Phone Scoop

printed September 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1133

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Ultra Edition 10.9 / U600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  37  

Average Ratings

4.5
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Its great but not the greatest

 

May 29, 2007 by pedroe13

After reading the review above mine, I was pumped up to get this phone. It is what I was looking for -- plays MP3's, enough integrated memory plus external memory (micro trans flash), great camera 3.2m and it was a slider phone. This phone compared to a SLVR V7 or a new MOTO V3XX I will have to say its a better upgrade than the A new Chocolate KG800 or KRZR
lets start with the pros:

*Great camera
*LOUD PHONE
*small
*light
*Fashionable
*Great phone to impress
*its a slider
*When talking on speaker (loud), it does not disconnect the call if you slide down the screen

CONS
*Battery life SUCKS
*The touch sensitive buttons get in the way
*Not able to customize as much as the SLVR V7 (such as transferable custom ringtones of selected people when they txt you or screen wallpaper size [strectch, center etc])
*Media program is only for Windows not compatible with Mac (Mac users have to transfer music to the memory card of the phone then you can transfer to the phone itself)
*When playing music-If its not off the phone memory, the song will stop after it ends without continuing to play the rest of the playlist music-
*The internet service is not compatible with Cingular or T-Mobile
(seems the phone is only available unlocked, and the internet provided by Cingular and/or T-Mobile is restricted from unlocked phones) =(
*Expensive

Overall the phone is good it self, signal is great, and the phone does drop calls (not very often) but it is commonly known for unlocked phones to do that at times. Found my phone on ebay for $320 but remember BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung the Ultra Edition

 

Jul 19, 2010 by SiR-ed8

I've had this for close to 2 years and here's the breakdown:

Pros
Design: sleek, slim, stylish
Alarm: Add up to 4 more alarms on top of the 5 for a total of 9!

Flashlight: not many handsets have this feature

Answering/Dialling: device automatically locked and you have to unlock it. Nice touch on Samsung's part considering 4 buttons are touch-sensitive.

Durability: Survived a double-rollover crash. Don't pay attention to naysayers.

Mobile Tracker

SOS SMS: Send to # of people you specify

Pictures:
As far as deleting pictures from memory, it allows you to select features that you don't want affected:

Protected
Caller ID
Wallpaper
Unexpired
Shared

Messages:
Allows you to send messages to selected recipient(s)

CONS
Battery: lasted 1.5 days of 30min talk time with light use.
Mobile off: 2.5hrs for full charge
Duration: 1-1.5 day
Mobile on: 6hrs full charge
Duration: 1.5 day

Strangely enough with 2 bars remaining and with the phone turned off it takes 3 hrs to completely charge the phone.

Camera: 5 seconds to capture image on highest setting 2018x1536. Set down few notches and it's ok but not much better.

A remedy for this is to set Shooting Mode to Multi-shot ( 6, 9 or 15 ). Take shots, then uncheck the ones you don't want saved on the memory. Add to that it'll cut down on the memory taken inspite of it being set at Super-Fine. Quality picture at reduced memory!

Video: Playing videos from memory card like other Samsung's does not allow you Skip forward or backward to another video.

To-Do List: N/A
Ringer Profiles: N/A

Messaging:
No time nor date shown when sending message. Yet as far receiving there's date and time.

Neutral:
Block list: Unknown numbers N/A ( available with other Samsung models - US )
Speed dial
Downloaded images: Slideshow N/A
Calendar: Subject line is limited to 15 characters

Image:
When viewed, Slide Show feature is N/A
Downloaded Images viewed or not Slide Show is N/A as well

All in all great phone. Very comfortable to use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


good for the basic phone user

 

Jul 19, 2007 by locke322

If you dont' want bells & whistles and all that fancy stuff, this phone is for you. Simple UI + slim form makes for a very convenient communication device.

I live in suburban Los Angeles and the service on T-mobile with this phone is a bit spotty, definitely not as clear as Verizon wireless. But, for simple phone calls and text messaging, it gets the job done.

After being with Verizon for 3 years, i wanted to try something else. Now i can take my phone overseas and be in touch worldwide! something i could never do with verizon.

Pros:
- slim, available in white & silver as well
- high resolution
- very ergonomic

Cons:
- battery life does not seem to be the actual 14 days that phonescoop's profile claims it to be. But this is probably dependent on the carrier signal and battery output to connect to the nearby towers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


5/5

 

Sep 23, 2007 by LitttleBig001

This is a great phone. Switching from the T-Mobile MDA to the Samsung U600. The phone is expensive because it is unlocked and imported from Europe. Although it is worth for the money because it is the thinnest and the smallest phone around. No Jokes. It features a 3.2 Mega Pixel camera which is more then my camera. The most mega pixels are phone camera has these days is a 2.0 mega pixels. The touch sensitive d-pad is great and looks very stylish. It is feature packed with an MP3 player, radio, 3.2 mega pixel camera with flash, micro sd card slot, video support and recording. It also has the basics such as calender, alarm , voice recorder, timer, stop watch, calculator, world clock and convertor.. Some advanced applications include image editor, 3.2 mega pixel camera, and bluetooth. Additional features also include tv input, call reject list, speaker and much more!!! Go buy it now!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Buy It !!

 

May 6, 2007 by cmjars

Big jump from the 12.9/D900.

Pro: Fast and reliable.

Con: Can't think of any :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


durable!!!

 

Nov 21, 2008 by Renata923

I've had this phone for over a year and it's a great phone. This phone has fallen everyday of it's life with me. I would forget that it's on my lap when i get out of the car and it would always fall on the floor. One time it fell in a puddle and i couldn't find it for 10 min. I called it and found it ringing UNDER WATER! i dried it overnight and it worked like new. Even after that the phone's battery lasted me a good 3 days without recharging. I loved everything about this phone except for a few tiny things. The touch sensitive buttons are ULTRA sensitive and when you do something it is very easy to accidentally touch one of the buttons and ruin everything. Also, to end a call you have to unlock the phone first and then end it, this process is annoying and doesn't respond quickly. Also, the screen peeled with time. This might be due to earrings or it falling so much, but the screen developed drop like peeling marks (almost like something dripped on it and dried up) Other than that, it is the best phone i've had thus far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


beauty and excelent phone

 

May 16, 2008 by anelroa

pros
beautiful desing
ultra-thin
compact
mp3
battery nice
lcd bright

cons
the camera is not very good

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Works well on T-Mobile USA

 

Nov 15, 2007 by ikjeft1b

It's been suggested that this phone doesn't work well with data services from T-Mobile USA and at&t (formerly Cingular). Can't speak for at&t, but it works well on T-Mobile USA once you configure the services in the phone and have the appropriate data package added to your plan.

What's to like:
* Size, weight, and styling.
* Loud!
* Camera flash can serve as an emergency flashlight.
* User Interface.

What's not to like:
* The touch-sensitive buttons surrounding the D-Pad take a lot of getting used to. It is very easy to accidentally redial calls or activate menu items.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2