Phone Scoop

printed December 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1302

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson Z550a

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

4.4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Sony ericsson Z550i

 

Oct 25, 2007 by pia21

Sonny Ericsson Z550i was announced May 2006 well what can i say about the performance of this cellphone well for me it is very useful and handy to use because Sony Ericsson Z550i is made up of 1.3 mega pixels camera and you can adjust the camera 4x digital zoom and it also has bluetooth, mp3 player, radio with over 40 cahnnels you can save your favorite station, also has a video player and when you buy a memory card for this cellphone it has 1gb enough for you to install mp3 songs, themes, games, pictures, videos, etc. and it you can install 1,000 contacts from your phone book! and I have no problem of carrying this phone because it only weighs 93g.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Pearl in the Sea of shells

 

Aug 23, 2007 by The Panama Revolution

I got this phone 6 months ago in Panama where I live. New phones are available here even before you see them on phonescoop. Anyways I had a SE W810 I got in the U.S. and Here in Panama I got the SE Z550a for $20.00 with a 2-year contract.

To tell the truth I only got it because of the 20.00 it was hard to pass.

I was quite amazed at how much I ended up liking the phone, way better than my SE W810 or any phone I had eve owned.

PROS:
SE user interface (can't beat this)
Cristal clear Sound
Speakerphone
Picture Caller ID
Voice Dialing
Soft nice to the touch keypad
Amazing screen and colors
Better than decent camera w/ video
Lightweight
Memory slot
Walkman Capabilities
Sturdy and stylish aluminum shell

CONS:
Slipery clamshell,when flipping open.
A little thick

According to SE designers this phone is tribute to the uber-popular T610. Hard to miss this one.

Conclusion: If you a want an all around great phone, that wont dissapoint, but want a little more than the low end budget phones, get this!

If you want a MP3 player, camera and video replacement look elsewhere.

Saludos,

The Panama Revolution

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great phone

 

Dec 4, 2008 by KatGamer

I love Sony Ericsson's z550 and it came with great support. I bought it unlocked and spent an hour on AT&T's support chat, only to be told they didn't have the proper MMS settings. I called Sony Ericsson and they text messaged me the right settings in under 5 minutes, including hold time.

The problem it does seem to have is if I close it too quickly after sending a text message, the phone shuts itself off. A CNet review mentions they seem to have the same problem if they open the phone too quickly after receiving a text.

One other problem is actually with Sony Ericsson's PC Suite on Windows Vista - it would always fail when I tried to transfer my pictures from my phone to my PC via a USB cable. I have found a different free software solution out there that makes this a nonissue.

Regardless of the shutdown issue, it is the best phone I've had in a while.

It has a far superior interface to LG, whose text messaging system seems convoluted. On LG, I have to scroll through my contacts, hit options, select new text, type my message, and hit send. In Sony Ericsson, I have a shortcut key to New message, I type my message, and it saves a quicklist of all the people I text, with the most recent person I've texted listed first.

I avidly recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sony Z550A

 

Feb 5, 2008 by DragonMaster22o

ok here it is i have had this phone for 4 days now. the vol up on the side quit working today. the camera total sucks the pics are so drak you can see them and the ones you can see look like negatives. batter is the worse have to charge it over night every night. if you use the fm radio its with a full charger its good for about 20 mins the its 100% dead.lower left key does nothing when i push it. well thats about it all in all its ok but my motorola V635,V235 leave this phone in the dust. in my openon ill stay with motorola.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Taste, Less Filling

 

Aug 9, 2007 by MoZamboni

This is one of the best phones I've seen come around in a while. The z550a is a great value because it sports many of the same features as the more expensive Sony Walkman phones, and even has a better screen. Also, it's construction is mostly metal so it is a very sturdy phone. It trims off everything most people could care less about most SE phones, and puts it in a rugged body and inexpensive to boot.

PROS:

Great Design
Great Price
Quad-Band GSM
EXCELLENT reception
FM Radio
MP3 Player
Nice Screen for the Price Range
Long Battery Life
No antenna
Very strong construction
Expandable Memory

CONS:

Buttons are flush, and not big at all
Awful Japanese Pop Ringtones

All in all, standard SE trying-to-reinvent-the-wheel buttons aside, this phone is great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1