Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1091

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-M510

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  42  

Average Ratings

3.79
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

nice adaptable mobile

 

Feb 28, 2008 by gopher66ca

Overall a nice pc compatible phone.

Very legible screen, large key flat number pad, good sound and capable of handling a 2gb memory card.

Video capture is acceptable, the phone feature is very good and capable of producing not bad pics if you are willing to play with brightness settings, a must since the phone whites out if shooting into light sources.

Audio quality of mp3's loaded onto memory card is good to very good. I edit mine to a minimal 128 Khz sample rate just for compactness sake. Good enough if I am out.

I have put movies and video concerts on the phone via memory card also, quality is great. Editing of format is required. On a 2 gb card, with format change file sizes are smaller than original, expect 15 or perhaps 18 full length movies. I edit mine to movie segments since you can only begin a file at the beginning, no fast forward function on the media player. You can skip to the next file however. If you don't you will see the beginning of a lot of stuff, but never the end for longer files. As I said, video quality is excellent, and with the headphones (proprietary plug...bummer) the audio is excellent. Speaker is good enough but prone to distortion during movie playback unless sound is turned down.

Contrary to commentary above, you can use mp3's as your ringtone. The downloaded from Virgin tone was too low volume. I grabbed a mp3, formatted it to size and assigned it without difficulty. The volume I bumped up on a sound editor before install, works great. (Mission Impossible).

Telephone reception (Atlantic Canada) is very good. Clear and usually static free. Some problem with signal area in places like the hospital where I work , but most coiled antennae phones have similar issue. My old works anywhere Audiovox is a rarity in these reception areas.

If there is a downside, it is the size and grip of the phone if you have large hands. It is small, and slick. Also, a proprietary plug on the headphones limiting replacements.
Nice

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Feb 25, 2008 by kickenit_cowgirl

I love this phone!!!

Pros: Takes Great Pictures and has fun camera tools, pictures are very clear, camcorder provides multiple options for recording, great sound as far as ringers, durable, sleek look (Mine is Pink) , Love the speaker phone...very clear no static! Buttons are large as well as display screen. Can make font very large, can use a pictures on the external display screen, blue tooth works great, good battery life, and does not take long to obtain a full charge. Gets great reception, have never had a dropped call...would recommend it to anyone!

Cons: cant use MP3's as ring tones and there is not alot of backgrounds to choose from...but that is minor compared to everything else to phone has to offer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


samsung m510

 

Jul 9, 2007 by pagpc

i really like this phone. works well through my car (07 audi), my laptop, and my headset. does all the things i want and need.

con: key guard does not turn display off. that has to be fixed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bluetooth

 

Jul 18, 2007 by prichusa

I love this phone! I have had many phones and the voice caller id is great.

If you have blue-tooth headset that is light, it is not a problem for the phone not to ring while the headset is on. It is easy to turn off a headset if you want the phone to ring on its own as well.

For a clamshell phone this phone is very reliable piece of equipment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


subtle

 

Jul 5, 2007 by melsworth

For a lower end fon I am very surprised @ the clear screen and fast evdo. I was able to check e-mail instantly in a very rural area of Missouri.Watch Comedy central,download whole songs ,save to memorycard that came with the phone along with usb cable.I have never received so much for so little.Switches from analog and digital roam without dopping calls.Fon is light and just about perfect size.Camera and Video are very cear with some cool effects.Stereo Blutoothe is awsome . I would recommend this fon to anybody that does not want to carry a brick

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Nov 9, 2008 by altoidsman

This phone has everything I want, and nothing I can't stand. I especially like that it has an actual BUTTON for the speaker, as opposed to having to click through a menu. That right there says enough.

Yes the keyboard is a bit awkward at first, but you get used to it, it is no big deal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great little phne

 

Nov 6, 2008 by vicsic

This is an awesome phone! I have had for one month now it is great! great sound quality when talking, nice mp3 player (for what it is) nice camera (takes amazing pics) and nice vid recorder. I would say this is a medium phone has all of the basic features everyone wants.

Pros,
great camera/video recorder
easy dialing keys nice and big!
great texting experience.
easy to navigate around
doesn't feel cheap(you know what I mean)

cons
It has some bad reception some time(but it probaly has to do with the company)
baterry life is average

conclusion
overall this is a great little phone! of coarse this is stuff better but this will totally work!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


backup info

 

Apr 3, 2008 by jdragon63

make sure you back up your phone directory and important info ... *** a Must, i recommend highly *** i have had this phone three months and it has gone crazy four time it begins to cycle on and off ... requiring you to go in and have your provider to reconfigure the phone ... this last time ... it could not be restored ... and had to be replaced causing me to be without a phone for 4 days ... now the phone is getting hot while charging ... so i will have to take it in again less than a week later

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


you can put mp3's on the m510 as ringtones

 

Mar 21, 2008 by 1sicktsi

Thats right the m510 can have any song you want as a mp3 for free!! Its real easy and simple. This phone is bad a@#

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it's okayyy...

 

Jan 26, 2008 by macburnie

well, i had this phone for a few days then i returned it. the memory card wouldn't stay in and it felt very awkward to hold! there is only 2 outer displays to choose from unless you make it a pic that you got off the memory card or camera.

pros:
good cam.vid.
small size
good speaker for music

cons:
awkward to hold
memory card doesn't stay in
keys are flat
cant make mp3 a ringtone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2