAMES, ALARM, CALENDAR...ETC.

ALSO ONE REVIEW SAID YOU CANT CHECK YOUR EMAIL...YOU CAN I DO EVERYDAY. ON MULTIPLE EMAIL ACCOUNTS. HOWEVER SOME THINGS ARE LOCKED.

ANYWAY FOR 50 A MONTH UNLIMITED TALK TEXT AND WEB. I ADORE IT!

i USED TO PAY 230 FOR MY PHONE WITH ATT. THIS HAS MADE MY LIFE SO MUCH EASIER AND IT SAVES ME MONEY! ITS ALSO A GREAT LOOKING PHONE, AND VERY USER FRIENDLY. SOME PEOPLE ARENT PHONE SAVY BUT ITS A GOOD PHONE!

THE NEGATIVE THAT I FOUND IT WONT LET ME DOWNLOAD ANYTHING FROM THE WEB!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Nice try Boost, could be much better.

 

Jul 12, 2009 by oroberous

This review is for Boost Mobile's version of this phone:

I was really excited that Boost had come out with a full QWERTY phone. Boy was I disappointed. Apparently the Boost Mobile version of this phone is completely stripped down, no alarm, calculator, notepad, games, or java. You can't even download through the horrible openwave browser, that has been blocked too. You won't find that information on Boost's website. I couldn't get Motorola Phone Tools to recognize the phone, but I was able to transfer pics by bluetooth from my computer.

The phone is solid, feels good in your hand, and has great sound quality. The speakerphone is loud and clear. As a texting phone it is OK.
The screen is horribly small, as you are typing text 2 or 3 small words take up a whole line. And they tried to go with the threaded messaging (which I really liked on the Palm Treo) but it is just confusing on the Clutch.

Pros:
Bluetooth
QWERTY keypad
Solid-rugged design
Great sound
Great reception
Battery life was decent, about a day with moderate use

Cons:
Horrible screen size
Good luck finding ringtones
No apps at all, NONE !
Can't download or save pictures
No memory expansion available
No video support
Camera is below average quality
No Java
Openwave browser

Summary- I kept this phone less than a week. I discovered that you can use Nextel Blackberry's with Boost so I went with that.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I465 rocks for what it is

 

Jul 8, 2009 by stymi

First I want to clarify one of the earlier posts here
/quote
1.) The QWERTY board doesn't have a "second" "function" option, aka if you wanted to lock the buttons into the symbols, numbers, shift you have to hit "FN" before every stroke. ALSO the "Caps" option is really the "shift" function as you have to again hit it before every letter.
/end quote

Actually you can lock these features, just hold the FN or Caps button down for a few seconds when you release it viola its locked.

Ok so Its a blackberry wanna be, but not really.
I have a friend with the blackberry PTT model and it SUCKS battery dead within a day of not making any calls or texts. This phone keeps a nice charge even when I do a fair bit of web surfing / gaming throughout the day of course it does need a charge at the end of the day, but its not dead.

For 50 a month I dont really see how you can expect more this is a great little phone the only cons I have is that the screen is pretty easy to mark up with light scratchs, but when the screen is on these arent that noticable.
The default web browser stinks but I was able to OTA opera mini onto it without any problems and its been rockin ever since.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's no blackberry, but it's not supposed to be!

 

Jun 28, 2009 by dzahnle

OK, a while back I had a HTC Tilt when I was on ATT and I absolutely loved how it interfaced and I just had the i335 so I can point out a few specific things that this phone lacks but also the things that I like.

1.) The QWERTY board doesn't have a "second" "function" option, aka if you wanted to lock the buttons into the symbols, numbers, shift you have to hit "FN" before every stroke. ALSO the "Caps" option is really the "shift" function as you have to again hit it before every letter.

2.) The text layout is funky. I got used to it but as with the other boost phone it takes part of the old message when you send a reply so in this 'conversation' style it gets clogged up looking because you see your response, the original message, then your response and previous message... arg, its confusing to even try to type out here! But its not the streamlined format I liked on the Tilt or see on the iPhone where it looks like an IM. As on my 335 I just clear out the message before creating a reply which seems to help.

3.) The overall feel of the phone is very nice, smooth and slick looking. The keys are a tad small but its BARELY wider and thicker than the 335 and shorter so I can deal with it.

4.) The camera is not amazing, but thats why I have a 10 Mp camera! Its FINE for a cell camera.

5.) Menu, call, and shortcut buttons above the qwerty are very smooth and easy to use. I felt like I had to push really hard on the 335 sometimes and these are like a breeze.

6.) There are nifty LED indicators on the left of the screen that flash I think after you havent checked the msg for a while? It's helpful to find it in a purse!

