Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung MM-A920

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.92
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...456 7 891011

Issues with this phone . . .

 

Aug 19, 2006 by nkkptk

I'm so glad I found this site -- now I know I'm not entirely alone!

I obtained my first A920 in early December -- apparently I was the first one to buy one out of our local Sprint store. How delightful. It worked alright for a time until the Music Store completely ceased functioning. No one could quite figure out why, so around February I was given a new handset. This handset has now decided to go haywire. It drains the battery without me even using the phone at all -- I'll charge it up overnight, and the next day, just having the phone on and available, but not even using it to place or receive phone calls, and I'll be down to a red battery indicator by the end of the day. It has also taken to randomly turning itself on and off lately -- I noticed someone else mentioned that, too.

Lately there have also be network issues with the phone. In my household, there are three Sprint phones, all Samsung, but different models. Both my mom and grandma get voicemail notifications and the like, and receive all calls placed; my phone, however, will not alert me to a voicemail or text message for hours after the fact, which is not good because I do use this phone for business contacts. Half the time it won't even ring!

For what it's worth, the phone itself I like -- having the MP3 player available is a plus, and it is unique. But all of this uniqueness in terms of its quality are starting to wear on me. I'm to see the tech tomorrow . . . Lord knows what'll happen next.


Memory Card?

 

Aug 13, 2006 by TAlyeece

Is the memory card suppose to go all the way into the phone and stayt there by itself or am I suppose to hold it in the phone??

Really Confused....

AD       reviews continues below...


Great overall phone!

 

Aug 12, 2006 by djflux

I just bought this phone as an upgrade to the Samsung SCH A-680 and I am loving it! I guess if you compare the two, there really isn't a reason why I wouldn't love the a920 compared to the a680. I live in San Francisco and I have great EVDO access. In response to people complaining about the native Sprint web browser that comes with the phone, just go download the free Java mini Opera browser! The Java apps work great on here: I have the Opera browser, mobile Google maps (works great), and the trial eBay app on here is great, too!

As far as what people are saying about the music store, I can't really comment on that as I haven't purchased any music yet nor do I intend to. It's really easy to make your own MP3 ringers and the sound quality on this phone is amazing! It's easily the loudest phone with the highest quality sound I've ever owned, probably due to the large boom box-style speakers on each side of the phone's hinges.

It also allows you to multi-task like a mofo! You can be uploading pics in the background while you're texting or talking to someone, there's also a way to talk on the phone while you're in an EVDO web session, and you can use this phone as a high-speed EVDO modem on a Mac or PC.

People have also complained about not being able to listen to music using stereo Bluetooth headphones without having to get a BT adapter-- I don't have any experience with that, either. But, for me, this phone is a vast improvement over my previous one and I am MORE than content with it! Highly recommended and if you have any questions feel more than free to hit me up!


Oh I think I like It

 

Aug 11, 2006 by Linkswan

I have been a fan of Samsung products since the A680. I think the feature that sold me the most was Bluetootn technology. I am on the phone tons (around 8500 minutes a month). Let me rewind. Phone excellent initial power vision start up wasn't. After about two weeks two phones and many hours on the phone with Qwest we got it right.!!

As for the extra features... Micro 32mb upgraded to 1g. More music download plug n play in car.

In sum, Mp3 player, wireless internet and phone! Outstanding!


great phone

 

Aug 3, 2006 by sidekickgurl

i have had this phone for 4 months and i haven't had any problems with it....i love it...... bluetooth works perfectly and so does the media player!

i would 100% recommend it to anyone who wanna buy this phone...


SAMSUNG A 920 VERY NICE PHONE

 

Aug 2, 2006 by mw1733

I HAVE HAD THIS PHONE FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS . I GOT IT FOR A REPLACEMENT OF MY SANYO 8300 . I LIKE THE PHONE SO FAR ITS VERY NICE AND FEELS LIKE A STURDY PHONE . THE RECEPTION IS VERY GOOD JUST ABOUT AS GOOD AS MY 8300 . THE BATTERY LIFE IS GREAT AND THE CAMERA WORKS GREAT I LIKE THE FACT YOU CAN PUT THE MEMORY CARD IN A CARD READER AND DOWNLOAD SONGS TO LISTEN IN THE MUSIC STORE AND DOWNLOAD PICS TO USE AS BACKGROUNDS . I WOULD RECOMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A REAL GOOD PHONE


Battery is great, 3-4 hrs of talk time.

