Phone Scoop

printed December 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1192&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-5400

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  25  

Average Ratings

4.23
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Nice Little phone

 

May 24, 2008 by vmaxed

We just replaced are LG8300 with the LG5400.I like the the size of it with no external antenna.

The reception is as good or a little better than the 8300.

No Cons so far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Gread Mid-range Trimode folder

 

Dec 3, 2007 by SCTelephoneMan

This is just a great little phone.

Pros:

incredible reception for an internal antenna

trimode, for this diehard analog holdouts...and for those trips through eastern Kentucky

small, lightweight

Snappy interface, runs VZ Navigator with ease

Loud speakerphone that LG is famous for

Loud ringer

Cons:

feels a little flimsy

mirror on the front is a fingerprint magnet

Customizing the interface is a bit limited

Skimpy 38MB of RAM with no expansion

terrible VGA camera

All in all, you just can't go wrong here. If you don't care about EVDO, Vcast, Music or any of that and just want a good PHONE, grab the 5400. You won't be unhappy! great all-purpose handset to stock up on for the family.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great no frills phone

 

Nov 27, 2007 by siggy

I only have this phone for 2 days, and I am very impressed with this phone. Excellent signal strengh, at least in New York Metro area. Good battery live, and the camera for VGA is very good. I think Verizon Wireless
just got another winner from LG. So, if you want no frills phone this one is for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cousin/uncle owns

 

Jan 6, 2011 by narn3049

This phone looks like a decent phone, and it works pretty good. I have never owned one, but my uncle did, and kept it in excellent shape and passed it over to my cousin who still uses it but will probably upgrade it soon.

PROS:
Excellent durability. It has been tossed around a lot but still looks good due to the factory screen protectors on it and a case.

Battery- after 3 years of owning this phone, the battery still works excellently.

Reception- as with Verizon I think you know you are going to have excellent reception!

Sound quality- One reason I chose an LG again for my new phone (Chocolate touch) is because when I had an Intensity by Samsung, it always sounded like the tone that came in was pixilated, like it was recorded. No, because when my cousins phone got the same forward it sounded excellent, and showed as MP3. 5400 and Chocolate touch always display as MP3.

Camera- pretty good for a VGA. It doesn't really lack any issues, looked more 1.3 MP, until I read the specs. Amazing that it was VGA. I truly thought it was 1.3 MP.

CONS:
Charging of the phone- this was nearly avoided, but I figured it should be mentioned. For the superb battery life that this phone has, it takes like 3 hours to charge the phone. It is the same with my Chocolate too. This may be a con to some that need their phone quickly charged.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Form follows function with this durable phone

 

Nov 5, 2009 by banhammer

This phone is like a good casserole. It's not too flashy, nothing exotic, but it has a lot of good ingredients. And it's dependable.

From the simple clamshell to the sparse buttons inside this phone is about decidedly basic. Besides the, camera which is as good quality as you would expect from this level of phone, the phone is only good for calling and texting. But those things it does well, for a long time. The outer case is durable and it does not register water damage easily (don't go deep sea diving with it, though ;) obviously). The outer screen is small and the plastic inside and out is think, so there's little risk of cracked screens given normal usage. The buttons on the side work well even after a long period of usage (though the lacquer-like outer covering can chip off and revealing a dull interior color).

The phone will most likely last you two years until your contract is up and you can upgrade to something else more sporty. It lacks power in its vibration and the ring/speakerphone can be underwhelming. Minor glitches with texting when you're drafting a text and you receive a new message, however nothing irreparable.

I recommend this phone as a starter phone. Durable, reliable, and versatile it'll get you through to something better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simple, Practical, Compact

 

Feb 17, 2009 by nomiriya

If you're the type of person who just wants a cell phone to be a cell phone, this is it. The phone has great battery life and is indestructible. It has a very user-friendly keypad and is small and light.

PROS: long battery life, small size
CONS: none if you like a simple phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone that's not lasting.

 

Feb 8, 2009 by josh8211

I've had this phone for under a year and already I'm having an issue with it. If I close the phone while a text message is being sent, the phone shuts off and the text isn't sent. Also, I've awoke a number a mornings to find that my phone, with a full charge, magically turned itself off.

I know I have a warranty still but the point is, this shouldn't happen. I take care of my phones too, so it's nothing I could have done. I used my last phone, an LG VX4500, for literally 5 years and only stopped using it because the speaker phone didn't work.

Maybe I just got a bad egg but my faith in LG has diminished a little after this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good basic phone

 

Jan 3, 2009 by soxfan33

This is a good basic phone - call clarity is decent & it is easy to use. I opted for the 5400 when I went to a Verizon plan & was unsure of what other more expensive options I wanted. The size is great, fits easily into my purse or a pocket but is very slippery so tends to fall out of a jacket pocket if I'm not careful.

The only issue I had with this phone was that it started to shut itself off - had it replaced once & the 2nd one also would shut off if I shut it too quickly. I learned to live with it.

Have just upgraded to the ENV2 today - the phone I've had my eye on for a while with it's text friendly keyboard, but will hold on to my 5400 as a spare..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Reliable Phone

 

Nov 12, 2008 by bo67

I have tried out several phones from all major carriers and the LG VX5400 is as good as any and better than most for call quality, reception, battery life and user friendliness. If you just want a cell phone, you can't go wrong with the LG VX5400.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Nov 27, 2007 by country gril

I've had this phone about 3 weeks, and can find no cons to mention. The battery life is great, I don't have to charge it everyday. It's easy to open. The speaker is on the front cover which allows you to hear it ringing. It's a great size for my purse or pocket. The automatic voice commands works very well. It works great with my LG bluetooth. The camera is very easy to use and work. It works great with version connections, very clear no static. LG should be proud of this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2