Phone Scoop

printed September 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1256

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo Katana DLX

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.32
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

very good phone

 

Nov 9, 2007 by phone-tag

wanted to change phone from the m8300 and the katana I, tried the lg muziq for a week and wanted to like and go with the muziq.
what a disapointment the muziq turned out to be, build quality not on par with the sanyo, the reception was borderline poor at best for the muziq.

the katana dlx is good old reliable as usual, excellent reception, very solidly build. a few draw backs with no full duplex on the speaker phone and thats originally why i choose the lg muziq but in the end it didn't matter because you can't do jack or hold a decent conversation on speaker phone with the muziq anyway, so its a moot point.

quit happy with the katana dlx.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Oct 31, 2007 by Sprintjenh

I love the phone.

Pros
Reception/clarity
Inside screen bright and clear
plays songs, customize ringtones, customize themes
Fast evdo, awesome internet!
Nice size
Sanyo brand name
T9 text

Cons
cell strap notch is at the bottom of the phone
Buttons are small

I do mainly Text Messages, Calling, but wanted to get a camera phone, bluetooth capable and mp3s (not sure I will use these things, but I wanted in for possible future use) I hunted everyone for the PINK one. I am very happy with the phone. As far as the hinge... all the phones basically have this type of hinge.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good Phone (not THE BEST)

 

Oct 27, 2007 by eric_cartman

This is a good phone. Has a bunch of good options. My first choice was the M610 but they pulled it out two weeks before my contract renewal. Also, the price of this phone has gone down 50 bucks since I bought it.

PROS:
-Clear calls (even with one or two bars)
-Good camera
-Fast interface (compared to my old LG pm-225)
-Bluetooth (w/ full features such as OBEX, OPP, HSP, and A2DP)
-SD Card
-Music Player (it has its own native music player, of sorts)
-Native File Browser
-

CONS:
-No PC Sync (I wish there was some sync software to update phone contacts and calendar and to-do lists)
-No 2MP camera (The M610 had one, and this one does not, and it bothered me as there was no phone at the time with a 2 megpixel camera)
- No Memo pad
-Although this phone has a music player, there is no adapter available to convert the 2.5mm to 3.5mm. I had to use an adapter that came with the muziq. (No sprint store sells any, which is pathetic.)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Sep 13, 2007 by tyreltheccc

I am a former Sprint employee and have probably had close to 30 different phones over the last 2 years, so I am really very picky when it comes to a wireless device. The DLX is probably the closest to perfect that a phone has been for me as of yet.

Pro's: Excellent signal strength (not necessarily a Sanyo thing from my experience working at Sprint)
Call quality is very good for a Sanyo, there is normally a bit of a buzz compared to the clarity of a Samsung or Motorola device.
UI is very good as always, easy, fast, no lagging.
Great camera (for a phone)
Video camera is good as well
Speakerphone is functional, unlike many other phones (sanyo speaker phones usually are good anyway, so that is to be expected)
Love that you can minimize applications to do other things (text, etc.)
Ringer sufficiently loud (unlike original Katana)
EMAIL! Wow, this thing is a champ with my email, almost as functional as the Treo 700wx I had for awhile (excepting of course the ability to create, send attachments, etc.)
Con's: The texting does lag a little - however, in the phone's defense, i have noticed that although it lags it still brings up everything that you type in, which makes this only a minor annoyance rather than a problem - unlike the RAZR V3M which skips every other letter if you are quick on the text. Same problem with Moto Q, but I hear they fixed that issue with the new V9m - so I will probably try that phone out soon.
Bluetooth has never been great for sanyo, also no speaker independent voice dial which is a big hindrance while driving.

Overall, the phone has been the best all around device I have had so far. Highly recommend it, well built, good size, etc. Sanyo hit a home run with this one

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Katana DLX

 

Oct 28, 2007 by Kathy2003

The Katana DLX,in my opinion, is awesome. I have had 3 different phones, and I was trying to decide between RAZR and Katana DLX. All the reviews showed this to be the best. There were some things I was worried about from some reviews, but, I took a chance and what a great thing I took a chance on.
PROS:
voice is great
style is awesome
quality of text is great
ringers sound good and they are loud
battery life is long (recharge about every 4 days)
I work in a concrete building and I still have a signal!My other phone just couldn't handle that.

cons:
one thing. The battery life is long but it also takes about 4-4.5 hours to fully recharge, and thats the only thing negative I have to say about it.

