Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1103

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T219

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Average Ratings

3.73
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

 

Mar 5, 2009 by placasp1210

WOW! This phone is amazing! The quality of this phone defiantly makes up for the lack of a camera.

PROS:
Extremely fast start up
Very big keypad
The CLEAR button helps with quick texters
MY FAV compatible
Games
Alarm
Calendar
Tip Calculator
Stop Watch
AIM, ICQ, WINDOWS LIVE, & YAHOO! built in
Sends Voice Notes, MMS messages
Has T-Zones

CONS:
No camera
.mid files sound clear only
Not signatures compatible
Can't record videos
If recording sounds, the recorder is not amazing
Not the best memory
Have to constantly delete messages to save memory
Doesn't always receive MMS messages
Games are juvenile
T-Zones costs money

This phone is really worth it. It is a basic phone and is good for people who are just getting their first phone
Have fun with it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sexy little red phone has the basics, good speakerphone, basic internet, portable flip phone

 

Jul 16, 2007 by technomantra

Looks: 8/10; this phone is definitely a looker. Red, and silver, with black on top of the flip where the glass is. It has a RED KEYPAD!

Ruggedness/Physical build quality: 7.5/10
Feels strong like diecast metal. Battery cover is thin, flimsy and scratches somewhat easy.

Call quality: 6.5/10
What cell phone is always clear? None I have owned..:)

Internet capability: 6/10
OK for text, checking your webmail, this will work OK. Sites with lots of graphics will SUCK BAD! You can't scroll left/right with it.

Battery life: 9/10
Excellent; I could have used it for probably 4 hous of constant web and voice. Excellent backup phone to keep in the glove box or in the purse for you ladies.

However the battery cover scratches VER EASILY. It is silver, not red, so the scratches are not as noticeable. The rest of the body of the phone does not scratch like the battery cover does.

I could easily take the battery cover, and a can of primer and a can of red duplicolor spray paint and go to town on this battery back, but that's more then most would want to do of course.

Menu and Software/OS: 6.5/10
I really don't think they put much time into this menu system, it's not very customizeable aor intuitive. Some things take 3 menu levels to get to. But you can assign shortcuts to the 4 way toggle button which is a good thing. However, you are limited in the things you can link to it; you cannot have the contacts/phonebook be one of them. I think you can make a link to those on the 2 buttons that appear on the bottom of the screen, but not sure yet.

The menu system is fairly simple, though.

The keypad is nice, it's red and it has partially raised keys, I felt it was pretty good. A little small, but that is what happens when you buy a small phone!

JAva support: 4/10
One thing I don't like about this phone is that if you install a java program, like say Gmail, it does not give gmail access to the internet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Neat little Phone

 

Aug 8, 2007 by rhstenor

The Samsung t219 is a great phone, if youre looking for a phone and nothing else.
It is confusing with the features listed on the Samsung website, but this phone DOES NOT have bluetooth.

Pros:
Awesome design. I may keep it just because of the design.
OK call quality, i've heard worse.
The flip open and shut sounds.
The wallpapers all match the colors of the phone!
Speakerphone
External Display
Lightweight and good build quality.
Good Price

Cons:
No Camera,
bluetooth,
or even a music player!?
OK call quality.
Menu could have been better, and you can't take t-zones off of the mainscreen!

But, other than that, this phone kicks butt!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Absolutely wonderful

 

Apr 5, 2007 by pmmclaughlin1

Bought this phone from T-Mobile in San Jose Ca.yesterday (3/4/07) as a prepaid phone.I got it in Candy Apple Red and silver.it was a replacement for my nokia 6030 that I broke. So far, it is one of the best phones I have owned.

Pros:
great reception
great battery life
small size for my pocket.
nice display
good price.($59.99)

Cons:
easy to see finger prints
outside display backlight turns off to fast
charger and headset port are on side of phone
charger and headset port are one and the same.(not seperate ports)

But, for the price its a great buy from t-mobile.

F.Y.I. My understanding is that it is an upgrade to the t-209

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


its ok not great..

 

Feb 21, 2008 by danbright

well i got this phone for free with a flex plan from t mobile. Its a nice phone here's pro's con's..
pro's small compact size

con's
no camera
no mp3
no mp3 quality ringers
not loud when ringing

overall i didnt like this phone that much it was the need of a phone rather than likes of it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Cute Phone!

