Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1764

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Palm  ›

Palm Treo Pro (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  31  

Average Ratings

4.23
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Phone..So Far

 

Jan 21, 2009 by Onesps_IT

Well I just got my Palm Pro and so far I have to say I like it. I have had all version's of the Palm Treo and I have to say this one by far is the best. I have T-Mobile and it worked perfectly when I put my SIM card in the phone. All my contacts went straight over and the phone basically set itself up.

Pros:
The OS seems very nice and fast
Texting is easy but the keys are a bit close
Battery Life seems to be great (got the extra battery just in case)
The case that you can buy holds the phone well, I like that its small

Cons:
The gloss black does tend to show finger printers
Heard of cracking when you try to take the back off and on.

So far great phone and I am very pleased with it. I have waited a year for this phone and for Palm to fix all the bugs so hopefully it works like I want it to.

Downside- Palm charged my credit card twice, took forever to get them to reverse the one extra charge... do they know what they are doing there?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my palm pro

 

Jun 6, 2010 by leonorp3

I had this phone for about a year. I am very happy with it. I bougth from Palm as an unlocked phone. Switched my sim card from ATT to T MObile and works perfectLY.

PROS: VERY LIGHT, SYNCS WITH MS OUTLOOK, HAVE LOADED MY OXFORD BILINGUAL DICTIONARY. HAS A TOUCH SCREEN,WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER AND I CARRY ALL MY CONTACTS. WHY would ANYBODY NEED A DIFFERENT PDA? I USED HP'S PDA 6345 AND 6945 and this is an improvemnet11 THIS IS MORE COMPACT. TRIED TO FIND A REPLACEMENT FOR MY PREVIOUS PDA'S BUT HAD NO LUCK.I PLAY MY MUSIC IN MY CAR WITH A TAPE PLAYER ADAPTER SINCE MY 2008 CAR DOES NOT HAVE INPUT FOR mp3;S OR OTHER.

CONS; FONTS ARE TOO SMALL, KEYBORAD TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. THE CLOCK IS NOT LIGHTED WHEN TURNED OFF.IF YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE DARK YOU CANT. AT TIMES IT LOCKS UP AND HAVE TO REMOVE BATTERY TO RESET.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Alright phone

 

Jul 29, 2009 by nikkibaby

just upgrade my phone this April of 2009 was so excited on getting the phone,so let me tell you my experienced with it.

Goods:great calendar notifications for reminders,connect a little fast,great touch screen,key board ok,great camara photos are very clear.

My Bads:touch frizz,on&off button will not turn off i have to take the battery out,video has to taken in th light don't show very well,and volume is very low to hear,and sometimes the windows icon don't work.

what would make it work:if they had a radio,little bigger screen,more apps for phone,better picture & flash video,better gps,search for fine dinning and more,so i think this phone should at least a little better then the palm pre, because now some of the apps that i have on the palm pro the pre don't have and vs-versa, so i think Sprint can do a little better then what they are doing with phones and stop letting this Iphone win because they coming out with more and better ways to overcome all carriers and alot of people have the iphone and blackberry are more popular then any phone so when sprint came out with palm pro & palm pre these two phones should have out bet the iphone, so i will love to stay a sprint carriers but if i'm still having problems (5 times)with my phone i just might move over to iphone, but over-all sprint is great but need to do better with there technology.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Palm Treo Pro - Great Phone

 

Jun 22, 2009 by mikgal0

I've had the unlocked Treo Pro for about 6 months now - upgraded from Treo 750. Set up and use on ATT is simple and reliable. Battery life is much improved and the touch screen is far more accurate.

Only problem to date is a software problem that causes the phone to ring when switched to vibrate and not ring at all when switched to ring. Patch updates are available from Sprint/Alltel but Palm support can't tell me when the patch will be ready for the unlocked phone. Problem is intermittent - every few days. A soft or hard reset eliminates the problem and I like the phone enough to do that until the patch is out.

Bottom line - this is a great phone that improves almost all flaws in the 750.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Treo Pro is a great phone

 

Mar 15, 2009 by dwboston1

I've had the unlocked GSM Treo Pro for about a month now and it is a very good phone. I came from a Motorola Q9h and was looking to make the jump to a WinMo 6.1 Professional device. I tried the HTC Touch Pro (AT&T Fuze) but found the device needed too much tweaking and customized ROMs to be usable, and the speakerphone was really bad, so I returned it. I did a search here at Phone Scoop for devices meeting my requirements and the Treo Pro popped up. Honestly I had forgotten that Palm released the Treo Pro since AT&T never picked it up. I checked out the reviews here and at TreoCentral and decided to get one. Here's the review:

Pros:
- Form factor - nice and slim and looks great.
- Touchscreen - very responsive for a resistive screen.
- 3.5mm headphone jack - didn't realize how nice it would be not to have to use a mini/micro-USB dongle.
- WiFi - nice option to have when AT&T 3G network isn't available.
- Speakerphone - side-facing speaker on the back of the phone is a nice touch and speaker is loud and clear. Much better than the Touch Pro.
- GPS - works pretty well, again much better than the Touch Pro. I usually get cold locks within 30 seconds when outside with a clear view of the sky.
- Ringer/Vibrate switch on top of phone - very convenient
- HTC touches - the HTC Comm Manager and homescreen task manager utility are nice additions.
-SlingPlayer Mobile - runs very well on the Treo Pro. I consistently get close to 30 fps - I never got close to that with the Q9h or Fuze.

