Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-8400

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

4.41
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

Impressive Overall

 

Jul 9, 2007 by rob_in_IT1978

The Sanyo SCP-8400 is a solid device, touting a 1.3MP camera among its many other features. However, the phone is plagued by a poor quality camera and rather short battery life. Talking on this phone was a pleasure, though.

The Good:

The SCP-8400 from Sanyo has a very comprehensive feature set. Voice quality is tremendous and definitely better than most phones I've used. I like the nice, bright screen that is basically glare resistant. This phone also uses its reception resources very well.

The Bad:

This phone is plagued by unusually short battery life. I tested this by fully charging the battery, then making numerous calls on it all day long. The battery died after just 2 hours and 10 minutes of talking nearly continuously. The camera is another fault of this phone. The 1.3MP camera is very poor quality compared to many cameras out there that are mounted on cell phones. The menu navigation can be tricky because of the number of items present on the menus.

Overall: This phone is a perfect choice for most users looking to go with Sprint for service. It works for me and I particularly like it. Therefore, it gets a solid B+ out of me.


Pleasantly Surprised

 

Mar 29, 2007 by qtgirl_78

Let me preface this by saying that I have owned quite a few phones that include the Fusic, Samsung A920, A900, M1 and now this phone...Have to admit, out of all the phones i just listed, this is by far the best I've owned. It is very solid feeling, gets better reception than any of the others and is the loudest, by far. in fact, the only negative is that i can't change what the navigation keys do. they come with functions and you can't change it. but that's it. not bad, if you ask me. not bad.

AD       reviews continues below...


What is good and what is missing

 

Dec 18, 2006 by greatplainsguy

My old Sanyo needed replacing. This one seemed perfect for me. I love music and need to stay connected. I had been holding off for a long time because no phone had the right combination of features.

Pros:
Excellent reception (about 6 miles beyond Sprint's rated service edge)
Micro SD (I spent $25 for 512MB Transflash)
Vibrate mode
Speaker Phone
Color Screen
MP3 Player
Blue Tooth
Great Contact List
Calendar
Wireless Web
Wireless gateway
1.3MB camera
lots more

Cons:
MP3 Player turns off phone mode.
Blue Tooth for mono only
Calendar is several clicks from main screen.
Audio jack is unusual - replacing the headphones is not an off the shelf proposition.


Finally Something Decent

 

Oct 4, 2006 by ABQNM

This will be my first Sanyo phone, but that does not mean I am a stranger to them. I have worked in the wireless industry for years, and this is by far the best non-pda phone Sprint has released to date. Everything simply works. Thats it. Has all the features you would need, and some redundant features (not necessarily bad), and has extras you may not.

Pros:
Too many to list.
The screen is beautiful. Pack QVGA into that size and it is crystal clear.
Charger is the Sprint universal.
Speaker is clear and loud.
Interface is the best Sanyo has released yet.

Cons:
None really.

Just one quirk, when the phone is in vibrate mode, the alarm will still sound at the volume for the alarm. You have to adjust the alarm volume to vibrate as well if you want everything to vibrate. But this can be a good thing too, if you forget to take the phone off vibrate and you rely on the alarm to wake up.

Overall this phone is amazing.


This is an excellent phone!

 

Nov 12, 2006 by pir8skin

PROS:

1.3 Megapixel Camera w/ Flash.

MicroSD Slot (64mb microsd card included).

Included USB Data Cable (download pictures from your phone).

MP3 Player.

Menu is very user friendly and customizable.

Bluetooth

CONS:

The "START" and "END" call buttons are just a wee bit too low for my liking

Can't use MP3's as ringtones

Despite the cons this phone is absolutely amazing. I would have given it a 5 if it allowed me to use mp3's as ringtones.


Great Phone!

 

Oct 8, 2006 by x3d33x

I registered just so I could leave a review for this phone!

It is by far the best phone I have owned.

Pros:
- Large Internal memory!
- Scan disk expansion slot (comes with 64meg card)
- Very quick UI
- Good sound, both speakers.
- Media Player works good, sound quality is good
- I love the blue color of the phone haha, I bought a case that matches, plus my favorite college team theme(michigan) goes great with the phone.
- Impressed with speed of power vision

Cons:
- Wish it was possible to play ring tones from the memory card
- A flashlight feature would have been easy to add (instead of having to have camera mode on)

Overall I love this phone!


I LOVE IT!

 

Oct 6, 2006 by SPRINT31907

Ok so I purchased the phone yesterday afternoon and I CANNOT STOP PLAYING WITH IT! I love the themese option on it, it is EXTREMELY customizable!

PROS!

~EXCELLENT camera, with GREAT options!
~3 colors *i got the blue*
~Great color display!
~POWER VISTION
~MP3 player!
~Mini SD slot!
~GOod internal memory
~Good battery, upheld the 8000 series.
~Easy to use features ANYONE can use it
~GREAT RECEPTION better then my 7400
~Speaker is OUTSTANDING upheld by Sanyo
~Flash is actually better on this phone then on my 7400
~The display options are ALL CUSTOMIZABLE ( I have a video I recorded as my screen saver)

CONS

~SD slot is a lil tricky to mess with.
~Because it has a glossy finish on the phone easily leaves fingerprints...im picky :P BUT it comes off with a wipe of the finger (ironic) or a cloth.
~A straight to text button would be nice

Obviously the PROS outweigh the CONS by far. I have had the Sanyo 7300, 7400, 8200, 8300, 2300, and Katana and this phone outperforms all of them by far! Best Sanyo phone made to date. If you take into account Sanyo quality, it is probably the best performing phone on the market.


THE BEST PHONE THAT SPRINT HAS TO OFFER!!! OR ANYONE FOR THAT MATTER!

 

Oct 11, 2006 by Natiboy80

This phone is flawless, from its mp3 capability to its, high speed evdo internet. Great talk time, 1.3 megapixel camera, great speaker phone, light weight, and so much more. 8400 has alot more to offer than its older brother the 8300. It has a favorites menu right on the front lcd which makes it very easy to keep track of your favorite music, picture or even a certain web address. Built in bluetooth, and the best part about this phone is the mini sd card with the capability of transferring information such as your songs from your PC straight to the phone, pictures to your PC, or even videos!! You will not be disappointed with the newest Sanyo! They just keep putting out hits!


GREAT PHONE!!!

 

Oct 9, 2006 by laptopguy

I have just had the phone for a few days and the phone is great. The phone just has a great feel and call quality is great. Speaker Phone is loud. I'm one of the few that use the Ready Link with some of my employees. Was not crazy about getting a blue phone but it does come with a black face plate. Apparently the Black phone and white are not out yet. The camera is above average and even has a macro mode. I really don't think you can't go wrong with this phone. I'm sure there are cons but overall all I'm happy. Mind you call quality is most important and for me it has that. The main screen is super sharp.

Todd

www.LaptopGuy.com


Best Phone I Ever Had

 

Oct 15, 2006 by Sprint_Rep19

This is the best phone that we have to offer right now, i actually work for Sprint so I know about the phone. This phone is truly in high demand i don't think Sanyo can make them as fast as they are going. We got 30 in our shipment Wednesday, and now we have one left.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2020 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.