Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1957

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia E75

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

4.25
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Best phone I've ever owned... but not a replacement for the 9300

 

Jun 18, 2011 by hepresearch

I have had the Nokia E75 since the beginning of August 2010. This is probably the best phone I have ever owned, for features and functionality. I must say that I enjoy Active Standby (which was not present on my N75) on the homescreen, and the ability to have seperate homescreens for personal and work profiles. This phone is good for voice quality and messaging capabilities as well, and even has a forward facing camera for video calls.

Pros...
- Great connectivity features, such as HSDPA and WiFi... it has great signal with AT&T 3G in the York, PA, area, and also decent GSM signal with T-Mobile in the same area
- I like the compact size that still retains a full keyboard
- Photo and video capture quality are fantastic for a 3.2Mpix camera on a phone
- Robust PIM and PC Sync software
- I very much like having both the standard keypad AND QWERTY available
- Ovi Maps works in stand-alone GPS mode, without any data connection at all!
- The battery easily lasts me a whole day, even with heavy use
- The slide mechanism is quite sturdy
- I LOVE being able to tap the phone to silence it, and the "breathing-light" looks really neat in the dark too

Cons...
- The QWERTY keyboard is not as complete or as spacious as that on the Nokia 9300, but then again the E75 is much smaller...
- The FM radio still, STILL requires that a wired headset be attached? Please, Nokia, this is my only real gripe!

The current software version on my E75 is "211.12.01", as of the latest software update released by Nokia, and works great. It added Ovi Chat capabilities, and gave updates to the Ovi Store. The E75, although not a perfect replacement for the Nokia 9300, is still the best non-touchscreen smartphone I have ever worked with. And as I do not like touchscreen phones, it is not likely that I will buy another smartphone in the near future. Thank you, Nokia, for the E75!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Heavier than my old Razr but a great phone

 

Oct 3, 2009 by kuroneko

The E75 is a highly versatile phone. It feels solid in the hand. The QWERTY keyboard works well and feels well built. I was able to modify the Main Menu with folders and move items around to make it exactly the way I wanted it. I get decent signal and decent battery life. Apps for the S60 operating system are easy to find, lots of freeware is out there. I had a Windows Mobile cell for a while and it crashed at least daily--the S60 E75 hasn't crashed on me yet. It accepts a large size mini SD card.

I don't know if AT&T or other carriers block out some of this phone's abilities--I bought an unbranded, unlocked E75.

PROS: Well built, lots of capabilities, versatile to set up to your liking, lots of existing support for the OS, good media ability, nice camera built in, USB mass storage ability and charge via USB, really nice display screen, just a great phone overall.

CONS: The keyboard should have had some definition between keys to prevent hitting the wrong key. The keypad is tiny, but every smart phone I looked at has the same tiny keypads so can't get around that. Nokia replaced a real email program with their crappy NokiaMail app, but you can easily use a third party mail app. It has a high learning curve (but once you get familiar with it, it's great).

I'd have given this phone a 5, but the keyboard really, really should have had better key definition.

By the way, the user manual is really poor-this phone is rich in abilities and the manual literally only hints at some of the things it can do. If you get this phone, use the web to its fullest to find everything this phone can do.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Starting 3rd week of ownership

 

Jun 18, 2009 by BytorJr

I've owned this phone for about 3 weeks. I bought from Dell when they had their sale. To let folks know. My previous AT&T phone was the TyTn II.

Pros:

Great reception. I get 2-3 bars in my building at work with a metal building. Sometimes I hit 4 bars. The Tilt got a "dot" or no bars and wouldn't connect to network or voice. Not a problem with the E75. That's why I bought this thing...Nokia makes phones not toys!!

Email setup with yahoo was easy. It was so easy I did it 3 times thinking it could not be that easy.

Fairly high quality phone overall. I am most impressed with the QWERTY keyboard. I can almost type as fast on it as a normal computer. No wierdness like I found on the Tilt which had an irritating habit of sticky keys.

Messaging (text) is also easy

I like the fact you get an indicator of how many messages are on the phone, how many voice mails, and how many missed calls are available. Also, you can set up the D-pad to blink for notifications.

Once I got the hang of the menu system, it's much easier to customize for what I want than the Tilt.

Nice case included. I bought a Pdair wallet style and it doesn't fit. But now that the suede case has broken in, not a problem. I prefer it by far.

Battery is fantastic. I went on a trip this past weekend and charged it up the night before. Took my charger with me. I was gone for 3 days. Battery...still "2" bars left on it by the end of the 3rd day. This includes goofing up and not turning off the phone on the plane (still getting used to that feature).

Nokia sync much faster than MS sync.

Cons:
The bottom of the numeric keypad squeaks a bit. I don't know if I messed something up when trying to cram it into the PDair case or not. A minor annoyance. The slider still is super solid.

Still thinking I don't have all the messaging (mail button key) set up properly.

No airplane mode that I've found.

Misc thoughts:
I haven't used the GPS yet, nor have I uploaded any music.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My two cents

 

Jun 1, 2009 by slowandlong1

Got this phone a few days ago...so here are my thoughts.

Pros:Good call reception (AT&T,NY region).
Very solid build quality.
Like the qwerty keyboard,great for text and email.
Email set up a breeze.
Fast user interface. No lag when opening apps.
Nice display.
Metal battery cover. Nice touch Nokia.
Nokia included a suede phone case.
Also included 4Gb memory card with Nokia PC Suite installer on it.
So far phone works perfect. No "connection errors" like my N95.
Cons: Ring tones could be louder but it not terrible.
Camera not as good as the N95.

Just a few interesting features on this phone.
Has a bar code reader. Very cool. Funny thing is there isn't any mention of it in the owners manual.
The scroll key blinks slowly when you get missed calls and messages. Nokia calls it a "breathing light".

Overall very nice phone. If you want something different you can't go wrong with this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


help!

 

May 27, 2009 by mit21

i really like this phone. but what does NAM mean??

http://www.puremobile.com/Nokia/Nokia-E75-Black-3G-NAM-GSM-Phone/

please reply fast before the promortion runs out.

thank you in advance.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Businessmans's Delight?

 

May 11, 2009 by purushu

The E75 is the newest addition in the E series segment of Nokia.Nokia e series phones have always been great as business class handsets.But is it really a businessman's delight??
Let me first tell you that the E75 is so very ordinary when it comes to user friendliness..Surprised?
yea thats the truth.The keypad is really irritating,especially the placement of keys.You will find the home and delete keys joined together with the function keys.The result? well you might just delete your entry when actually you want to go back to your previous menu..
And the QWERTY keyboard too hard and flat and typing isn't that easy.
These are the things i dint like about the phone.But if you are a businessman,you might be interested as you wont be disappointed by its connectivity options or having the business features like quick office.Sadly i dint really have a need for those and hence the low rating for it.
At least i found someone who believes in what i have said.

Ed. note: removed link

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1