Phone Scoop

printed November 26, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1607

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U430

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

4.33
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Good and Simple Phone

 

Aug 24, 2010 by YankeeFan123

I have had this phone for a year, and i find it very simple and easy to use. The texting is quick, and the features on the phone are very helpful. However, the call quality is very poor, and that is why this phone only has a 4, despite having a huge upside. Reception is awful, even with the volume all the way up i can barely hear people unless i have 3 or 4 bars. I have also dropped a multitude of calls, and i live in southern Connecticut right outside of NYC. On a brighter side, the camera is very good for a VGA, but it does not give videos. Overall, this phone is simple and easy to use, despite one big con.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


All I Really Want

 

Jan 7, 2009 by GravityFails

There's something almost soothing about simplicity. Simple things very rarely break down, they're easy to operate, and they don't cost a bundle to produce or maintain.

It's like the difference between I Love Lucy and Battlestar Galactica; one is simple and easily accessible, and the other requires a relatively large investment of time and effort in order to appreciate it. If you're not on board with Battlestar from episode one, you're gonna be stuck wondering what the hell is going on in rather short order.

Enter the SCH-U430 from Verizon.

I've got complicated phones; phones with 2.0 megapixel cameras and microSD card slots and gerbil exercise wheels and the like, but for some reason I keep coming back to the U430. The biggest reason for this is that it gets out of its own way and lets me do what I want to do. Music? No thanks, just want to send a text. V Cast? No thanks, just trying to make a call. Video Picture Message while playing "Don't Fear the Reaper" on the hammered dulcimer? Right. Again, no.

The texting is fast and slick, and unlike other phones that I've used on Verizon, the T9 dictionary actually remembers words from message to message. Also, the option to have your messages read out loud by the sultry female Stephen Hawking sound-alike is a nifty bonus.

PROS:

+ Good reception
+ Great texting
+ 2.5mm headset jack (for those of us who still give a crap about having 2.4 GHz of flesh-penetrating radio waves clipped to our ear all day)
+ Creamy construction; no creaks, wiggles, or jimmies
+ Amazing battery life

CONS:

- Screen could be better
- External speaker somewhat muffled
- Won't hold up to being dropped fifteen times after being stepped on while playing football and working on my friend's GTO

Simple. It's the new complicated. Give it a try.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


gpa has this phone

 

Sep 7, 2009 by narn3049

I give this phone a 3.5 because it does not have the greatest camera but the ringtones are cool, and loud for him. Although he things that they need more different cases, he is more of the holster non flip and he doesn't like the plastic one it is held in now.

The black finish is really nice and cool, he liked his other phone (sch a930) better then this phone but the upgrade time came and he wanted to get an upgrade because the phone looked totally beat up. But his new phone doesnt have video and sadly no sd slot or vcast, more of a downgrade if asked by me.

WAS NOT U410 IT IS THIS MODEL, SADLY GOT THE MODEL WRONG

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Simple Phone

 

Feb 16, 2009 by renzur

Had a razr for the longest time and wanted a simple option that was similar. Good phone, basic and cheap, slightly concerned with the durability, but I tried a blackberry and palm and preferred this simple option

Cons:
Reception quality is only OK
Text word dictionary is limited, doesn't have many popular words - IE valentine
A little flimsy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


samsung u430

 

Oct 26, 2008 by pmmclaughlin1

bought this phone thru verizon today (10-25-08). using on their inpulse service.(prepaid). They sell it for $49.99 with activation.
I stongly recommend this phone on either prepaid or contract for the who want a basic camera phone.
It's got a glossy front face with a rubberized back.
It has been updated with verizon's new software including "media center" instead of "get it now" and new menu styling that verizon is using.
Speaker and ringing is very loud compared with previous model (u410).
If you are looking for a very nice "basic" unit for talk,text&web without vcast or other "goodies", then this is the phone for you.
Good luck and good phone hunting,
Patrick

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love this

 

Jan 5, 2009 by harts2505

this phone has been awsome talk time is great and bars last forever. easy to use easy to text. I've had it for six months now, I got it through verizon but I flashed it to cricket cant send pix now but its better than most the cricket phones and for 40 bucks to flash its a lot cheaper than cricket phones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1