Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T609

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.79
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Quite the phone...

 

Dec 22, 2006 by avirji

This phone is really quite amazing. It has many abilities, but there's one disadvantage. That's that it's amazing when it WORKS.

Pros:
- 2+ megapixel camera
- External display acts as a mirror when using the camera
- Loud stereo speaker (actually sounds sort of good)
- Vibe & ring at the same time
- High-res screen
- Pretty good reception

Cons:
- Can't install Java applications from the internet because of a Samsung 'lock feature'
- Random error messages
- Warms up very quickly
- Battery life's only about 2 days with normal use. If your going to use the MP3 Player extensively, good luck

The main problem with this phone is that the one I have has gone from strange, to stupid, to useless. The phone warmed up quickly, the memory card wasn't recognized, and the battery died about 3 hours after a full charge. Currently in service.


Nice

 

Jun 27, 2006 by Nikoletta

I purchased the T609 to replace my old E315, which I've had for about 2 years. I was a little sad to give up my E315 as it's been like an old friend however after a week I cannot say I regret it at all. Some people don't care for the White color, I think it's very pretty, it's a little feminine, but it's wonderfully feature heavy. It has a few things that irk me but only a couple.

Pros:

- Very nice camera... 1.3 MP
- MP3 Player has good sound, easy to use.
- Bluetooth makes my brain happy
- Screen is BIG and bright, very clear (shows my wallpaper of my friend's baby really well.)
- Screen is easy to understand but still displays all kinds of info.
- Reception is ALMOST as good as my previous phone. I can still use it at my mom's house, just barely.
- Has some decent games already on it.
- Voice Activated software tickles a funny part of my brain, takes some learning but super nice.
- I love the look, it's very pretty.

Cons:

- Outside screen is mono-chromatic, I miss my color screen
- No Service light, which I am also used to with my old phones.
- Not USB sync, so you pretty much have to buy a Blue Tooth Dongle for music transfer
- No memory card comes with, not hard to get though.
- Not Stereo BT, so no wireless headphones
- Non-standard headset port, requires an adapter to listen to music without playing it out loud.

and

This one bugs me more than anything else and will likely be fixed soon. It's so new that there is very little out for it software wise... I can't get any of the games I WANT (like Sudoku, or Jewel Quest) because it's so now nothing is set up for it yet, in a few months I'm sure I'll get what I want.

Overall I'm very happy with it, there are still a few bittersweet moments when I miss my old phone but I still have it and can always swap the sim back for a bit if I need an E315 fix.

Advertisements       reviews continues below...


Good multimedia phone!

 

Jun 7, 2006 by kewlguy210

I just got this phone recently and I must say I like it! I'm using it on T-Mobile and the reception is pretty good compare to other phones I used in the past. For people that want a flip phone but want all the features of T809, I would recommend this phone.

Pros
- 1.3 Megapixel camera w/video
- MP3 player
- Bluetooth
- Edge speed
- Voice activated
- Memory card slot (Transflash/Micro SD)
- Speakerphone

Cons
- Wish it was gray (Canadian version)


T609 Available in Canada!!

 

May 20, 2006 by pogo_ball

The 4.5 rating i gave is based on looks alone. I don't have the phone yet..but I will be getting it next week.

I just wanted to say the Canadian version of the T609 looks 10 times better than the American one. Our version is black with a glossy finish to it. The inside is also black with a nice blue backlight. I don't know WHY T-Mobile decided to go with the white color. Oh well!


The beauty is within...

 

May 19, 2006 by snakeeyes82

This would get a 5 if the phone wasn't so damn ugly! My store just got these in the other day, and I must say i am impressed. The speaker independent control is a fantastic if not long overdue addition to Samsung's T-Mobile line-up. The call quality is superb, and the battery life thus far seems to be comparable to any other high-end phone. What really sets this one apart (besides the fact it's ugly) is the 1.3 MP camera on a phone that is half the price of other phones with the same specs.

On a slight downside, it's a little wonky (is that a word?) when it comes to bluetooth headset connectivity. If you turn on bluetooth, and then don't use it for a while, and then turn on your headset, you have to push a button to tell the phone the headset is active, and then tell the phone to connect to it. this isn't a huge deal, but for Motorola and Nokia users, it's kind of a let down compared to those phones which let you just turn on your headset and go.

I'd say the good definitely outweighs the hitch with the BT, definitely making this phone a recommended buy to all who can look past the ugly, and look forward to the value and features.


Great Phone

 

Oct 14, 2006 by bramsey

I am a Rogers Retailer in Canada, I have used this phone for about 3mths now and I love it.

Pros
Crystal clear reception
1.3 camera
mp3 player
micro sd slot
bluetooth
sharp look (black finish)

Cons
can't set phone to vibrate and ring at same time(nokia is the only one that seems to offer this)
can't use a Bluetooth head set to listen to mp3 player


wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

 

Aug 14, 2006 by unknown

this phone is great it has everything u are looking for the camrae is great it has a 1.3 megapix. it has frames where u place a pic in it the wallpaper is really vibrate the rigtones are great i mean i love it
pros> the 1.3 pix
the screen
the ringtones
the flip it also hold 1000 phone book entries
over all its a great phone


T-609 - Lightweight, easy to use, but...

 

May 22, 2006 by pepsifreak

Picked up this phone yesterday after my RAZR began having technical issues. The store rep extolled the virtues of it and her points were valid.

PROS:
Speaker Independent Voice Dialing!
Speaker phone is loud
Screen resolution
Camera takes great pix and video
Form factor
Looks - I like the white
Bluetooth
Reception

CONS:
Feels like a breakable plastic toy in your hand
Small - people with bigger hands may have trouble dialing
My fingers feel a little cramped when dialing with one hand
Feels like it could break easily
Some slight hissing while on a call - call clarity not nearly as good as the RAZR.

Have not used or accessed MP3 player yet

OVERALL: This could turn out to be a great little phone - so far aside from the toy-like looks and feel, it's fine


CUTE

 

Jun 8, 2006 by EMCEE S0ULIDARITY

PR0'Z= I JUST GOT THE PHONE. I WAS REGRETTING FOR A BIT. THINKING THE T809 WAS MUCH MORE COOL LOOKING THAN THE PLAIN WHITE. BUT. ONCE YOU GOT IT IN YOUR HANDS ITS LIKE YOUR OLD BUDDY. I TAKES QUALITY PICTURES WHILE FLIPPED OPEN AS WELL AS CLOSED. YOU CAN TAKE PICTURES IN DIFFERENT HUES. ITS LIKE PHOTOSHOP IN THIS LITTLE THING. I ENJOY HOW THE IMAGES SHOW THROUGH THE FRONT OF THE LITTLE WINDOW. ITS PERFECT WHEN YOU WANT TO BE DISCREET ABOUT THE MOMENT YOU WANT TO CAPTURE, LIKE YOUR SECRET CRUSH =). THE CAMERA IS BETTER THAN MY OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA. AND I NOTICED ITS QUALITY WHEN I SENT IT TO MY EMAIL. IT HAS SPEAKER PHONES FOR YOUR VOICE AND MP3. WELL I HAVENT TRIED THE WHOLE MP3 THING YET BUT THE SONG THEY GAVE FOR FREE ROCKED MY SOCKS. AND I LOVE THE CHALLENGING GAMES. IT ROCKS ME TO SLEEP AT NIGHT. OVERALL, ITS GOOD COMPANY.

CON'Z= NO MEMORY CARD FOR MP3'S

WITH THAT SAID I HAVE NO REGRETS...

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2022 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.