 

Jul 19, 2006 by alanny

For anyone complaining about the battery life: I have it for almost 1 month, battery life is great for me. my mom is usually talk 3-4 hours straight with my cell (she loves the unlimited nights & weekends with Sprint), every time after she finished talking with my cell, I still found at least 1 bar left on battery the next morning and I never run out of battery on it.

the things I hope a920 can improve is the screen--outdoor is hard to read and watch movie on the a920 is not much fun; and A2DP--be able to listen the mp3 through bluetooth headset.

the rest of the phone perform great, I especially like the camera, though there's no way it will replace my regular digicam, but it is very handy for many unforeseeable situations.


A920 Not So Hott :( ..

 

Jul 12, 2006 by spartaboi1012

I have had cell phones for years and i used to even work at a cellular phone store and i have to say that I have never been more disatisfied with a phone before. For some reason the phone, even when it has full signal, would drop my calls and the phone would have the satalite show up and say searching for service and then reaquire full service again while on the sprint network. They (Sprint) did a warrenty exchange and the second phone was even worse. I am currently going to switch to the Sanyo 7500 due to Sanyo's excellent reception and voice quality, anything has got to be better than this thing.
PROS:
-GOOD CAMERA
-GOOD SOUND QUALITY
-SPEAKER PHONE WHILE PHONE IS EITHER OPENED OR CLOSED AND EXCELLENT QUALILTY
-LOUD RINGERS
-FAST MENU RESPONSE WHEN GOING THROUGH CONTACTS/FOLDERS
CONS:
-DROPPED CALLS
-NO TRANSFERING DATA TO MINI SD OVER USB CABLE
-STATICY BLUETOOTH (HAVE USED MY HEAD SET WITH OTHER PHONES THIS ONE IS THE WORST)
-BATTERY LIFE (ABOUT 1 HR ON FULL CHARGE AND THAT IS TALK TIME, STANDBY IS ABOUT 1 DAY THEN HAVE TO RECHARGE)
-DATA (ARROWS IN NON POWER VISION AREA CONSTANTLY SHOWING UP TRANSMITTING DATA WHEN I AM NOT ONLINE HAD TO DISABLE POWER VISION SO CALLS WOULD COME THROUGH)
-GPS ON DEVICE CAUSES SIGNAL TO DROP IF USED CANNOT GET OR RECIEVE CALLS WHILE USING THE GPS ON TELEVAV OR GARMIN MOBILE.
-NOT REALLY A NEGATIVE BUT YOU WOULD THINK THAT IF THIS IS ONE OF SPRINTS BETTER PHONES VIDEO RINGERS WOULD BE AN OPTION.

Go with Sanyo much better reception and better phone software...


pretty good phone

 

Jul 1, 2006 by hpdeskjet3650

i have the a920. it's overall a good phone.

pros
-it plays music and video
-media sound is great
-camera is amazing
-looks great
-has external mp3 controls
-loud ringer
-internal antenna

cons
battery dies fast
-i get only 1 or 2 bars inside
-can't sync with PC
-putting things on micro SD card takes forever
-you need sprint vision to use half the things
-i ended up getting charged for vision when i never used it


Buy something else

 

Jun 26, 2006 by jimbo54

I honestly don't see how this phone gets such great reviews......strange!

I have this phone for almost two weeks now and here are the facts

Signal strength is very poor
I had a Sanyo 7300 for many years and this phone constantly drops calls where my Sanyo got excellent reception. I just found this out.
And it is not that far from the Sprint Tower I might add.

Voice recognization software is terrible!
The basic idea is you speak the name of the person you want to call and it calls it from your contact list. Great idea but it very seldom works .

For example my wifes name is Sharon
Her contact says Sharon mobile
Well when I say her name I get Jeremy, Cindy Erin and so forth . You get the idea.It stinks! You get 3 chances and that is it.
I've tried to adjust the sensitivity with and it still doesn't work right.

I went to VoiceSignal.com and looked for an update and their is none.

This phone is so bad I just had to sign up for this group and advise people about his phone. I too read all the great reviews summited on this phone and purchased it based on them.

Buy something else!

Page 1...456 7 891011

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.