Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1705

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Pantech  ›

Pantech Slate C530

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  13  

Average Ratings

4.15
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Can we say "Textacular?!"

 

Jan 1, 2009 by ATT FanGirl

The Pantech Slate...what can I say?! It does texting super well, the screen has sharp colors, perfect for those who like flashy wallpapers. You can use mp3 clips up to 15 secs long as ringtones, the QWERTY keypad is one of the best I've ever used, and the phone itself gets decent reception and has a good battery life to it.

The Pantech Slate, it is a messaging device that looks like a smart phone, and it is totally worth getting! You will not be disappointed with this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!

 

Dec 2, 2008 by FlowofChaos

Overall this phone is excellent. The feel, weight, and general appearance are appealing. The keyboard is spaced very nicely for quick texting and mobile email.

PROS:
Keyboard!
Nice display
Nice camera for a 1.3mp
Pantech OS=WIN

Cons:
The phone itself is a little wide, but the thinness makes up for it.
Camera is only 1.3mp in an age where 2.0mp is becoming the standard.
No option for expandable memory

All in all, the Slate is an affordable texting phone that fills its purpose. What more can you ask?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I love it.

 

Nov 21, 2008 by The New ATnT Wireless

The Slate is an awesome phone, it is sturdy, has great features that won't break the bank and it looks like a PDA phone! The phone gets exceptional reception and has fabulous call quality!

I just got this phone today after a fiasco with Verizon, and when I ported back to AT&T, they gave me a great deal on this phone.

So far I love this phone, it is worth getting and texting is SO super easy now, I love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Nov 7, 2008 by CBartnek

The Pantech Slate is everything I would've wanted a non-PDA texting phone to be. The lack of 3G is no big deal b/c like the Palm Centro, the EDGE network the Slate runs on is surprisingly fast.

The Slate is very thin and feels easy in your hand. The keypad is spread out and each button individualized enough to give you enough space to text with. The graphics/ringtones for the Slate are impressive as well.

I personally don't need a phone with too many bells and whistles which is why the Slate fits me perfectly. The back of the phone is a leathery texture and feels great.

You can in fact mute the sound of the keypad, unlike what another reviewer said. All you need to do is adjust the setting for the "Normal" profile in the phone's menu settings.

I give this phone a 5 out of 5, 5 stars.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great job Pantech

 

Nov 5, 2008 by phatnick

I bought this phone for my wife and I and we both absolutly love them. This is my first phone with a keyboard and it's easy. The phone is easy to navigate, and quick to learn. Great job Pantech.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Yes, I really like this phone!

 

Dec 1, 2008 by pantech.slate2009

The Pantech Slate with AT&T is an exceptional cellular phone. First of all, everyone who sees it asks me if it is the "latest Blackberry" which is pretty funny. It looks identical to a smart phone because of its shape, keypad, and large display.

The phone's system is very smooth, it is easy to go through the simple menu with no delay. This phone is one of the thinnest phones out there, and unlike the RAZR which set the standard for slim phones, the Pantech Slate is very solid and will not break.

The ringtones on the phone are loud and you can set the phone to vibrate and ring simultaneously. The display is very crisp, graphics look sharp on the phone, and I am very well pleased. The phone is really pretty basic but it is terrific for those of us who love to text. The QWERTY keypad buttons are nicely spaced and they rise above the phone making texting a smooth operation.

The battery life is so-so. If I play with my phone all day, I have to recharge it that night. If Pantech does make an extended battery for this phone, I think it would be a worthy investment.

The keypad on this phone is just fantastic. All of the buttons are raised in different ways so it minimizes the chance of pressing an incorrect key. The phone uses Edge instead of 3G, which may dissapoint some users, but the Edge on this phone works very well, it is at a decent speed.

The signal strength on this phone is very good, as it should be given its SAR rating of 1.24 W/kg which is a medium rating. (The FCC limit is 1.6 W/kg so this phone falls well below the limit).

Overall, I have to say that this phone is one of a kind and I am sure you will enjoy it immensely. It is probably the very best Pantech brand phone out there right now.

Thank you for reading.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pantech Slate is the best Pantech out there!

 

Nov 22, 2008 by Verizon Wireless 2009

The Pantech Slate is a must have for people who want a QWERTY phone but without the complexity or costs of a smartphone.

It may not be a smartphone, but the Slate does have mobile email, instant messaging, a QWERTY keyboard, a large brilliant color display (the absolute BEST I've ever seen, even better than my smartphone) and it is the same size as a smartphone so people cannot tell the difference.

The phone is solid and it has a very easy to use menu. The ringers are loud, and you can use mp3s as ringtones, but if your mp3 file is more than 15 seconds, then the phone does not enable you to set it as a ringtone, which is weird. The memory on this phone is pretty good: 23 MB total.

Now on to the basics:

The signal strength on this phone is one of the best I've seen on a cellular phone. I have crystal clear calling, with very little background noise. I pretty much never break out when I talk.

The battery: The battery life is decent so far, I have had no troubles. Again, with a smartphone, battery life tends to always be on the poor side, and even though the Slate has a large display, it has good batter life.

The QWERTY keypad buttons are small, but they are spaced out enough to where you can text with ease and dial numbers with ease too. Oh and on the sound settings you can set the keypad tone to "voice" which will prompt the phone to say the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, etc! Cool, huh?!

Ok, what else to say? The graphics I downloaded look as good as on PC, the games are fun, I downloaded the full version of Ms. Pac Man and I am ADDICTED!

Honestly, in all the 5 1/2 years I've had cellular phones, this one is by far my favorite.

If you are thinking about getting this phone, GO FOR IT. It is a bug free phone, which is rare nowadays.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Basic Phone w/ QWETRY

 

Nov 1, 2008 by LarryB16

Pros: Excellent for texting w/ full QWERTY keyboard; inexpensive price and data package; striking display; and thin and sturdy feel

Cons: Cannot mute keypad sound unless in silent or vibrate profiles; no threading for text messages

Wanted a simple phone w/ better call quality and cheaper data package than the Blackberry Curve and the Slate fills the order.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing

 

Nov 27, 2010 by phonehunter77

Where should i start? How about the fact that its a full qwerty keyboard but its 3.7mm thinner than a moto razr. It's also the thinnest phone with a qwerty keyboard. The button are awsome and texting is easier than breathing. it may not have all the features of a smartphone, but it sure looks like one. all i do is text and call, i dont need a virtual cup of beer or a virtual popcorn popper. other than that its just amazing, another pro is because its NOT a smart phone, dont expect much lag, get a smart phone and test your patience. all in all 5/5 pantech, good job.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for texting, Not much else

 

Jun 14, 2010 by dani.california

I have had this phone now for over a year and I'm getting pretty sick of how limited it can be, but I also want more than just a texting phone. Which is exactly what this is, Just a texter.

But this thing is definitely durable. i was riding my bike to my friends house and it fell out of my pocket, when i picked it up it had a very prominent tire mark on the back, yet it has still worked to this day, never needing a replacement :P and i kid you not the only car to go down that otherwise deserted road was our other friends moms mid sized SUV... YAY! lol

pretty much tho the Pantech Slate is a texting phone. the best feature is the awesome keyboard that i will miss. the camera isn't great and personalizing it is limited :/ calling isn't very clear either. for the free ATT starter its an amazing first phone.

If you are looking for just texting , then this is perfect. If you want more, I might get something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2