I am with Sprint and I bought this at Radio Shack and what a great deal.I gave this a 4.5 rating only because in my opinion nothing is perfect.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Thank you Sanyo!

 

Jul 31, 2007 by JSpired

I'm on a business account with Sprint and have many phones on one account. For the last couple months, I've (personally) sported both a "smart" phone (Motorola Q) and a Samsung (Upstage). This last month, I switched over to the DLX, along with a few other members on my account, and here's what I think of the DLX..

**PRO**
--Reception is the best I've had in a long while. Thank you, Sanyo!

--Call quality is crystal clear, even on speaker phone.

--Phone software is quick and response. There's no lag whatsoever.

--Display is smaller than I'm used to, but clear and crisp.

--Strong design: Love the hinge and keypad.

--Great camera, despite the lack of flash.

**CONS**

--Volume key on the top half of the phone? Seriously Sanyo, do you realize how hard this is to use while you're on a call?

--Data/charge port location is not convenient.

Overall, I consider this an upgrade from my most recent phones. Sanyo is moving in the right direction and if I had it to do over, I would gladly purchase this unit again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone with a couple negatives...

 

Jul 15, 2007 by aj420

At long last... a new full featured Sanyo with slim flip form factor and a memory card reader. I've had this phone about 4 days (since 7/12/07) and I do like it a lot... but I miss some of the features from my Sanyo MM-5600. Here is my initial review:

Of course, the obligatory Pro/Con list:

Pros:
- Thin flip form factor. I think the size is great.
- Sanyo click
- Solid reception.
- Fast, highly customizable UI with cool features
- Power vision is more functional and useful than I thought it would be.
- Great camera
- Memory card
- Uses the same USB cable and charger as my MM-5600

Cons:
- Bland design and boring chassis colors
- Awkward hinge
- No flashlight / camera flash
- Data/charge port is on the side
- Volume button is on upper half of phone
- No "recent contacts" option for text message recipients

I chose the silver for my color. Why does this not come in black or blue?? With other flip phones you can open them with just your thumb, while the DLX requires the use of your thumb to lift the lid most of the way and then your first finger to complete the operation. You get used to it, but still... awkward hinge.

I was glad to see the Sanyo click is alive and well. Thank you Sanyo... don't change that feature. Ever. I do hate the fact that the data/charger port is on the side of the phone. Such a pain to use the car charger and talk at the same time... It's awkward and puts way too much tension on the port.

Once open, the internal styling is kind of bland.

I had a lot more to say about the UI... but the word count is limiting me. In short... the UI is very fast and very customizable. The features and tools are excellent. The camera works well even in lower light and the bluetooth found my hands-free without problem. I'm bummed the phone doesn't have a flashlight though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DLX blows the pants off the Razr!

 

Aug 22, 2007 by albatross

I just upgraded from the LG PM-225 and I am blown away by how fast the interface is. Nice looking phone with all the features I need.

Pros:
Thin design
Loud Music Ringers and crystal clear!
Great Reception
NO LAG TIME AT ALL!!
Nice looking.

Cons:
Getting to the recent calls lists takes more navigation than my last phone.
No VIBE and Ring function for text messaging.

If your looking for a slim phone with all the features and NO LAG> Then stay away from the Sprint Razr and go with the Katana DLX.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Aug 14, 2007 by Ohiost328

Going from the Muziq to the Katana DLX has been a world of improvement. One thing that has my attention is the UI is very quick and the battery is outstanding. This phone is easy to use and the actual Sprint Music store works beautifully as it should. No problems or complaints about this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Review

 

Dec 29, 2007 by Incnway5

Overall, I was satisfied with this phone. It includes allot of handy features. One bad thing about this phone: it is not a phone for heavy texters. I learned this the hard way. The buttons are not the biggest and there is a short delay to when you press them. You kinda have to press them hard and slow for the phone to register. Another thing that you have to get used to is when you open and close the phone, it makes a clicking sound. I don't know if that is going to grow on me or not.
I do like the fact that you can access a voice memo, camera, camcorder, your music, and redial your last number without opening your phone and without using a hands-free device. One great feature with this phone is that it comes with a memory card; when you insert your memory card, you can transfer all your phone numbers onto your memory card and onto your computer or vice versa. But overall, it is a pretty nice phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1