 

Jul 19, 2007 by Astonish

I just received the Samsung T219 in red this week. I love the color red, and it looks good on this phone. This is a basic phone, so I didn't expect a whole lot from it. I had to take some points away because of the internal screen contrast. The screen is TFT, but the colors look a bit washed out.

PROS:
Very small & Attractive
Has Speaker Phone
Good at making and Receiving calls

CONS:
Screen look a bit washed out
Can't change the skin or color scheme
Can't customize the menu

All in all... this is a nice basic phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone!

 

Feb 1, 2009 by sylvia123

I got this phone 2 years ago, and I was satisfied with my purchase! During a call, the quality is pretty good, but honestly, what cell phone has great quality? None that I've ever used. One thing about this phone that AMAZES me is that it is like, unbreakable... even if dropped in water. I once dropped it in the water, and thought that it would be the end of that phone.. but still had hope. I quickly got it out, took out the battery, and let it dry. As soon as it was dry I found out that it worked fine, but the volume was quiet. I was still using it until I found another good phone, and I was using the speaker phone, and found out it was back to normal!

PRO'S-
*Speaker Phone
*Flip Sounds
*Customizable
*Good Quality
*Can see the clock still when closed
*Can set dif. ring tones for dif. people
*Can record then use as ring tone

CON'S-
*Not bluetooth accessible
*No Camera
*Easy Scratch

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Most reliable phone I have EVER had.

 

May 5, 2008 by alanforsberg

Great Phone, basic, and reliable.
VERY SMALL!

Pros: Small
Light
Simple
Bright
RED KEYPAD
Loud Ring (in the newer versions)
Fast No lag.
Very Very cheap

Cons:
Nothing extra
No mp3

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i like it more than my blackberry pearl

 

Feb 19, 2008 by GrandHustle413

i picked up this phone about 3 months ago when i broke my motorola rizr z3 as a quick replacement. i only used it for about it week and immediately fell in love with it. i bought a blackberry pearl right after it and was actually missing my $10 samsung phone. after my girlfriend poured a bottle of soda over my blackberry, i went straight back to this phone. its so simple to use and i have had no problems with it unlike my $200+ phones.

PROS
-small
-good call quality (better than my blackberry)
-simple
-stable software (my bb froze on me all the time)
-rings and vibrates at the same time(bb didnt do that either)
-it flips (personal preference)
-color (i kinda like the red)

CONS
-ringers are too low (even lower than my bb)
-screen looks washed out
-no bluetooth (sucks not being able to use my headset)
-no camera (that doesnt really matter to me)
-no mp3 player (that is a must have)

besides those cons, this is a great phone for less than 50 bucks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good basic phone for basic phone users

 

Nov 23, 2007 by scooby214

We have two of these phones, one for my mother, and one as my backup phone. This phone is good for users like my mom that need basic phones that simply work well. Both of our phones are the newer t219s, which include the T-Mobile network address book backup feature, which works automatically (good for my mom, as I can login to my.t-mobile.com and add contacts to her address book for her). The updated t219s also seems to have better call quality and volume, plus it can ring and vibrate at the same time. The Myfaves software is also updated, allowing it to be minimized so you can see your wallpaper, while being able to press the OK key to bring up the Myfaves ring. The phone is quite responsive, better than the Nokia 6030 or 2610 when answering calls. The CSTN screen does look washed out at default settings, but can be improved significantly by adjusting the contrast and brightness. One good thing about the CSTN screen is that it saves battery life (this phone has great battery life).

One thing I would change about the phone is the location of the microphone. It is on the bottom of the phone, like a Nokia candybar phone, instead of on the front under the keypad. It still sounds fine if the base of the phone is close to your face, though some other Samsungs have slightly better sound quality from the mic because the mic faces the mouth. Words with the "s" sound are a bit more natural sounding with other T-Mo Samsungs such as the Beat, the t629, and the t409. It's really only noticeable if you do a side-by-side comparison by having someone call you using the t219, then calling using one of the other phones. The sound quality is much better than the Blast, which also has the mic on the bottom of the phone (though you can't get it close enough to your mouth due to the phone's design).

Overall, this is a good basic phone for those who want or need a nice looking phone with no camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1