Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox PPC-6600 / PPC-6601 / XV6600 (HTC Harrier)

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.24
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 7

Avoid this phone like the plague!

 

Sep 9, 2005 by 1namyln

As others have posted, I feel, better yet I know, this phone blows, And hard! I purchased this phone with its "vast functionalities" in mind. What a joke. From the moment I had the phone it gave me problems. When it worked I was pleased with the coverage area, but again, the phone was awful. All of my physical complaints about the phone are posted by other users. In a period of 3 months I suffered through many hours of tech support and 4 phones. Yes I said count em, 1-2-3-4 phones. Finally I decided enough was enough. I took the phone back to the store where I purchased it and told them my problems. At first I was told oh well, not much we can do other than what you have already been doing. End state is after getting it escalated to a manager, I was pleased with his willingness to help. I was given a full credit for my phone toward another. I was happy and chose the Samsung i730. So far so good. First and foremost its a phone, secondly (and I'm hesitant to say second) its an awesome PDA! By the way, I was one of those fools that had to have the Audiovox when it was first released. $599.00!


downloading an application on the internet

 

Sep 7, 2005 by fashlord

if anybody can hepl me on how i can download an application on the internet and be able to open it on my pda phone, i always got an error messages saying the files i want ot download is not a pocketpc application or i should run the application first, then open this files from within the application.please if anyone can hepl me i will really appreciate it, because it seems to me that sprint doesn not have the technical knowledge to hepl me. and i don't see any reason why i should not be able to download anything from the internet and not able to open it.

AD       reviews continues below...


Sprint EVDO with ppc-6600

 

Sep 6, 2005 by iamthedro

Contrary to whatever you've heard from the forums, the Audiovox PPC-6600 on Sprint Nextel WILL, I repeat WILL be EVDO highspeed capable when Sprint Nextel's EVDO hits your area. Good news for all those Sprint 6600 users.

I know this because I work for Sprint Nextel.


Good Tie-in device

 

Aug 26, 2005 by peten

Just bought one based on the reviews and forum threads at this site. Weighed the info and decided to jump. The icing on the cake was when I talked to another owner at the verizon store - he was wearing a Qual Comm Polo shirt (San Diego is Qual Comm country). He was a marketing manager there at Qual Comm and he tells me it was the most popular in his office. Good-bye treo! (By the way he was buying a phone for his 10 year old son!!!)

Yea and verily all the cons listed are true.
All of the Pros are true as well.

All the work-arounds function as described. Me thinks the ones turning this phone back in are a little faint of heart.

I adjusted the ring tone as recommended on my lap-top and transferred it back.
I had no problem hearing the ring and the voice announcement (Voice Command) doing 85 on I-5 with the top down and the radio on high. Muted the radio and took the call on my left ear (nearest the road noise) and had no problem. I have returned the motorola bluetooth earpiece - it's not needed.

Took it over to the techies, at Blue Cove (TrafficMap (available from Verizon -Get it now)) and they gave me a thumbs up.

Next step Turn-by-Turn GPS naviagation (bluetooth) with traffic updates. I drive a vette and it doesn't handle traffic well.

The phone matches my desire - quick to learn, fast, and easy to operate (with voice command).


This phone sucks!

 

Aug 23, 2005 by mostlyaniceguy

The good things:
The screen is nice and the graphics are well rendered if you use a aftermarket web browser like Thunderhawk.

The bad things:
The battery suck, who ever rated the time was on crack. The software locks up lots and for some reason the dimmer decides to turn off lots. There is no battery state icon unless your talking on the phone so you don't know when you are about to run out unless you hear the stupid voice that tells you it is about to die.
As I use another outgoing pop3 account, I can not get my emails from Sprint. Also the tech help at Sprint should smoke crack, it would be better at explaining why they can not help you.

The buttons on the phone screen are very stupid, you can not try to type a phone number into it and drive at the same time, oops not supposed to do that anyway!

I'm a past Treo owner and I waited for this phone anxiously. After initial excitement about finally having the phone, using it day by day is a big disappointment. I wish I could send it back.


No EVDO for the Sprint versions

 

Aug 4, 2005 by Video2010

The listed specification on this site for the Sprint version is WRONG. The Sprint version will not support EVDO. I bought this phone with the expectation that it would be upgraded to EVDO when Sprint rolled out EVDO, but this is not the case. Sprint is not supporting EVDO on this phone, and I was told by a customer rep, that they do not plan to. Buyer beware.


jawbreaker

 

Jan 28, 2005 by jtheloudmouf

this phone has jawbreaker, now i don't have to go to the bar and play the mega touch xl games, i have my very own, plus it makes phone calls and has the blueberry tooth


I'm not sure

 

Jul 14, 2005 by seanedward

Can anyone help me out here? I have had this phone for about 2.5 months now and the battery is terrible. I got the from from Sprint and they do not offer any accessories for the phone. I had to get the I-GO car charger from Radio Shack and nothing seems to work. I even bought a car charger from Verizon and it does not work. What I mean is that the battery seems to be charging however the phone still gives me the message to charge the phone and then dies even though it is in the car charger. By the way this is my third one. Can anyone help me with this problem. I love the phone for everything it does however, I need a phone that will allow me to talk more than 1.5 to 2 hours even when plug into a car charger.


CHANGED MY LIFE OVER NIGHT!!

 

Jun 12, 2005 by bairon22

THis unit is fast. I used to have a Audiovox THera with no camera. I dont know how it compares to I700 but I know specifications smoke away the Samsung I700 and I600 with speed.I recommend that if you get this get the vx6600 with a camera. IF not youll regret it and you will be wasting your money. U can do alot. The only thing I do not like is that the BROADBAND is always connected. Then you have to monitor the downloads because if you do not have a plan this will rape your in download fee's. BECAREFULL. SO far I have owned it for 5 days and it froze only 2 times. I guess thats normal. But over all this unit is solid.


Love to love it!

 

Feb 10, 2005 by goasakawa

Pros: EDVO broadband speeds
Cons: No Wi-Fi likes the Cingular branded ones (Im on VZW which forces me to go an extra few steps configuring and routing to a VPN through the EDVO).

Otherwise its a great investment

Page 12345 6 7

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2021 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.