Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola E815 / E816 Hollywood

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...131415 16 171819...38

Love Love Love this phone

 

Aug 31, 2005 by ditto_rabbitt

I can't say enough good things about this phone!!! Everything about this phone is so easy to use. I wanted a camera phone to take advantage of the picture id feature. It's fun to see one of my friends or family calling and a picture of their kids come up on the screen. Also, I am a regular text messenger and this phone makes me want to text even more! You can even add a pic just by hitting a few buttons. So easy!!! I love the camera & video features. They are easy to use and recall. **The only problem I have with this phone is the battery. It needs to be charged every night. That might be because I can't put down the phone since it is so much fun to play with.**

Pros:
fits comfortably in my hand (which is tiny)
easy to use camera & video
easy to use text msg
easy to read displays
large internal memory...over 400 pictures!!

Cons:
doesn't come with a case or clip to hold it
camera lens doesn't have a cover like the LG
**battery goes dead quickly**
I didn't get this phone sooner!!!


Knocks V710 out of contention

 

Aug 30, 2005 by krustykanuck

Better battery life, better memory, better camera... what else should I say? I had the V710 for a year and was excited by the prospect of having a 1+ Megapixel camera, memory expansion and bluetooth. What a waiste of hardware that was! The E815 makes up for those lousy shortcomings of the V710. Also with EVDO technology you can download internet at speeds up to 2Mbps instead of the 144 kbps of the V710 1xRtt technology. Time to give the V710 the old kiss-off!

AD       reviews continues below...


Incredible phone!

 

Aug 29, 2005 by oburgess

This is the phone to get if you want bluetooth technology and a great camera phone. Camera takes great photos with its 1.3 megapixel resolution. Also, videos are very good. Vcast is wonderful and connection is very quick - loads quickly and video and sound as good as TV. Signal strenth is superb compared to LG and Samsung. I have owned both and always had trouble getting a signal in my own home, but not with this phone! Battery life is excellent, also. Only complaint is lackluster ringtones offered. Overall, a great phone and a great buy!


phone freeze

 

Aug 20, 2005 by lil-o-man

i had this phone for two weeks and it froze on me. i had to remove the battery and restart it.

this also happen to someone else who had this phone. other than that i like the phone.

i'll still keep it even though i wish it wouldn't do this to me.


its just a great phone

 

Aug 19, 2005 by supradude

i got this phone about 3 weeks ago,and i love it to death! Its so frickin kickazz.
I think that the vx8100 is just all bells and wistles(even though it is very similar to the e815) The main reason i like the e815 is that its really easy to use.
plus its a Moto,so ull never worry about problems. and i think thats a pretty good reason! The vx81000 looks plain wierd.
but hey i guess it must be for some people...not me,get the e815,u wont be dissapionted.trust me


THIS IS ONE SMALL STEP FOR MOTOROLA ONE GAINT LEAP FOR VERIZON:

 

Aug 17, 2005 by Icemanjt91

I think that Verizon has gone above and beyond the needs of any individaul phone that has been released by Motorola and Verizon Wireless. The Bluetooth is awesome and the best thing is that you can use the Trans-SD card from the V710 in this phone. Over all this phone has no problems what so ever. The other big thing that the phone has a great V-Cast feature. Plus the phone has an awesome Screen. As well as the great phonebook size of 1000 numbers. Which works for someone like myself who needs to always have my contacts at the ready.


Verizon's Strongest Phone to Date

 

Aug 4, 2005 by Sonic McTails

The E815 is the first phone from Motorola with EVDO. Despite just being an upgrade, this phone blows the shit out of the V710. Many bugs were fixed such as ID3 MP3 tags, sluggish menus, and a half decent camera. This phone is also moddable, which means that you can eanble serveral other features. If your looking for a feature packed phone at a very good price, this is a good one for you. However, this phone also suffers from an echo problem, which appears to be a EVDO problem in general. Verizon is aware of the problem and will swap yours out.

Pros:
EVDO/VCAST
Solid, and strong keypad
Bluetooth (crippled, but with seem editing, and opcodes most functionality can be restored)
Incoming and Outgoing Fax Support
Working Transflash Slot
MP3 Player that works!

Cons:
Crippled Bluetooth
Transflash is partially crippled (can't copy sounds into the phones memory)
Echo problem w/ some E815s


A very suprised LG fan-the moto beats LG in almost every way

 

Jul 26, 2005 by xtremeo38

I purch the moto e815 with the intent of using my 15 day exchange for the lg 8100 (waited for 7mons for it to come out) the motorola suprised me i had it for 10 days before i switched it for the 8100 i had the 8100 for a full night before i went back to the store and returned it for the e815, the e815 just blew the 8100 away and im an lg fan so i was suprised especially after the v710 suck as bad as it did

moto signal great
battery life great
call quality good
looks great
loudness good
camera good
capabilites great
bluetooth great
overall an awesome phone

8100
signal good
battery life ok
call quality good
loundness great
camera great ( a little clear but both the same on computer)
capabilites limited
bluetooth horrible (voice comands suck and range sucks)
looks bulky and feels it to
overall an ok phone but have seen a lot of issues with software and ear piece

Working for verizon kinda gives me an inside scoop of the phones and i get to see what each phones good and bad qualties are and in my professional opinion the moto 815 is the best


Motorola e815

 

Jul 24, 2005 by VZMoney

I have to say that I was skeptical about this phone prior to its release, but now that I own it I'm glad I chose it over the LG VX8100.

I don't want to repeat what has been said in a lot of other reviews for this phone but there are a couple pros that stand out.

First, the reception is phenomenal. Just as good if not better than my v710 was. Second, the UI is much, much faster and less buggy. Last but not least, V-Cast is awesome. It's not for everyone but I like it a lot.

I have only two complaints about this phone. One is that other people's voices sound a little bit too bassy when the volume is on 6 and 7. On the other hand, I usually leave the volume on 5 and have no problems...hence the reason I gave the phone 5 stars. Second, the charging port. I really dislike Motorola's standardized charging port.

Again, on the other hand, come September they are changing the charging ports so we'll see.


YOU WOULD BE A FOOL TO NOT GET IT!!!

 

Jul 23, 2005 by maverick96

All these silly people that put reviews in here about how the 8100 is better should get a brain scan done!!

(1)Reception is at least 80% better on this phone than the 8100 and reception is the most important isn't it? I mean hello its a cell phone!!!!

(2) Camera is absolutely fantastic much improved over the v710

(3) Speaker phone while phone is closed need I say more???

(4) responsiveness of the software is amazing very quick moto!

(5) all in all if your looking for a fantastic phone with all the best features and the absolute best RF of any verizon phone this is your only choice or at least it should be. This phone choice is a no brainer

Page 1...131415 16 171819...38

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.