Phone Scoop

printed August 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1115

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia E61i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  76  

Average Ratings

4.14
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Smartphone Starter

 

Dec 29, 2008 by saveddiligence

I have owned this phone for a year now.
It was my first Smartphone and I must say, I am hooked on them now.

Cons:
-The keys are a bit squeaky so when trying to type a note in bed late at night, the keys can get louder than my heater. Even with the key tones off, the keys itself are squeaky. Probably because they are so close to each other...
-Needs a bit more internal memory; when I get multimedia txt msgs I have to delete or move things to my memory card sometimes. A GB of internal memory would be nice with the ability to use a 4GB memory card!!!
-Needs a regular headphone jack so you can really enjoy your music without special Nokia headset
-The alarm only goes off for an hour, after that, it will not try to wake you up--I know I take a while to get out of bed but my old Nokia 6103 rang until I was finally up so I missed that feature

I can go on and on about the good stuff about this phone but I would just be saying the same thing others have already mentioned.

It is a big smartphone but it is a great starter for those who want to venture into this market.

I had a choice between this phone and the E71 and I think the biggest difference between the two is the size. If you want a decent sized smartphone, get the E71. I choose the E61i because it had a longer history of reviews but I also love the screen size. Great for viewing internet pages and the photo and video quality is on point!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Alternative to Windows Mobile

 

Jun 22, 2007 by rigg419

S60 3rd edition as implemented on the e61i (my first ever symbian OS phone) is a mature, robust, intuitive and functional interface.

The QWERTY keyboard is excellent and, though a bit mushy, the keys are very tactile and high quality. In fact, the phone is very high quality in every respect. The Metal Casing, wonderful screen, excellent battery life, and tight fit and finish all exude craftsmanship and a high-quality manufacturing process. If you can, try and make sure you buy one tat says "made in Finland."

Call quality is also excellent. Ringtones are loud, but clear, and the web browser is the best mobile browser I've ever seen --let alone used. Lastly, the phone comes pre-loaded with most of the apps you will need. No trialware garbage or useless gimmick apps.

Pros:

Thin
Functional and Intuitive
Awesome Looking
High Quality parts
Brilliant Screen

Cons:

Wide
Some Find it Heavy
Probably less 3rd party s60 apps
Screen is probably easily broken due to its large size
weight might cause it to shatter if I drop it (I hope I never find out).

Bottom Line: I would give it a 5, but it's not perfect. Nothing is. 4.5/5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


great smart phone great buy

 

Feb 8, 2008 by josem

Pros
.great solid feel
.full keyword
.large screen
.easy to use
.symbian 3rd edition
.wifi
.metallic look
.battery life is amazing
.thin
Cons
.metal easy to scratch but cant really tell
.kinda heavy and wide
.browser little slow
.woulda been nice to add a 3mp or 5mp camera with flash

This a great phone with lots of qualities full keyword so email and text are done in a flash a good browser and wifi better use with opera mini push mail is good nothing like black berry but its great. feel good looks good great sound quality. it will replace your lap top for a weekend if your on the road and need email access internet. but the best quality so far is the battery it last me like weekend under some crazy use and i mean crazy with out a charge

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Smartphone

 

Nov 21, 2007 by marjanana

having used many treos and windows mobile phones, I have to say this phone 9,
feature wise it blew away other PDAs costing mmore. It also has great multimedia features: camera with good video recording and a really nice look. Compared to other PDAs, this beauty blows them out of the water
other great features: screen resolution, mobile browsing and it can push email

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


E61i

 

Sep 4, 2007 by saa001

Overall this is a good phone. There are some areas where it is lacking though.
PROS:
Great phone reception
Good speaker phone
Excellent screen
Good keyboard
Wi-Fi
Calendar

Cons:
Cumbersome software
Takes extra steps to send text and email messages
No built in spell checker
No OTA sync with google

Overall a good phone. I have not had any problems with the reception. I love the large screen which allows me to surf the web easily when I need to.

I come from a long line of blackberry's and this phone makes sending text messages and email very cumbersome. With the blackberry, it automatically would search recipients when you started typing in their name. With this phone, you have to go through at least three extra steps just to do that. You also have to go through an extra step or two to send it. There is no built in spell checker also. Nokia could learn a lot about messaging from the blackberry.

Another small problem is that my email disappears when I go to get new email. Very frustrating.

Wi-Fi works great.

When will a phone company get their smart phones enabled to sync with google calendars OTA? Right now I have to have my google sync with outlook and then hook up my phone to my computer and sync with it.

If this phone had some of the blackberry features for messaging and OTA sync with google calendar then it would have been a 5 in my book. I personally like GPS but it is not necessary for my handheld.

I see a lot of people and groups using google calendar (I use it and have turned several people on to it at work along with a couple of groups for group calendaring)and it would be nice to see a phone that could sync up with it right from the start. More and more apps are going from just PC based to web/mobile phone based. You need to be able to update these things on the fly.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for most things.

 

Aug 24, 2007 by taeminn

Some one really nice let me play with this phone. Overall I like it as it does what it is supposed to do. I use it mainly for Internet calls, e-mails, contacts, calendar, Internet. No voice calls over GSM.

Pros:
+ Battery life
+ Thin
+ Nice screen
+ Ability to set up VoIP, etc.
+ Simple and sensible interface

Cons:
- Requires sim card for most profile changes
- Not many fonts (no Asian fonts)
- Key board touch is strange
- WIDE!
- No standard headset

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


E61I is OK at best but better than DASH

 

Apr 18, 2007 by slammyham

ok herese my review

Pros:
Beutifull Phone
Feels great in the Hand
Feels kinda light
Great Screen

Cons:
Wifi is Slow
Used Opera(Full), and the other 2 browsers and it was ok at best in speed.
I prefer the joystick than the D-Pad
In all I like my E50 Nokia better than the E61I. Besides the wifi and the keyboard this phone can do nothing more than my E50

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1