Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8300

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

4.19
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...8910 11 121314...20

IF YOUR 8300 POWER CYCLES OR GETS BUGGY READ THIS

 

Sep 10, 2007 by psycho dramatic7

Version 04 released in AUG 07' to address bugs in the firmware and I do believe this corrects the power cycling issue as well as the mismatched PRL update which can screw with your signal and calling.

PROS:
- Camera is pretty good (Flash included)
- DUAL Speaker-phone is fair could be less distorted
- EXTERNAL ANTENNA!!!!!
- convert whole movies to 3g2 format and watch them on a memory card on your phone in wide-screen mode.
- download sounds from yahoo email and use them as ringtones. lets just hope verizon doesnt disable that next and tighten the leash more on an already asphyxiated dog.
- 3/5 on sexy design
- It can take some abuse
- VZ Navigator works good
- EVDO & 1xRTT
- FULL-DUPLEX speaker phone (speaker phone worth using. not to mention it can be activated while you're NOT on a call too.)
- Call quality on your end is good.
- Sounds to the person on the other end of the line like you're talking on your house phone from next door.

CONS:
- NO FLASH LIGHT AND NO LIGHT FOR CAMCORDER ONLY FOR CAMERA MODE.
- external speakers are distorted when cranked up
- You cant close the phone and continue your call on speaker.
- OLED screen from the vx6000 is not there
- made in Korea, whatever happened to made in usa...oh yea corporate greed that's right.
- the receiver could be made from a better speaker. damn i miss nextel at times. thats Motorola for you i guess.

THE BOTTOM LINE: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A GOOD PHONE FOR A LOW BUDGET. (FOR A VERIZON PHONE) IT IS PACKED WITH ENOUGH FEATURES WITH SOME LACKING LIKE CLOSED PHONE SPEAKER CHAT. WALMART HAS THEM FOR FREE WITH FREE ACTIVATION. VERSUS PAYING OUT THE WAZOO AT A VZW STORE. IF YOU DON'T HAVE VERIZON GET THEM. THEIR PHONES SUCK AND ARE CRIPPLED BUT THERE'S WAYS TO GET AROUND STUFF AND IF YOU DONT CARE ABOUT RINGERS AND DATA, YOU JUST WANT GOOD SERVICE AND GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. GET THEM AND THE LG VX 8300.


Much better than the RAZR

 

Sep 8, 2007 by gerryrules73

I have had several phones w/Verizon (Motorola v360, LG VX4400, LG VX6100, RAZR, to name a few). I think that this is one of the best phones Verizon has and much better than the RAZR. It was highly recommended by one of the technical & sales associates at the Verizon Store that I went to. Here is my view of the phone:

Pros:
* Excellent battery life (I'm still on 3 bars after 3 days of minimal use)
* Signal strength is much better than the RAZR
* Durable (It's an LG)
* Caller ID window which U could see the #.
* Strong Vibrate
* Loud speaker phone
* Much faster connection time for Get it Now applications unlike the RAZR
* Bluetooth installation was easy
* EZ-Tip Calculator comes in handy
* Most of all it's cheap ($50)

Cons:
* Screen not visible in the sunlight
* It takes longer to fully charge the phone.

I highly recommend this phone to anyone. You will not be disappointed

AD       reviews continues below...


lg vx8300

 

Sep 1, 2007 by lezroe

the only two cons i have with this phone are,

1. not being able to veiw txt messeges from the front screen

2. not being able to record my own ringtones


amazing!

 

Aug 30, 2007 by etid123

i have only had this phone for about 3 weeks and i already love it. i honestly cannot ask for a better phone, it has everything i need. here are some pros and cons if you are thinking about buying this phone on verizon:

PROS:
-pretty light
-camera is decent for a 1.3 mega pixel.
-it's an lg, so it kinda has to be good, lol.
-the music player works good.
-i get service nearly everywhere, like in basements and things like that.
-i personally like external antennas better.
-very easy to understand and learn everything on it.
-battery life is great. i can go about 2 and a half days without charging it.
-very cheap..i paid like 50 bucks for it.

CONS:
-key board is a little crowded. whenever im texting i find myself hitting the speaker key alot, and that gets annoying.
-txt inbox only holds 50 so im constantly erasing my inbox.
-scratches somewhat easily, and pretty noticable.
-menu themes could be more interesting but i don't mind the ones it has too much, i can deal.

overall its a terrific phone and i recommend buying it!


Best phone i have ever owned

 

Aug 21, 2007 by Starbelly

This one is far and away the best phone i have had to date. It is loaded with all sorts of goodies and was CHEAP!!!!

