Phone Scoop

printed December 10, 2016
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1018

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U520

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  71  

Average Ratings

4.35
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

Sweet Little Gadget

 

Dec 30, 2008 by omni1138

This is a very good phone, and its the best one I've ever had.

Pros:
- Great reception (Metro PCS/Broward County, FL area)
- Easy navigation, and overall very easy to use.
- Has all of the features you will need, including internet, and a camera that takes pictures and video.
- Perfect size and shape; looks terrific.

Cons:
- Camera could be better. It takes good pics, but they do come out a little blurry.
- You need to purchase ringtones through your carrier's applications, and can't use your own.
- As others have said, fingerprints show up extremely well on the outer display.
- Palette choices for the interface are very limited (green/white, orange/white, orange/black).

That's about it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this phone!!

 

Nov 3, 2007 by stevebbb

I have used cell phones since 1994 and of course over the years they have gotten better and better, but this is the best. I purchased 3 phones through US Cellular, 2 razor v3m's for my wife and daughter and the samsung for me. We all had the option of using them for 30 days and if not happy exchanging them for anything else. I wouldn't exchange mine for anything else. I love the size, the reception, and all the features. It's super easy to use and fits nicely in my pocket. The camera works very well and is easy to use and has an excellent flash. The battery life is great. I highly recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Awesome phone

 

Oct 2, 2007 by MikeManning

I love this phone! Lotsa great features... nice quality, very comfortable, great keypad, etc....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DAMN GOOD PHONE

 

Jul 27, 2007 by yoboy8

This phone is great...everything is awsome, thats all i have to say positive about it.....but trying to use sombody elses memorycard is not goona happen...u have to use ur own.....but other than that ITS AWSOME!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The phone that made me like cellphones

 

Jun 7, 2007 by LaserBeams

This phone is nothing short of excellent (but it has its tiny flaws). If this phone were destroyed or lost, I would not hesitate to replace it with the same model.

It is superb as a phone, and has plenty of extras for the gadget lover. If you want a phone you can slip into your pocket without a case and not have it get in the way, this is it. IMHO, this is the BEST alternative to (and better than) a RAZR.

Pros:
- Perfect shape and size. No sharp corners, lumps, or antennas, and easy to hold, even between shoulder and ear (due to the angle it opens to - 150°), unlike the RAZR which opens almost flat.
- Bright, crisp, and large screens
- Great battery life
- Loud and quality stereo speakers
- Great voice quality and reception
- Well spaced keypad
- Light and strong, nice hinge with good rubber stops
- Body doesn't pick up fingerprints
- External microSD
- Charger/data cable locks in place
- Dedicated 2.5mm stereo headset jack, camera, speakerphone, MP3 player buttons
- Camera and MP3 player can be started with phone closed
- Easy to use and customizable interface
- GPS navigation, XM radio, Celltop
- Good voice dialing
- Easy silent mode
- Nice tools
- Slick MP3 player
- Very nice 1.3 MP camera with LED flash
- Camcorder, sound recorder

For the most part, these negatives are very small, and not big enough to dock any points off. If you are a heavy texter you may want to look elsewhere because it doesn't learn new words, but it has a very capable dictionary. If you must have MP3 ringtones, this phone can do it, but only with a data cable and the Bitpim software.

Cons:
- Port covers appear slightly fragile, but are attached with flexible rubber rods
- Highest volume makes the speakers buzz a tiny bit
- Ringer could be a little louder
- Keypad is rather flat but usable
- Screen picks up fingerprints
- T9 doesn't learn
- Vibrate only works at loudest ring or when ringer off
- No OBEX support
- No official support for MP3 ringtones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone With Premium Features

 

Jan 15, 2007 by CantRememberThemAll

The u520 is a solid performer and sports many premium but unobtrusive features, while remaining quite light, small and thin. Even those who don't use the extra features will like this easy-to-use phone. An Alltel exclusive, this phone really stands out in the market today. It's a remarkable value at only $50 after rebate.

Pros:

+Foremost, a solid, basic phone.
>Great reception.
>Clear sound, plenty of volume.
>Callees happy with sound quality.
>Main screen is color, clear and readable; works well with Axcess services.
>Outside screen is also color and readable.

