Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1206

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 3555

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

3.29
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Another winner from Nokia

 

Sep 20, 2008 by futuresealsniper

Pros:
- Good reception (as with all Nokias)
- Excellent S40 User Interface
- Decent camera for basic pictures
- Easy-to-text keypad
- Attractive finish
- Perfect size
- Worldwide GSM bands (Quad Band)
- Myriad of entertainment options (Music player, camera, recorder, web browser, games)
- Ample memory with expandable MicroSD card (up to 4GB)
- Flight mode
- Connectivity options (most notably the micro USB)

Cons:
- Battery life
- Monochrome exterior display

I made the switch to this from my old Nokia 6102. This phone is able to make/receive calls with very good clarity and reception. The user interface is great. There is no real learning curve and the navigation buttons can be used for shortcuts to any application. The texting interface has been changed as well as is about as simple as it gets to get a message out. The keys provide ample feedback and are easy to use. As for entertainment, the games provided are nice and the camera and music player are both functional and practical. The camera suffers from being a basic VGA so it will not take too clear of pictures but is decent enough for the average user in a pinch. The ability to add extra memory is nice and allows for a slew of images to be taken or for videos/DVD rips to be loaded onto the phone. Along with this, Nokia has finally wised up and included a micro USB slot which makes hooking up cheaper and easier (a cable can be had for around $5 or so.) The only real downside is that it cannot also charge up the phone at the same time.
The only real cons besides the camera image limit are the battery life and the exterior display. My old Nokia 6102 had a full color exterior display and ate up way less battery at the same time. I'm not sure if it's the faster processor or the more power consuming newer S40 interface but this phone needs to be charged at least every 3 days with minimal use.
Overall, I am very satisfied with this phone and think that most anybody could really appreciate and enjoy this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NO NO NO

 

Mar 19, 2008 by brandyT

Voice quality is OK but the screen is one of the worst on the market. It looks cheaper than the $20 prepaid phones on the market. The AT&T version of this phone has a much better display. I would not recommend this phone at all. If you are looking for a Nokia, 6133 is the best on T-Mobile.(6263 has a nice screen but very poor voice quality). I know the pressure to keep costs low but this phone is unacceptable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not happy

 

Aug 5, 2008 by megorb

T Mobile gave us this phone I think to patronize us and keep us from going to another service. I think it is about the cheapest put together phone I have seen in a long time. I think it must be the bottom of the line for t mobile. The case is flimsy plastic and I guess if I was a beginner and just needed a cheap phone to get me by it would be o.k. But in my opinion it is a low grade disposable phone. I am not happy. The only plus is I do get a few more bars in places I didn't get on my other phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


RE 3555

 

Jul 10, 2008 by theyetimontana

Good phone, the "no-frill's" description fits it perfectly. To the above review, to clarify the 3555 is not a T-Mobile exclusive phone, where you get your information is interesting to say the least. There are also red and grey versions available with some regional carriers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


a decent UMTS phone for tethering

 

May 20, 2008 by mingkee

I bought this phone after checking FCC documentation
6263 seems to have better spec, except.....3G reception, I often unable to make internet connection even it has 2 bars
after checking the FCC documentation, I found 6263 has poor 3G reception, I didn't notice that before 3G went active in NYC
everything is pretty basic, but the root part works pretty well, on both 2G and 3G
voice is better than 6263, as well as reception
but this phone is not good as music player, because:
1. micorSD is located under battery, makes hot swap is impossible
2. sound comes through headphone out is horrible, though you can use wireless headphones
if you just want something basic, or want a phone for tethering most of the time, this one you won't be disappointed

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice but basic

 

Apr 26, 2008 by dreadedknight

this phone has been given a bad rap, now i got this phone because everyone i know says how crappie it is, however, this phone isnt bad for a basic flip with camera, its got all your standard featurs we see though nokia, it plays both hyperfonic and megatones, this phone realy isnt bad for a beginner, this phone also has a great signal strenght way better than my old samsung, now its true this phones out of date, but if it was introduced three years ago it would have been ahead of its time and thrived. negative about this phone would be the display is way to cheaply made, it could have at least used real glass instead of plastic. but all in all a good little sturdy phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


3555

 

Mar 21, 2008 by Mark_S

To the other review, the Nokia 3555 is a T-Mobile exclusive phone unless you unlock the subsidy code and put an AT&T sim-card in the phone. How AT&T can have their own version with a better screen would be interesting to say the least.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2