We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1603&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Rugby A837

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  44  

Average Ratings

3.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

The best phone offered by AT&T

 

May 25, 2009 by Hawk85

I give this phone 5 STARS it is rugged and has so many features. To me its like a razr with armor. Push to talk is great and Gps amazing.
Pros: Everything
Cons: not one

If you are an emailing business person don't bother but if you are an outdoors person by any means or just finding your self breaking those weak other phones out there at least stop at a store and consider it. yes its thicker than the razr but you drop this phone you wont be buying a new one it will keep working.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


PTT

 

Jan 2, 2009 by jayshd

Sound is good.

Only problem is using PTT.

I have to open phone then push PTT button
then select using soft key.

Why can't this thing access PTT with phone closed?

Did I miss something?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


It's going back

 

Oct 17, 2008 by nnelson

I've had this Rugby for a week now, it's going back.
There appears to be no way to enable the clock on the front display to stay active, my Nokia did this as did my Motorolla.
The PTT button is placed badly, I keep hitting it when I grab the phone, I've found no mention in the users manual on how to disable it.
The ear piece, oh god is it bad, too much bass makes it hard to understand the conversation, sounds like they're talking thru a large hollow tube...
This thing won't pair with my Plantronics bluetooth ear piece, apparently the v 2.0 bluetooth isn't in any way backwards compatible.

Hard to find accessories for it also.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not bad for a sumsung

 

Oct 16, 2008 by walkguru

not bad for a samsung.it almost as good as my v3xx. better than most phones i own.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Aamazing Build

 

Sep 26, 2008 by mobilemaniac

As a person who has owned around 40 cell phones (normally switch every 3 months) I have to give this phone a 5. It is well built, great loud speaker phone, and ear piece. The battery life is great and the ring tones are loud.

The camera , and video features are subpar compared to some other phones I own.

It has taken me about 2 years and 10 cingular phones bought and sold to finally find a phone i enjoy talking on. I would suggest it to anyone.

I have owned
Moto Razr 1 and 2
Sony Ericson k790a
LG CU500
Nokia 6555
SE 300
Samsung SYNC

This phone Trumps them all

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent

 

Sep 26, 2008 by Kaliblade

Have this phone for almost 2 weeks.
Great construction. Great call quality.
3G speed is great everywhere I go in NY.
Pros. All listed above.

Cons. Wish the camera was 2 Megs but no biggie.

Overall phone is built like a brick sh-t house. Don't worry about dropping this puppy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


We have a winner!!!

 

Sep 23, 2008 by attphonegirl

Alright..so AT&T just released the Samsung sgh-a837[aka the Rugby].And can I just say..this phone is incredible!I know a lot of construction workers..and they LOVE the phone.The phone is functional,yet durable.As it says on the specs of the phone,it can hold up to dust,shock,humidity,vibration,high altitudes,rain,solar radiation and even being ran over!Well,if you ask me..thats awesome.And has what a lot of people are looking for in a phone.I saw a video where the phone was brought to a construction site and they did test on all of it.Truthfully,I thought it was incredible when they phone was ran over by a Ford-F350 truck,with 1,000lbs. of asphault in the truck bed..and nothing happened to it!Now that is a durable phone.The phone itself is a little heavier than most phones,but it obviously has to be when it can stand up to a giant truck.haha.The phone itself[especially the yellow]looks like a walkie-talkie.Which is a pretty cool look.It has built in gps...plus all the normal functions of a regular phone.
I say,if you're a construction worker,and just need/want a durable phone..the Samsung Rugby is the phone for you!I give it 5+ stars..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


rugby

 

Nov 13, 2008 by lllthumperlll

The phone itself is exactly what it says durable....i have submersed this phone, slammed it, beat it, and it still keeps on ticking.....the buttons are fine once u get used to them..the main problem with this phone with me are this 1. There is no holster made for this phone at this time......im not talkin about a pouch holster im talking about the plastic clip on holster,,,Sumsung and att have nothing to say ...the phone has been out for 2 months now and no holster to clip it into..i do construction and putting it into a pouch of any type makes it difficult to hear ! if not impossible.it is not a girly phone. i want the phone on my side when I'm working and i want to be able to hear it..i have a nice nokia n81 for when I'm not working and with its loud speakers u can hear it in a pouch... this phone has the speaker on its side.u put it in a pouch u cant hear it...END OF STORY! So if u dont mind putting it into your pocket or in some dumb pouch case. buy the phone. if you want it on your side in a holster you might want to call samsung like i have done now 3 times and complain to no avail on when a holster will be made for these phones.....And um lovely att has no answer either although they continue to sell a phone for which there is no holster ! ...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1