+Great ergonomics.
>Very light, and *very* comfortable to carry.
>Also comfortable to use.

+Packed with features despite attractive size.
>Bluetooth 2.0 with A2DP -- you can use a Bluetooth stereo headset.

+MicroSD slot is easy to access, on the phone's outside.

+Alltel's only TeleNav GPS phone (though the BlackBerry 8703e works, too).
>TeleNav works as advertised, without adding a GPS receiver.

+1.3MP camera with flash.

+Good external front MP3 controls.

+Speaker-independent voice control.

+Clear speaker phone, easily turned on and off.

+2.5mm headset jack, with stereo.

Cons:

-Ringtones can't be added by microSD card.

-Some texters complain that the phone doesn’t “learn.”

-Bluetooth profiles limited.
>No OBEX for file transfer.

-No software available yet, such as for managing contacts.

-Few accessories available specific to this phone.
>Some SCH-A645 accessories (like chargers) work.

-Limited reliable information available. (Glad it's now on PS!)

-[So far for me,] doesn’t recognize more than 1GB of 2GB microSD card.

-TeleNav unavailable while roaming.

I can think of other features I’d like -- OBEX, a better camera, and now roaming TeleNav. But I couldn't find any phone available I'd rather carry, though I live in a major city with all leading carriers and have used all of them over the years.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


RAZR Killer!

 

May 19, 2008 by mickeighty

This is the best phone I've EVER owned. I got rid of the first one I had to get the newest Metro Pcs phone (the Motorokr z6m)and immediately went out and re purchased the U520 a week later! It's a phone that I feel is Metro Pcs' best since they debuted it in Oct. 07.

Pros:
External antenna, thin lightweight and cool looking
Bright, crisp, and large screens
Great battery life
Loud and quality stereo speakers
Great voice quality and reception
External microSD
Charger/data cable locks in place
2.5mm stereo headset jack, camera, speakerphone, MP3 player buttons
Camera and MP3 player can be started with phone closed
GPS navigation
Good voice dialing
Easy silent mode
MP3 player
Excellent 1.3 MP camera with LED flash
Camcorder, sound recorder
Mp3 Ringtones
LOUD custom ringtones

Cons:

Ringtones can't be added by microSD card.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Impressive

 

Mar 22, 2007 by tekdiver500ft

Wow, I traded a MotoRAZOR v3m for this phone, and it was the best phone decision I ever made. In almost every respect, this phone is head and shoulders above everything else I've had.

Pros:
smaller than RAZOR
outstanding reception, 3 bars more than RAZOR with Alltel
really nice screens, easily legible
comfortable
feature packed
Bluetooth and wired headset capable
strong Bluetooth radio, reaches more than 40 feet reliably
amazing camera! best I've ever seen in a phone.
surprising battery life: over twenty hours connected to bluetooth headset, plus two hours talk time, and over 150 text messages over the course of 72 hours on a single charge

Cons:

poor documentation, owners manual doesn't cover everything
no menu personalization options
speakerphone and ringers could be louder
brown cover is ugly to my eye

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Seems to be a great phone

 

Jan 31, 2007 by toots333

I exchanged the Razor v3m for this and it was probably one of the best decisions I've made in a long time. I really like this phone. It's sleek, sophisticated, and the best part is... it actually works well! I love how the menu is set up, it has a FANTASTIC camera, the call quality is great, and it seems to get really good reception. There are only 2 things that could be better.
1. The speaker phone could be a bit louder.
2. There is a slight delay in typing when replying to a text message.

All in all I give this phone a 4 out of 5. I'm very happy with it. It's definitely a keeper!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Best

 

Jan 29, 2007 by ncswolfpack

I got this phone a couple weeks ago, and i love it. it does have limited info on the internet because it is new, but thats ok. im not a techno weenie so i cant talk about gigs and stuff like that, but it is a great phone , with great features and sound. So, i cant write this in general because you could have a fluke in your phone like any phone (been there), but this is a great phone and i highly recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2016 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1