Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1376

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SLM SGH-A747

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  17  

Average Ratings

3.38
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Samsung 747

 

Dec 7, 2007 by cellman01

Gee, I went to the Samsung web site and had no problem finding the phone. I guess you needed to put your glasses on. As for the accessories I agree they were not easy to find but they were available. Thats the case in most new releases. As for the batt. I agree it is a little soft. But overall the phone works well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Does A Lot Of Things Right

 

Dec 19, 2007 by mastershake130

This phone can do almost everything! These are some of the things it can do except for a couple things.

PROS:

Clear Speaker
Call Quality
Reception
Battery
Easy To Use Music Player
Decent Camera
Feels Nice For A Really Thin Phone
Internet Speed Is Decent
Brushed Look Rare On A Phone
Camera Swivels!
Nice Set Of Apps
Easier To Hold Than A717

CONS:
Blocky CV Quality
No Voice Dialing
Needs Wireless Update For QVGA Video Viewing
Napster Mobile SUCKS
Keypad Size Fine But Kinda Hard To Text
Sometimes Lags

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


RECCOMMEND TO ALL!

 

Jan 9, 2008 by prdmami2mixedboi

After having a Samsung Sync I knew it would be hard to find a phone that was as good or better... after trying the LG shine and having nothing but hell with it I have gone back to Samsung and LOVE IT!

PROS

Lightweight
SLIM
Swivel Camera... 2.0 pixel
3G
easy menus
easy to set up
you can set you're own ringtone for your text
comes with memory chip
VERY loud ringer and earpeice
GREAT signal strength

CONS

No outside speaker... no i dont think the bottom speaker is a speaker at all.... doesnt sound like it!
Almost too loud on some calls without even being on speaker phone!

I reccomend this phone to all.. Samsung is a very trusty brand, one of the best out right now!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone.

 

Dec 31, 2007 by Heat2010

After having the LG Shine for a week i decided to return it and get this phone.

Pros:
-LightWieght
-Big Bright Screen.
-Easy to use.
-Great For Texting.
-Thin.
-Comes with a Micro SD disc.

Cons:
-Swivel Camera doesnt have the best quality.

Very happy with this phone. Great for a teenager like myself.
I recommend the Blue instead the of the Brownish color.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE

 

Dec 30, 2009 by LakerFan01

This new Samsung SGH-A747 is fabulous! I love all of its great features. I've always had a Samsung phone, but I am most impressed with this one by far. I actually just got my son a prepaid Samsung phone for Christmas on the StraightTalk plan, so we both have Samsung phones together (except mine is the newer one)! I'm saving over $500 a month with his phone being on StraightTalk, so life is pretty good. I highly reccommend the Samsung SGH-A747 to everyone :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Gold Nugget! Samsung ROCKS!

 

Jun 7, 2009 by slitranger

I just got an unlocked version of this phone, as a replacement to the current HTC Wing that I have with T-Mobile. Bottom line, I couldn't even get T-Mobile's signal in my house. At least no reception with the exception of the entrance. I mean it's not like I live in a bunker in the interior of Alaska. I live in Sunny California in a very populated area of the OC. My wife and I struggled with trying to make and receive calls with the phones we got from T-Mobile. This phone solved that issue. We don't know why, but both her A747 and my A747 can make and receive calls anywhere in the house. There are times where the signal is a bit garbled. But it's there! We have friends visit us who are on the T-Mobile network, with T-Mobile phones. They all complain about not receiving signals in our house, and they are amazed that we can make/receive calls. This is also the case when we go out to places like Disney or the movies. Places where our friends get "dead spots" - we can make the calls! They end up using our phones! LOL! I nicknamed my A747 - the "Signal Wh0re". I LOVE IT! The only problem that I've had with the phone is the extreme delay on the camera. But my phone is for making calls. My 10.1 mega pixel SLR is for taking pictures. So no complaints there. But that is the ONLY reason why this phone got 4 stars from this very satisfied customer. I just wish that our carrier would start carrying phones that actually work! Sorry T-Mobile, rates and customer services are great. But your phones are horrible. The A747 is the answer to T-Mobile's short comings in terms of "signal". You need signal - get it with this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


One of the best Samsung phones on AT&T

 

Jun 26, 2008 by Craigger68

So far i have had this phone for about month upon my return to At&t. The phone is thin like my old RAZR and skinner so it fits in the hand much better.

Pros : clear calls, good battery life, lots of stuff to play with even though most are just trials or demos, picture quality ok for a cell phone, music player sounds ok, i have a 4gb card so it's great to have music and movies on it and still have space left for pictures and what ever else.

Cons : Screen is not a clear and crisp as some phones out there.

If you want a phone that works well as a phone plus has extra stuff like camera,music player etc. this is the phone for you.
I'm glad i got this one instead of the cheaper free phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good option to buy and little in his pocket vult

 

May 16, 2008 by anelroa

The phone slm of 13 millimeters, 3G, HSDPA, metallic casing, 2MP camera and support for Napster Mobile, also has Bluetooth connectivity, microSD card slot

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Don't Get It

 

Apr 15, 2008 by bobbo61

Pros: MP3 player
Bluetooth
Slim and lightweight

Cons: Reception
erratic earset volume
menu system

After returning my first SLM to AT&T and getting a replacement, I find that this phone has some significant problems. The volume on the earset goes from low to high to low volume. When I speak to callers, they complain that I am cutting out. The reception was supposed to be above average but I found that it is actually worse that that of my gen-one RAZR. The mini SD was missing the standard SD convertor card. Hmmm. I thought I'd never say it but my old RAZR blows this thing away. Am considering LG CU515, new RAZR and the fat V365 as a replacement when this one goes back tomorrow.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty but very buggy

 

Mar 18, 2008 by formosa

I have been using the phone for two month now and this is what I found.

Pros:
Looks nice
Blue tooth is easy to setup
I can take picture really easily

Cons:
It does this weird thing that it just keeps on entering the number 4 without me touching the phone and it is very annoying.
The buttons are really small so it is very hard to use.

I regret getting this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1