Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=126

Home  ›  Phones  ›  VTech  ›

VTech A700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.32
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

An Amazing Little Phone

 

Jan 27, 2003 by Jim McCabe

What a great phone this is. Just amazing. It may be called an "entry level" phone, but this phone is for anyone that wants a well built unit that delivers in so many areas. The primary reason is of course talking. I almost always get a strong signal, and it holds the signal well. Reception and sound are very good, if not great. The increase/decrease volume buttons for the earpiece are well placed on the side, and come in quite handy. I've only needed to increase the volume once however.
It is small, light, and easy to use. Setup is also a breeze. The joystick takes a bit of getting used to, but it doesn't take long to get the hang of it. Once you do, you'll wonder how you got along without it.
Battery life is great. Much better than you'd first expect for a phone this size. And when it does come time to replace it, you'll find it's one of the least expense batteries on the market.
I just replace my Audiovox CDM 8300 with the A700 and I consider it to be a step forward. While the Audiovox has many more features, the A700 blows it away in reception, quality, and getting a good signal. I highly recommend this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Yehaww, the PHONE

 

Nov 25, 2002 by cameron roe

Well well well ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the Vtech A700 amazement view. It is an amazing phone with plenty of features. The orange backlight is quite unique, and the solid joystick. Being the lightest phone on the market, well yahoo and good bye "MIKE" motorola phones :)
The GOOD:
Games,size,weight,look,style,backlight,reception,sound.
The BAD:
Breakable...very, breakable

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A700

 

Sep 16, 2002 by AMBERQUEST

This phone is actually quite good. First off the voice quality is good. Although it lets in a fair bit of background noise. The RF is decent as well. For a low end phone it has some neat features such as partial message exposure upon recipt of a text message very nice. The phone is light weight. The menue with the joy stick takes a little to get used too, but if you stay with it, it becomes quite easy. Large hand may have a problem. The phone has games a calander alarm clock. Alot there for a low end Phone. I have spent more on a phone and havent been as impressed. Good value for the money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The VTech A700

 

Aug 30, 2002 by Sueann L

I am a student who has recently bought the VTech A700 and it is an AMAZING phone. First of all, it is light weight(2.4 oz.) and can fit almost anywhere, in your pocket in the small section of your purse. This is because it is not only small, and can fit in the palm of your hand, but because it is EXTREMLY thin(103 mm x 43 mm x 19 mm).

The phone has many regular features, Phonebook, games, calendar, calculator (which includes a currency converter). This phone also has excellent graphics.

Looking at the phone it has an orange light display for the screen and the key-board. However, for those of you who don't want to waste their battery you can turn off that feature. There is a joystick that you use to go left and right, up and down.

The joystick is one of the most difficult things to use if you have large fingers or long nails, but you can get used to it in no time.

I recommend this phone to everyone, but I think you might want to see it first in a store and check it out before you buy one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sadly mistaken

 

Mar 4, 2003 by Brad Neamtz

I have owned this phone for 6 months and have been through just as many because these phone are made out of extra plastic left over from Vtech's interactive play toys for kids. I agree with the orange backlight , but reception is very poor and also these phone power off by themselves. I would advise an analog nokia before i would recommend this phone. I wouldn't even give it to my kid for a play toy b/c i would be to afraid it would even fall apart in the hands of a child. Also the clear display is very very fragile so don't so don't even drop the phone it will shatter into a million pieces. So if you haven't yet caught my drift do not buy this phone, you will be very dissappointed

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


How much is it a $1.00?

 

Sep 17, 2005 by SiDeKiCk 2

I use to have the vtech although it is really old has no features and is good enough to make calls nothing else. It look like the phone i have at my house.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Vtech A700 is bad, has problems

 

Jul 7, 2004 by vibha_geeta

I have owned a VTECH A700 (blue) for two years now. It sucks big time. Everytime I turn it ON and try to dial a number it connects and then the call drops after about 20 sec. This has been happening for a few months now.
I stuck with the provider because of the great long-dist rates, but I'm going to throw the phone away. When the signal strength is about 2 bars, the phone refuses to dial out -- "please retry later." And you can keep retrying all you want for hours!!! I do not recommnd that phone at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A700 better than Audiovox 8100? or motorola v2282? or Mitsubishi G310?

 

Nov 14, 2003 by A700_2003

I've owned many phones , nokia 101 5190 3390 sony ericsson T200 , Audiovox 8100 , motorola v2282 VTech A700 Mitsubishi G310.

But I wish i had my nokia phones , but i cannot afford one so I'll setlle for my vtech phone, good RF performance , no infrared or internet or dual mode band or dual mode or tri band or quad band either but it's got a huge phone book ok games great text messaging but not as good as the nokia 3390. I hear people so well that it's like there beside me ( something that all of my past or present phones can't do!) But all for a good price , $75.00 canadian plus $50.00 worth of prepaid airtime!. It's cool looking though the best lighting for a cheap phone , even the mitsubishi g310 can't top this!

COOL!! A GOOD PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Stay away from it

 

Aug 23, 2003 by Joe Lai

This is my first phone and I have to say that this is not what you want to go near. AT first, the size and design was very appealing to me, but after using it ofor 1 month i found out that the menu is very screwed up and confusing, tooo little ring tones, build quality is very bad(hold it tight and it make sqeaky sounds). Overall, if you only want a phone to call people, it's ok to buy it. However, if you expect alot this is not what you want.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best phone ever

 

Feb 1, 2004 by akaudio

V-techs are the best phones ever made last forever ive had mine 3 years just as good as the day i got it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2