Phone Scoop

printed November 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1671&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola ZINE ZN5

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  18  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

My Quest for a Phone is Over

 

Jan 26, 2009 by Davidgojr

Pros:
-Bright, clear screen
-Easy to use interface
-Build in WiFi: You don't have to buy an expensive data plan to use the internet
-Great battery life
-Amazing 5MP camera with Xenon Flash
-Durable build quality
-Precise controls (unlike most touchscreens)

Cons:
-Volume can be a bit low at times
-Video quality could have been higher
-Max SAR rating is on the high end (although this is only in the rare case when the phone is transmitting at max power such as when there is low signal strength)

The screen is large, bright and clear. I found the battery life to be the best I've ever seen on a phone. Excellent battery life is RARE on any high end phone these days.

The built in WiFi works no matter what plan you get. It even supports encryption such as WEP, WPA and WPA2! I was able to browse the web at broadband speeds and even watch Youtube videos with ease. To make this work, I simply changed the browser settings to the WiFi configuration/profile.

One cool add-on I downloaded was the "Google Maps" application from Google. Once it was installed, it initially didn't want to connect to the net to work. I went to the apps screen and changed the data connection from "Java" to "WiFi" and this did the trick. Google maps allowed the phone to pull up maps, check local traffic, view satellite imagery and even use streetview on the phone! I was highly impressed!

The camera on the Zn5 is top of the line as far as phones are concerned. It was easy to use and worked much like a dedicated camera. The Xenon flash was very bright worked effectively in dark areas. I'm looking forward to using it more. The video quality was not as good as it could have been but it was still quite decent for a phone. I liked how the camera is protected by a sliding cover when it isn't in use.

Searching for the right phone is quite difficult but I'm very happy with my decision. The ZN5 has all the bells and whistles but it also works great in its main role: AS A PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent phone

 

Jan 22, 2009 by jlundin

This is a great phone, especially if you like the idea of not having to carry around a phone, a camera, and a music player. There are a few small caveats though.

The Good:
Awesome camera, of course. It's lightning fast and takes superb pictures, even indoors with the flash off.
Music player is decent, and the 3.5mm jack was a must-have for me. It's nice that you can return to the Home screen and still have some control over the music, even though there are no external controls.
EDGE data speed (Chicago/NW Indiana) is very good, especially when using Opera (BUT see "The Ugly", below).
Phone is easy to use and speedy - except right after being rebooted.
You can put up to an 8GB microSD card in it (mine should be delivered tomorrow).
I was able to text pretty easily with this phone, though I am still having trouble figuring out how to add certain symbols.

The Bad:
Camera settings aren't sticky, and the defaults can't be changed. This stinks if you don't want to have the flash set to Auto every time.
Music volume is a little low - on the maximum setting my music is *barely* loud enough, and I have good earbuds.
Speaking of earbuds, the ones that come with the phone are cheap, and the fact that you have to use them to get the FM radio to work makes that feature useless.

The Unknown:
I haven't tried Bluetooth audio with it.
It doesn't appear that this phone will work with secured WiFi networks, though I haven't been able to confirm that.

The Ugly:
T-Mobile cripples the Java support on this phone so that Java applications can't access the Internet. If you like having Opera or Gmail or whatever on your phone, this is a big, giant problem, and I didn't realize this until after I had bought the phone.

I was about 5 minutes away from going back to the T-Mobile store to return this phone when I found a solution for this on the mmus.us forum. So be aware of this before you buy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good phone poor quality!

 

Dec 30, 2008 by sekzijimbo

All the reviews i see here are very accurate about this phone but...

Cons - I have own 4 of these phones in 1 months 3 were mine and one is my wifes, the phones seem to reset and turn off with the slightest bumb are jarring, its almost like the phones have a short in them, or the batteries dont sit well in them, im going to return it again today but im getting something else!!! I can keep exchanging them.

Final thought: I love this phone but I cant seem to get a working one and neither can my wife.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice

 

Nov 22, 2008 by TMobRulz

Love to get new phones and see what they are about...I guess there are worse habits! I had been thinking about a new camera and with the zn5, you can have both. Haven't played with camera much, but, though fairly basic, phone is nice. (P.S...basic isn't bad!).

Pros...Good Feel, seems well built; camera (for what I have used it as); More than "basic" phone, especially what you can do with pictures, etc. Best Motorola I have had (though I haven't had many); screen is large and crisp; like keyboard lock, though a bit gimmicky; personalization (though it can take some time);

Cons...keyboard is not real tactile, but it's fine; typical Moto sluggishness, but all of us need more patience anyway; Kinda large for new phone, but it's fine.

Am anxious to get more into features, but have only had it up and going for a few days. More later!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


More camera than phone

 

Nov 21, 2008 by brsmnky007

This phone has an incredible camera and a great list of features; this was of limited use for me since the sound quality of phone calls was poor. Volume wasn't a concern, but incoming voices sounded muffled and were difficult to understand. The phone's menu system is also very nonsensical and abstract; there is no "ringer" section, for example, you must change the ringer for each theme you choose. Finally, the keypad is managable but certainly not enjoyable for dialing and or sending text messages. For someone whose main concern is carrying a quality camera, this may be the right phone; otherwise there are probably better choices out there.

PROS:
- Reception was consistently strong, no dropped calls for me
- Build Quality seemed good, although the flap covering the microUSB port was awkward
- Volume was good, not great
- Camera was quite high quality, easy to use, has some neat features, very responsive
- Display is large and sharp
- Outgoing voice quality was good, according to those I called

CONS:
- Incoming voice quality was muddled and difficult to understand
- Menu system is not intuitive in the least, it was also a bit laggy at times
- Keypad is cramped and uncomfortable
- Although the Wi-fi seems great, you can't use it unless you pay for a Web2Go plan
- Odd key-lock switch much like the "hold" switch on iPods

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WOW!

 

Nov 17, 2008 by A-JoinT

Bought the ZN5 a couple days ago, and man! I love it. Wi-fi is a plus! Comes with a gig, lets you hear music through just a normal bluetooth mono headset. Beautiful camera. Looks great, feels great, works great. A++++++++

100%

Enjoy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Zn5 on Tmobile

 

Nov 13, 2008 by celnut

Great phone by Motorola. Everything works well & it is one of the best camera phones available.

Pros

Display & Resolution
Camera (more like a real camera)
Zenon Flash
Excellent Reception
Loud Speakerphone
Loud earpiece
Cover for camera lens
Battery Life
Ease of Use
5mp w/Kodak

Cons

Texting is a little difficult due to keypad

I recommend this phone to anyone who enjoys a cameraphone as opposed to a smartphone. I am hoping they come out with a smartphone with all these features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone and completely satisfied

 

Nov 13, 2008 by hucworld

i chose to stay away from Motorola's because of the obvious but this device here separates itself from its peers. the selling point of this phone is the camera but surprisingly the reception and overall functionality was great. having played with the z9 and thinking it was great I was blown away by this phone. oh and just a side note this phone supports an 8gig memory card as well. texting on it is not that friendly but hey you sacrifice some things for the greater good of others.

pros:
camera 5mp w/ flash
functionality
size
battery life is awesome

cons:
texting...keys tend to not want to respond at times.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2