Phone Scoop

printed July 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1007&s=h&p=7

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola KRZR K1

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1...456 7 

GREAT phone

 

May 8, 2007 by caseybea

I have now had my KRZR K1 for 3 weeks now, and I love it. To start, I have not had a single dropped call, and battery life seems to be on par with my expectations- I can go days between chargings which is great.

Call quality is good. The phone's form factor to me is much better than the RAZR, and fits in my hand quite comfortably. The keypad is responsive, and doesn't have the "cheap" feel like the razrs do. Menu navigation includes a lot more stuff than the V360 had.

My absolute favorite feature BY FAR is that this phone has a built-in speech recognition engine. Open the phone, push the righthand smart button, and the phone responds with "say a command". You can then do stuff like "Call Charlie Jones, work" or "Call Fred Johnson, mobile". If there's entries that are similar in your phonebook, the phone reads back the entry and confirms (again, via VOICE) if that is the correct one. You can even dial any number on the fly- i.e., "Call 1-800-555-1212".

The niftiest thing? The above does NOT require "tagging" each phonebook entry. This phone voice-dials anything out of the box. So, for someone like me who has to make some calls in the car-- that's an absolutely GREAT feature, and it works REALLY well. For the "numeric" dialing, you can optionally go through a brief once-only training process to make number reconigiton more accurate.

OK, the phone has all the other goodies-- a fairly decent (2MP) camera, a video camera (you can adjust recording quality and max time!). And like the V360 and others, comes with a java-based MP3 player. Not the best, but useable. If you want an MP3 player, then-- go buy one.. Phone is VERY easy to hook up and use any MP3 file you have for ringtones, etc.

Plus:
Solid and great looking
Tons of menu options
Call quality
Fully customizeable (pktools...)
Good feature set
Bluetooth
MicroSD card slot

Cons:
Dumb, but functional MP3 player
Fingerprints (um, SO? easy to wipe off)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone so far

 

Feb 1, 2007 by tfrog2929

i like this phone i put a maco sd card in it ..it gives me so much more room and time on it ..
PROS good speaker
loud rings
good signal
sound quality is great

CONS no flash light
over so far great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Very nice phone but has a bug.

 

May 22, 2007 by cq1

Call quality is great, form factor is excellent and it's a good looking unit, BUT it has a bug with the bluetooth and voice recognition.
I agree with the other review regarding the problem when the phone goes to sleep. When you first connect to a bluetooth headset or car kit, the voice commands work fine. But once the phone goes to power save or "sleep", the bluetooth will not wake up the phone to activate the voice commands.
You either have to open the flip or press an outside button to wake up the phone, and then the bluetooth will activate voice commands
again. Don't know if it's Motorola or Cingular (AT&T) software. I tried a KRZR at a Cingular store and it did the same thing. It also had the same phone software. I showed it to a sales rep and she said they had never seen this before.
I also have a RAZR v3i and it goes to sleep but it doesn't have this problem. I also tried a Verizon KRZR and it worked fine. So, is it Motorola or AT&T software ? We'll never know because they will both probably say it's not their software.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I waited about a year......

 

Apr 11, 2007 by Mr. T-Mobile

So I found out about this phone about a year or so ago when Moto had the press release about this one and the RIZR. I knew it would take a while to get to the states, and now it's here (a U.S. VERSION of the phone anyway ). I know phones fairly well and I have to say that this phone pretty much lives up to the Hype.

Pro's:
1. Great resolution on the pics & wallpapers
2. Excellent sound on the headset as well as the music played.
3. Feels good all around, in your hand.
4. All the features so far, seem to be working.
5.The UI is great, but takes getting used to even though I only use Moto.

I only have 2 cons.
And that is.... the front display screen needs to be a lot brighter, and the UI process speed from menu to menu needs to be quicker thats it.

I have T-Mobile and they do pretty well supporting this phone.
UPGRADE PRICE $150 W/EXTENSION, T-MO HAS HAD THIS PHONE LESS THAN A WEEK, NOT A BAD PRICE I THINK. PEOPLE NEED TO STOP RELYING ON THERE PHONE TO HANDLE THEIR LIFE, AND JUST GET A GOOD PHONE WITH SOME COOL EXTRAS THAT WAY THEY DON'T GET DISAPPOINTED WHEN THE NEXT DEVICES THAT COME OUT, DON'T DO EVERYTHING IN THEIR LIFE FOR THEM. IT'S A PHONE PEOPLE REMEMBER THAT.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone not a strong signal though

 

Oct 8, 2006 by vinman

Good phone..Clarity is great....Signal stregnth is another thing...Phone loses signal in my house where my other 3 verizon phones had no problems...So RF is a problem....

UI is a bit sluggish and VZ navigation has some bugs...

Like I said it is a nice loud and clear phone,,,No complaints there...

Signal from what I have read might be a software upgrade in the future...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty good

 

Oct 18, 2006 by highlandsun

I agree with bluemonkey on all points. The phone works well but the UI definitely lags.
It has nearly everything that I want in a phone, just needs to be a bit faster/snappier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


decent GSM world phone

 

May 13, 2007 by penn65000

Switched from RAZR V3xx. A good looking phone, excellent form factor (more comfortable than RAZR form factor).

Pros: Doesn't drop calls often, decent camera, very good battery life.

Cons: Processor too slow, Motorola software is still unintuitive, glass face cracks (try GOOGLING 'broken glass and krzr' and you'll see the issue. Your glass will break if you drop your phone. Not sure why they didn't use plastic.

Overall, decent for calls and bluetooth works well, but could use faster processor and better software (as could all Motorola phones).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


mixed feeling

 

May 10, 2007 by underthehood

I REALLY wanted to like and keep this phone. Love the form factor, features, call quality but many bugs in this product and neither AT&T or Motorola will "own up".
If you make use of a BT headset and try to use voice command it will not work. Once display goes dark phone will not "wake up". Motorola knows the bug exists will not do anything. They say it's due to AT&T software, AT&T says otherwise.
Phone Tools will not work with the product either. Again a bug the big M knows about but pawns off on Microsoft and AT&T
So in the end I traded it for the V3xx. Much better product but I am not fond of the ergonomics of it. But, at least it works.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OVERRATED

 

Apr 26, 2007 by bh92271

the krzr is a very cool looking phone but is highly over priced and rated.

pros:
sleek,stylish, overall good signal

cons:
very expensive
very slow(download speeds)
couldnt download some applications

i've been a motorola fan for 5 years or better but razr,krzr line has pushed me to other brands, wasnt overly impressed with the razr and the krzr is a bigger dissapointment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1...456 7 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2