Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1443

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola VA76r Tundra

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  8  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.53
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Good phone, BUT

 

Feb 26, 2010 by tsides

Pros- Had this phone for eleven months, very good sound quality, easy to use, has all the features an average user needs

Cons - After about eight months, the hinges/bushings in the flip feature have worn to the point where the phone will NOT lock in the open position; this causes calls to be dropped if you are not careful to hold the phone in an upright position; two of my associates have this same problem with their tundra; carrier has replaced it in warranty period;

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OUTSTANDING

 

Jul 3, 2009 by sagger_

Great Phone. I have had this phone for 6 months. I have had no problems with it at all.

Pros: Loud and clear. Good signal, display menu layout. Always has good bars even out in the country. I have never dropped a call.
Everything is good about this phone.

Cons. Sometimes slow display.

Get this phone is you want reliability.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


AWESOME!!

 

Jun 28, 2009 by phone_whore9590

I am VERY rough on phones, I have owned too many phones on AT&T to count, from the old LG C1300 / G4015 to the iPhone 3G, and none can compare to the durability and specs of the VA76r. The Tundra is the kind of phone where you can forget about it in the pouring rain or drop it in the snow or even drop it while rock climbing and it would take it like a champ, although I would not try putting it through the last one.lol. Built to withstand just about everything you can throw at it, there is only one downfall. The camera is not of the highest quality, but if your not doing photo shoots with it then you'll be fine with the camera. All the buttons are very responsive and the flip is VERY sturdy. I currently own 3 cell phones, the iPhone 3G, Sidekick LX 2009 (gotta love phones.lol) and the Tundra, and out of all 3 the Tundra is my favorite

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Durable and reliable

 

Jun 16, 2009 by debo606

Ive had my va76r for about 3 months now. I own a construction company and go to the bar often so in both cases i needed a durable phone. This phone is just as durable as they say Ive dropped it on cement, was running it fell out of my pocket and i booted it about 20 feet lol, and left it in the rain for about 10 min and it still works great. The size is a little big but thats because the plastic coating on the outside. The only problem i have with the phone is the menu loading once in a while it takes a couple seconds to boot up the next screen but it isn't all the time. Battery life is about 5 days with little usage around 3 days when sending 50 texts a day and 30 min a day on the phone. Reception is awesome everywhere i go i have 5 bars when others only have 2 or 3.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Biggest pile of crap I've come to use

 

Dec 27, 2010 by narn3049

this was a sad review to post, because I really tried to use this phone, but when the screen goes out 4 times your a little mad. had this phone like 1 year ago, and the screen when turned the phone would work but 4 secs when the phone was on the screen would go completely out. i had this happened on all 4 until i got the iphone. stay away. it wont work for you

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good RF Performance if you can Hear Caller

 

Aug 13, 2009 by AtlantaRTA

I have had the Motorola Tundra for one week. I am disappointed with the sound level on the handset speaker. The speaker phone sound level is OK. I had a Motorola V365 which is a predecessor of the Tundra. The sound level on the V365 was great. It is surprising that a higher end phone would have such a low sound level. These are usually for professionals or contractor use. We need sound level to hear. I am an Engineer that designs Radio Frequency hardware and have extensive audio knowledge. It is even more confusing to read professional reviews that say that say the audio quality is excellent, they are wrong. The DSP is not close to excellent on this phone. Callers frequently sound muffled and that makes it worse with the low sound level.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's ok...

 

Mar 16, 2009 by MasterBlaster

I used this phone for a few days and returned it. I live at a fringe area but the Tundra was able to pick up and hold to a signal with no problem. The external antenna works great and it's the best phone I have ever used in terms of reception.

But, the lack of personalize email was a problem. The voice dial feature works 30% of the time and for some reason Google Maps crashes. Another real problem is that the phone has GPS but only works with ATT Navigator but not other 3rd party software.

I really wanted this phone to work as it's been the best reception phone I've use but the other short comings were just too much.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Mar 11, 2009 by CoolCSI

Hello!

I had the iPhone 3G and BlackBerry Bold. Both could hold a 3G signal, but sometimes would slip to edge. However, iPhone gave me issues and the Bold was to much for what I would use it for.

When I saw this Motorola Tundra, it was a perfect match. Not only does it have 3G, but it holds a solid 3G signal!

This doesn't have your touch screen or Blackberry features. However, it's a great solid phone and has plenty of features.

I'm happy I switch to this Tundra phone and will be keeping for long time. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


excellent phone!

 

Mar 7, 2009 by knuckleballer34

This much needs to be stated first. The Motorola Tundra is a BIG RUGGED phone. The phones size and outside aesthetics should not be a considered a problem. If you have seen the phone or have read reviews on it, you know that your getting a larger less eye appealing phone before you buy it.

For those of us who want or need a solidly constructed phone, At&t did a very good job with the Tundra. It is pretty much a Nextel phone that uses At&t's network

Pros:
1. Big, tough, and rugged. Perfect for people who are hard on their phones, have bigger hands, or who are just plain clumsy like me.
2. Best reception of any at&t phone available. If your used to getting one or two bars where you live, this phone is worth taking a look at.
3. Call quality is outstanding, and the speakerphone is loud and clear.
4. Push to talk feature worked pretty well. Your not going to beat Nextel at this, but for those who want to switch to at&t don't let the ptt capabilities hold you back. This phone does a good job with ptt.
5. For a "real man's" phone, it is very feature rich.

Cons:
1. Menu system is a tad slow
2. Keypad is divided by a little grid. This isn't a big deal but does feel slightly odd.
3. A phone like this isn't supposed to be aesthetically pleasing, but come on at&t. Make one in black next time.

None of the three cons were the least restriction in the phones functions. The Tundra is a good rugged phone with great reception, call quality, and ptt capabilities. As mentioned, Nextel is still the gold standard for these services...but their network isn't far reaching enough. If you need Nextel services without the limits of their network, this is a good alternative. I'd like to see at&t come out with a few more phones such as this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Mar 6, 2009 by bo67

Great phone.

Pros:

Very well built.
Nice menu layout.
Great signal.
Hear callers great.
Callers hear me great.

Cons:

None with the phone, but wish MOTO made and OEM holster for the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2