Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-8400

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

4.41
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
 
Page 123 4 

Phone is Great! Only one bad thing!!

 

Oct 22, 2006 by TomnLosAngeles

I owned the Sanyo MM-9000 phone for a year. It was a very bulky phone, but the screen was amazing, and the SOUND on the phone was very clear.

I decided to trade in my phone and get a smaller, and trendier Sanyo 8400.

I love the phone, all the features work the same as the 9000. Excellent phone reception, bluetooth is fine, the screen looks great, and i love that it has an mini SD slot.

My only con with the phone is the sound. I don't know why Sanyo skimped on the sound this time around, but the speakerphone does not get that loud with ringers, and the sound quality is average at best.

But if clear sound is not important to you, never fear.. this phone rocks! It's still a great phone!


8400

 

Nov 18, 2006 by yacoub

Honestly this phone would get 5 stars if it wasn't neutered to prevent the user from selecting mp3s on the microSD card to use a ringtones. That's such a ridiculously gigantic screw-up on the part of Sanyo/Sprint to purposely disable that feature from the user.

Once someone releases software to fix that, and once they upgrade the camera firmware to fix the issue where sunny outdoor pictures come out black and green, it will be a 5-star phone.

It would also be nice to see batteries available for purchase at launch/release, instead of who knows how many weeks before we can buy extra batteries.

AD       reviews continues below...


bought 2 of them

 

Nov 1, 2006 by shrecewa

I purchased 2 of these seeming beauties! The phone is great, but, the blue-tooth seems a little lacking. I've tried the Motorola H700, H500 with it. Both had static, although H500 had less. I've been using a Sony-Ericsson HBH-608. It has worked the best of all. It still has minor static if I place the phone on the opposite side of my body from the ear piece and my shirt tail is hanging over the phone. These are the only three blue-tooth pieces I've ever owned...so this is my experience.


Really Like This Phone

 

Dec 17, 2006 by mcl

I had the Sanyo 7300 for 2.5 years and decided to finally upgrade. I really like the phone. I've had fun playing with its features. I got it 30 Nov so I still have their "free" $25 package.
I have three criticisms but only 2 are with the phone.
OK, the one against Sprints TV package. It doesn’t include enough “complimentary” channels. Everything is extra cost. I would want a full CNN & Weather Channel feed included. Yes, I know they have Fox. I have no desire to watch the American Nazi Network. Also, I’m a Baseball Fan (Yankees!!!). I could care less about Football.
I will likely keep their $15 package but not the extra cost $25.

OK, the phone”
1. Others have said it. I should be able to use mp3’s on the microSD card for ringers. Although I have been able to use http://rumkin.com/tools/sprint/ and http://t1mmy.net/phone/phone.html to get around the ”having to buy from them ringtone problem” but you would really want a data package before using them. Hopefully a future firmware upgrade will correct this. Oh, BTW, I’m very successfully using a Sandisk 2gb microSD card in the phone.
2. The phone crashes. Like a windows crash. Others here have reported it and I have complained to Sprint.
The phone lost a 1/2 point for each of these two problems. So I'm giving it a 4 out of 5.


I love my 8400

 

Dec 15, 2006 by whitvb14

I upgraded from the previous model the mm-8300 and I am thoroughly impressed with this phone. I was weary at first because I have heard that phones with MP3 players have low battery life, but this phone is different. I can use it for two days without it dieing, and that is using the phone to make calls, listen to music and use the internet. The picture quality is really great and the feature to change from indoor to outdoor works really well also. It is a little thicker than the 8300 but not by much. I also like how the faceplate attaches on the front of the phone and you don't have to remove any pieces. The texting works great. Overall it is a great phone and I have not encountered any problems.


Nickle and Dime Sprint Does it again

 

Oct 21, 2006 by Relevart

In short:

Pros:
very feature rich device. Add keyboard and it could pass for PDA.

Cons:
There are no modifiable or preset profiles like 'silent' 'outdoors' 'user configurable'

Can't transfer ring tones from older phone nor computer. HAVE TO BUY THEM FROM SPRINT! and for $2.50+plus tax you get it for 90 days!

I may be wrong here, but my old trusty SE T608 had that feature, May be it is new wave in mobile communications, that I missed. But sure thing seems like excessive.


Sanyo does it again

 

Oct 5, 2006 by k24a8400

Sanyo has done it again. Consistently the best cell phones available in the US!

Pros: Go to the Sanyo or Sprint web site and read the feature list.... need I say more?

Cons: Battery door as opposed to one piece...may lead to contact issues. (None yet)


BeSt PhOnE I'vE EvEr HaD....

 

Aug 16, 2007 by DoMiNiCaNDaNaLvi

This is a great phone. It's the Best one I've had yet. I love Sprint's Service too.


Great, some lacking

 

Jan 27, 2007 by cadmdwv

I love everything about this phone except for three things.
1. Speakerphone quality is not as good as other phones I've had in the past.
2. You can not use any music downloaded as a ringtone.
3. Crashes, Freezes, Crashes, Freezes. Several times a day now. Having yet another new one sent on Monday.


A+

 

Oct 3, 2006 by tooterbugg

A+

 
Page 123 4 

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2020 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.