7.) Web is the same old boost, but it seems faster and is easier to see on the bigger screen

I really do like this little phone, its way better than the 335 for texting, I am going to stay with this one for a while! It looks slick, works well and is easy to carry around! For it's price point and the $50 unlimited I am very very happy with it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Keyboard Phone

 

Jun 14, 2009 by hdtravel

This is a solid candy-bar style phone with a full QWERTY keyboard.

It is offered on BoostMobile.

Nice loud audio. Has walkie-talkie of course.

Good for those who like to text.

Currently the only phone in the BoostMobile line-up that has the full QWERTY keyboard.

If you text then you will like it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CLUTCH OFFERS EASY TEXTING & CRYSTAL CLEAR VOICE

 

Jun 24, 2009 by Austiniter

Boost has come out with the Motorola Clutch, a great phone that offers user's easy texting, easy internet access and most important crystal clear voice communications. Boost now is offering cellular phones consumers are wanting and demanding. I've had my Boost Clutch now going on 3 weeks, no dropped calls what so ever, clear and definitive voice communications, and many distinct ring tones which are sure to waken the hardest of hearing. It appears Boost Wireless has fixed their growth problems, now offers dependable customer service including dependable voice and data services. For $50.00, unlimited everything including taxes this is a unbelievable value. I do hope Boost begins offers more phones to its cellular lineup, including more rugged phones for consumers. All in all - Boost has what it now takes to be successful and to satisfy the toughest cellular consumer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


motorola clutch i465

 

Jun 14, 2009 by lucart7571

I have just recently purchased the motorola cluch i465. As for the talking and texting I am very pleased. And the 50 dollars a month talk and text deal was really attractive. The speaker was really clear and loud enough so I was very pleased with that. On the flip side of things the cons. If you don't texted much then this could be a problem. The phone is really set up for texting and is not like other phones in its class like the blackberry. I was not able to check my email with it also something that I surely miss and the web browser is slow. Picture were not very good and the screen is of poor resolution, so if you like to take a lot pics than this phone isn't for you. But one thing you can't ignore is the 50 dollars a month unlimited talk and text. This is a steal and a real budget, if you where like me who felt like I was paying too much for cellular service. It has taken some getting use to as I used to be with AT&T. But my pockets seem to be a lil heavier now. With the way that the economy is now we need ways of saving money and this definately save me at least about 50 extra dollars a month.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Underwhelming

 

Mar 2, 2011 by knuckleballer34

The i465 was never intended to be a smartphone or data centric device; I understood and accepted that upon buying the phone. However, even when judging it as a feature-phone, the i465 was somewhat disappointing.

Pros:
1. Great phone for texting. Keys were small, but overall the keyboard was great (even with my big fingers).
2. Intuitive navigation array. In particular, the three soft keys on the right side of the phone's screen were quite useful.
3. Good sound quality.
4. The black version of the phone looks quite professional, and resembles a smartphone.

Cons:
1. Bad reception; a serious mar against any cell phone. The phone dropped signal all the time, and would fluctuate from four bars to zero. By far the worst signal i've encountered on an iDEN phone.
2. The screen was much too small for the phone's intended purpose. I know Motorola/Boost wanted to keep the cost down, but I don't think anyone would be upset to pay $20 more and get a larger, crisper screen.
3. No one should expect a robust web browser on a feature-phone, but I expected better than what the i465 offered. I've seen $20 Samsungs with better web browsers.
4. Battery life wasn't as good in relation to other iDEN phones i've used, such as the i335 or i776.

Conclusion:

I would recommend this phone only to basic users who live in densely high coverage areas, or infrequent callers who primarily use their phone as a messaging device. Needless to say, those are not large groups. The i465 is certainly not for those who are heavy callers, or who live in moderate coverage areas. Boost and Nextel offer better iDEN selections for the i465's target audience. If your on a budget and are looking for an iDEN phone within the i465's price range, i'd recommend the i335 or i296 instead-- even for heavy texters. They're both much better devices.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola i465 not worth the $50 I paid

 

Jan 20, 2011 by feedbackfromMiami

I have tried to put up with this phone for about 4 months but will have to scrap it. The first Motorola i465 unit I bought from Motorola was defective and would not operate at all. RadioShack exchanged it for what appeared to be another new phone but the people I call are not able to hear me clearly. I liked the QWERTY keyboard, but the audio is so bad I will be forced to buy another phone.

Also I'd been happy with Boost month to month plans but they raised their rates a bit recently. One other thing, calling their service can be DREADFUL...awful rap music while you are on hold for 6 minutes or more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1