Cons: (minor)
- Keyboard - keys are small and close together. If you have big fingers (like me) it takes getting used to.
- WinMo quirks - no options to change vibrate mode, phone doesn't always check for POP3 email on set schedule, need to regedit, etc.
- Palm screensaver - only shows missed calls and texts. I shut it off because it interferes with email notifications.

The GSM Treo Pro is a great phone. I highly recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Palm Has My Vote

 

Jan 22, 2009 by MrPhone2k

I just received my Palm Treo Pro and overall I like it I also have a HTC TOUCH PRO so during this observation I tried to blank out those features.

The battery life is great, all I am using it for at this time is it's data capaiblities I'm on the Sprint network so the navigation, sprint tv, ect are all personal favorites of mine.

Now for me it doesn't take much, a few good games on a phone a fast internet, good reception, external memory capabilities, loud speakers and I'm set and basically this phone covers every area I am now a firm believer in the palm phones capability to hang with the other big name phone makers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Definite Keeper

 

Nov 15, 2008 by kraski

I waited till I'd used the phone for over a month before adding my comments. Charlyee's review was very thorough. My only disagreement is that placing the sd card under the battery door is a con. When I can, I install all my apps to the card instead of the phone to conserve space. For me, having the sd card inside the phone housing avoids accidentally hitting the card & having it come out.

Are there issues? Yes. There was a call waiting bug that has already been addressed with a patch. And the Treo Pro handles ringer/vibrate profiling differently than I'm used to on other phones.

I have to mention that I've never had a cell phone that has remained exactly as I got it. ;-) And that includes several older Motorolas, a Nokia N80 & a Cingular 8525.

In the case of the Treo Pro, I've added apps to enhance my vocation & my avocation, plus a few internet, music & video things -- all made easier to access with a Treo Pro specific version of TouchFlo 2D. The battery life is good & the screen is very readable. And I'm learning to appreciate having the built in GPS.

For me, my phone is primarily a workhorse & a tool. So, I'm not looking for an iPhone or a whizbang music/video player that also makes calls, although I appreciate having some of that functionality. What I DO keep getting excited about every day are all the little ways I keep discovering that the Treo Pro makes my work life & social life easier & more fun.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Great Device

 

Oct 29, 2008 by charlyee

After 1 year, 3 months, and 19 days . I finally gave up my Treo 750 for the Treo Pro. I have had this device for just one week to date.

What came in the box:

1. Treo Pro with battery installed.

2. Quick Start Brochure

3. Charge/Synch cable.

4. Power Adapter.

St. Impressions:

1. It is very slim with a shiny black finish.

2. Built quality is excellent, and I have to admit better than the 750.

3. The screen resolution is gorgeous.

Pros:

1. The call clarity is even superior to the Treo 750.

2. The reception is excellent even in places where coverage is poor to non-existent.

3. The earpiece is quite loud even in the lowest setting.

4 The Speaker is very loud and clear.

5. The processor is much faster than the 750.

6. Great form factor, light and easy to hold

7. The vibrate is loud.

8. The battery life is phenomenal for a WM PDAPhone.

9. The standalone GPS can get a satellite fix quickly and works flawlessly with Google Maps.

10. Sprite Backup came pre-installed.

11. Screen Saver with date and time. It shows missed calls, voicemail, SMS/MMS

Cons:

1. The keys are smaller and more cramped than the Treo 750 and it took me some to get used to.

2. The black finish shows finger prints and smudges boldly.

3. No indication for new E-Mail

4. Micro SD card located under battery door.

5. Soft Reset located under battery door.

What was very easy to do:

1. Blue tooth pairing with my laptop.

2. Setting up Active Sync.

3. Setting up my 2 pop3 E-Mails

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the real iphone killer has arrived !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Oct 18, 2008 by yogi bear

where to start pros this phone has every thing the iphone has except for one thing NO DROPPED CALLS!!!!!!!!
yes thats rite peoples i said it no drop calls the phone works great on my at&t sim card the battery is fine not as long as i would like but so keep your car charger close by. The WM 6.1 is by far the best mobile's window main frame on this device. Palm has outdone themselves. I have been a Palm user since the beginning and this one is the best one by far. The wifi works great and I am using an apple router in my house. I've had the phone now for about 4 days and I haven't had one dropped call yet and the reception is great. The phone layout is also great, it's pretty cool that it didn't come with an installation cd and its all in the phone. As a cell phone addict, I find this is by far the best device on the market to date. I have 3 iPhone 3g, the diamond (Sprint), the Sprint Instinct, the Palm Treo 750 (AT&T), Motorola v950. These are some of my phone I use on a daily basis. So I think I know what I'm talking about when I say this is the best device on the market today. This is the first cell phone that I have not had to soft nor hard reset in the first day of use. If you have any further questions or want to just talk about phones please feel free to call (2153976456) ask for Yogi

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Major Disappointment

 

Oct 12, 2008 by Charley1G

I've been a palm user for alot of years. I use a tro 680 & was looking forward to a new palm. This device was nice looking but failed to work on several levels. First the Wi-Fi would not stay connected. The screen was smaller than my 680 & then they put Microsoft 6.1 as an operating system. The fonts & look was small and sometimes hard to read.I feel that Palm has abandon me. I'm a tech & feel (after working with the newer phones)they have left themselves behind the time in the business market they started.After 2 days I sent the phone back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1