Phone Scoop

printed December 11, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1414

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U550

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

Good phone

 

Aug 26, 2008 by Just FRU It

Just upgraded my A930 to this a few days ago.

PROS:
1. Sleek and slim design.
2. Excellent sound quality. Everything sounds great with this phone and the volume is loud enough.
3. Large inner display.
4. Outer color display (Shows time/date, signal strength, battery level, wallpaper).
5. Decent camera quality.
6. Micro SD slot (supports up to 8GB).
7. I can add words to the T9 dictionary finally! YAY!!!!
8. Supports VCast Music w/ Rhapsody.
9. The xylophone keypad sound scheme is kinda neat.
10. Voice commands aren't perfert, but work better than my A930.
11. TXT message readout (reads your text messages aloud either when they are received, or when you open them).
12. Music touch keys under outer display.
10. Voice commands and camera can be activated with the phone closed.
13. Renders mobile web super fast.
14. Speakerphone button needs to be held for at least 2 seconds before activating (preventing me from accidentally activating the speakerphone like I always did with the A930).

CONS:
1. Fills the whole screen with my animated wallpaper cutting off the sides and causes it to animate too slowly (I'm sure I can fix that though).
2. Battery life seems a bit weak, but then again I used it A LOT after the 1st charge, so I'm sure I can probably pull at least 2-3 days from it normally.
3. It power cycled once, but I was messing around with it too much so I probably caused it to crash.
4. 25MB total internal memory? Come on, with memory getting cheaper and cheaper, phones should be coming out with more internal memory.
5. Text entry in mobile web forms (and mobile IM) sucks horribly. Wish it used the same system as the txt messaging.
6. Not the most attractive color scheme on the outside, but not bad.
7. Stock ringtones suck as usual.

Overall, I think this is probably VZW's most underrated phone. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. No major issues I've seen with these phones either. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, fully featured phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Strong vwith Samsung

 

May 23, 2008 by gatorgirl

Just got this phone and so far I love it!!

Pros:
*Great outside display and inside display-very large
*Amazing reception and clarity
*Battery has been great
*Ringtones are loud and clear
*Easy keypad for texting and sends them really fast
*Speed on the web is by far the fastest I have seen
*Customizing the phone is a snap and more features than any other phone I have had

Cons:
*If you don't get a case for the phone you will be wiping the screen frequently due to the mirror look on the outside and it attracts fingerprints like a magnet

Overall this phone is AWESOME and I am so glad that I got it. Great job Verizon and Samsung...you have a great phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Great Samsung for VZW

 

Apr 5, 2008 by srichardsnyc

Phone is great - I'm a long time Samsung/VZW fan.

The only negative: when the phone is closed, there is no way to activate the external display. For example, I have to open the phone to check the time.

Otherwise, Excellent.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Thumbs Up!

 

May 29, 2008 by audperry

This is a great little phone. I agree with the pros and cons of the other positive users, so I won't duplicate them here. I will say, however, that I was very disappointed that I couldn't get the external display to come on unless I opened and closed the phone. Then I tried holding the lock button for 2 or 3 seconds, and voila! the external display came on!! Discovering that little trick -- which, by the way, not even Verizon could figure out -- made this an ALMOST perfect phone. The fingerprints still bother the heck out of me!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Returning this phone

 

May 8, 2008 by trishispkh

I got this phone about two weeks ago and am very unhappy with it. The battery life is horrible it only last approx a day and half. My LG8300 could go up to four days when i first got it without dying. The other problem i have with this phone is that it freezes almost daily. This is a really irritating occurance. I would never recommended this phone to anyone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


excellent phone u340

 

May 13, 2010 by narn3049

Now, your wondering why I posted a review for the u340 under the 550 but thats only because i posted a review on it. I got the u340 again and it is awesomee.

I like the numeric keypad more then the Intensity's keyboard. The u450 intensity was also a good phone but I find myself typing faster on this type of a keypad so I decided to go for it again and got one. So I wanted to make a review.

The size is excellent. I noticed if I had a smaller pocket, I found my intensity, easily popping out of the top of it (pocket) with this one it goes in VERY well into the pocket. The camera is only a vga camera, but isn't half bad. I consider it something you should look for if you want a basic phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Average

 

Feb 2, 2009 by libertyx

PROs:

1) Compact/efficient design - easy to carry in a shirt pocket.

2) Keyboard/screen good.

CONs:

1)Always pushing buttons. Speakerphone doesn't "stick", push a button everytime to use. Want to see the time - push a button.

2) A Verizon marketing device - always pushing Verizon pay products or the name.

3) Poor battery life - I've owned another Samsung phone and it had poor battery life also - seems to be a trend for Samsung.

3) Listening not good - muddy (south Florida).

4) Every time I get a new Verizon phone it has fewer ringtones and the ones available

are lame(see item 2).

5) Camera doesn't seem any better than lesser megapixel phone models.

Conclusion: It's being shipped back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What a Great Phone!!!!

 

Mar 12, 2008 by wp144

What a great Phone!
Slim but has everything!
I bought this great phone last week, and
I can say it's much much better than U540 & VX8350. VX8350 is really fat ass compare to this slim and nice looking phone.

Pros: Camera Quality, Sounds, BT, Nice grip,
and colors(Calm & inteligent Looking!!!)
Cons: Little too slim for my hand.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.