Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=20

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH/SCH-N300

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.17
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

I like it.

 

Jun 20, 2004 by bigcaat

I'd recommend this phone. I've had it for two years. I'm now searching for another only because I always wanted a clamshell and Verizon didn't have one at the time.

Since we're completely fed up with Verizon, I'm looking at either the E105 or E715 -- both Samsung because the N300 has sold me on Samsung. I've had Nokia that I've really liked in the past, but I really like the Samsung.

One thing I like about this phone is that it has GPS, which I find to feel good having -- like insurance -- in case anything were to happen.

Voice quality is good, and loud. In fact some people complain that it's too loud when they talk to me. Other people in the room can hear me.

The feel of it is nice, it's not too small, not too big. (It felt small to me at first because my prior phone was a bit larger, but I quickly got used to it and am now very comfortable with it.)

It seems intuitive to me, very user friendly. I pretty much was able to figure a lot of it out without looking at the manual. (A far cry from the Motorola v60 and I've heard the LGs are terrible.)

I like the fact that the clock display is so large, but only if you don't have it on vibrate. That bugs me.

I like the flip, and I got a jacket for it that makes it very comfortable.

Overall, I like this phone. I'll miss it, but I'm looking forward to the clamshell. However, the fact that I will miss this phone speaks volumes considering it was not the style phone I ever wanted in the first place.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall a good phone abit tall though.

 

Feb 17, 2002 by Schneur Hickson

Pretty good phone, the screen on the n300 is much larger but the battery life and most other things are the same, with a excellent battery life, and it dosent weigh too much ither, about half a ounce less then the N200, Beware not to get water near the charging contacts!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone that's just a phone

 

Feb 9, 2007 by outdoorsman

I got this four years ago (Verizon service). I used it for a year til someone tampered with it at a party and locked it up. Rather than spend $30+ to send it to the factory to unlock it, I took a Samsung A310. Very disappointed. The Samsung A310 case looked all beat up in no time - planned obsolescence.

The Samsung N300 is just the right size to fit my hand. It feels solid and well-made. I have trouble hearing voices over background noise and this has the best speaker I've found. The calendar is basic but good. The vibrate is strong enough I feel it - some others weren't. It was the first to come with GPS (in case I wreck my bike in a ditch somewhere or get stranded backpacking). Standby time is not as good as newest phones but was still decent at over 200 hours. Samsung menus were very intuitive. After two years of putting up with crappy A310 I tried a new Samsung slider phone a year ago (model 330?) Neither the A310 or the new slider phone got as good reception as my old N300. Sent a 2nd 330 in case first defective. Nope - just not as good reception or speaker as N300. So I found a new-in-box Samsung N300 on ebay for $50 and had it activated. Great. The biggest drawback is that in its holster, sometimes when something presses against it it activates my voicemail and leaves me a 2-min message of my footsteps after getting out of the car. :) Cutting a piece of clear plastic sticky on one side from little rubber bumpers solved this problem.

My 2nd N300 suddenly stopped receiving signal 3 weeks ago. :( Verizon stopped offering phones that receive both analog and digital 2-3 years ago (analog's nice as backup when in a rural area). Now it "searches" continually but won't receive. Did N300 hardware really quit? Can't escape the suspicion Verizon invalidated the phone model so I'd have to buy one that's digital only, so they can discontinue analog network. No phone. No camera. Never tried the games. Just the best speaker and voice quality I've found. Give me my N300!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So far, so good

 

Aug 25, 2003 by Lisette Barranco

I've had this phone for a long time now and I've been generally happy with its performance. The signal is always good, the calls are clear, its got a ton of space for phone numbers and a whole lot of great options like alarm clock, calculator, games, and voice dial. Verizon is a good carrier when mixed with the quality of this phone. The only complaint I have is that the battery life is not so great after less than a year of ownership.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great All-Around Phone!!!

 

Sep 9, 2002 by chris redfield

I noticed a lack of reviews for this phone so I decided to write one myself. I've had this phone for over 2 months and I am extremely happy with it. The call clarity is great, it gets a strong signal almost everywhere, it has a nice style and it has a bunch of other great features. It also helps that it's under verizon's tremendous coveerage

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


was not pleased

 

Jun 16, 2003 by Mike Curry

This phone was a great phone when i purchased it. I had the phone for about 8 months and 5 months in it turned awful. Overall good clarity when the calls came in. Loud volume but crappy games.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2