PROS:
-You can record a video and set it as your wallpaper and everytime you open the flip you see the video.
-Menu is REALLY user friendly.
-Screen is very clear (not the front so much, but thats just a minor detail!)
-Sound is phenomenal
-Navigation shortcut keys and AWESOME! All of the major things i use are right there.
-Camara takes pretty good pics
-A lot more that many others have listed

CONS-
-The front music player buttons are iffy. They turn on SO easily in your pocket, and yet when you press it to use it you have to hold the play button for like 30 seconds before a song comes on.
-Music player isn't very loud
-The "clear" button is to close to the "speaker" button. I will be texting and hit clear and bam....my speaker is on!

Love this phone. I will have it for a very long time, or at least until i had afford an EnV or a blackberry!


great phone....but,

 

Aug 19, 2007 by pmmclaughlin1

I got this phone about a week and a half ago after wrangling with verizon about my junky RAZR V3M. I have noticed a marketable differance between the two.

I absolutely LOVE this phone with one exception. The software version ending in "V03" was a little slow to respond. So I took it back to the store and found out that there is now updated software ending in "V04" and that seemed to do the difference in the performance of the phone for the better.

P.S. Software upgrades are free directly through any VERIZON OWNED COMPANY STORE.

Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
Great battery life (much better then RAZR)
Signal for both EVDO and VOICE (SEPERATE)
VZ Navigator (which I LOVE)
Much faster wireless web then I'm use to.
Camera w/FLASH
Loud speaker and ring tones.
CONS:
Slightly bulkier and heavier then I'm used to.
Could used a little better battery life. But works ok for the most part.

Other then that it deserves a rating of 5 out of 5.


Best phone I have owned by far

 

Aug 17, 2007 by mmormino

Let me just start out by saying that I have been with every provider in my area and owned phone from most brands. I switched from Nextel a month and a half ago and must say, I love this phone. The firmware is rock solid (not buggy like EVERY Moto I have owned), its built solidly and has an earpiece that you can actually hear.

Pros:
Sound Quality
Coverage (not LG's deal, but even still, it seems to have better RF than friend's other VZW phones)
Rock solid firmware
Built extremely well
Looks good

Cons:
Can't view missed calls from outside screen.
Can't call with flip closed (yes, I've been spoiled by my crappy nextel phones)
Can't change ringer modes with flip closed
Speakerphone button is placed in a really inconvenient spot

Thats really all nitpicking, the phone is incredible and I am sure I made the right choice in making the switch.


Grrrrrrrrrrrreat!!!!

 

Aug 13, 2007 by mikeyb1987

I bought this phone around March 2007 and boy I say it was the best phone I have ever had so far. It has everything any phone guru needs.

Pros:
- Camera/Video (unlimited video up to micro sd card memory limits)
- MP3 Music Player
- Micro SD slot
- Reception and voice quality
- Price ($50 at my time of purchase)
- Durable

Cons:
NONE!!!!!

I have used this phone alot since I bought it. Nothing has gone wrong. I placed all my songs on my micro 1GB SD card and it plays well. Video and taking pictures provides high quality. The 2 external speakers provide a punch full of sound. Also, speakerphone works great!! What more can you ask for a phone that can almost do anything??


This Phone

 

Jul 2, 2007 by sturgis_scooper0969

I've been an LG die hard for about 4 years. I've had the VX4500, VX6100, and now the VX8300. This phone is equally as good as my other phones. The only thing I am disappointed in is that while trying to run the Mobile IM program on the phone, it has a habit of turning itself off and then back on. I don't know if its a software defect or if its just the phone. It's my second one since I received a warranty replacement. I'm considering buying another LG phone, but I'm not sure which one I will get next. I will highly recommend this phone for everything else. It's also very indestructible. As all LG phones are.


Great Features and Great Reception. So Happy.

 

Jun 21, 2007 by Jmersh

Let me start off by saying I have been extremely pleased with LG phones. I have had the Audiovox 9900, the Motorola v710 (nightmare), the Motorola E815, the LG VX8100 and now the 8300. The only other phone that matched the reception of the 8300 was the E815, but the Moto was so glitchy you couldn't rely on it.

I love and use the MP3 player just about every day. The battery life (even when using the speakers) is impressive. I can put it in the ipod pocket of my snowboarding jacket and listen through the speakers for 5 hours and still have enough battery to survive the 2 hour drive home.

The 8300 is durable, reliable, and has plenty of features. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros:
-Great battery life
-Great reception
-Durable
-MP3 controls external
-Changeable menu layouts
-great resolution camera
-ability to save sounds as a ringtone (free ringtones)
-VZ Navigation is great
-Loud
-Strong Vibrate
-Easier to see in sunlight

Cons:
-Voice dial a bit finnicky
-No analog (moot point after feb 2008)
-can't read text from external screen like 8100

Page 1...8910 11 121314...20

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.