Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo PM-8200 / SCP-8200

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.78
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 789

Looks good but

 

May 11, 2005 by OscarLove

This is my 1st camera phone and my 2nd phone with web access. Those features work great but the problem is the audio is awful, other than that I like it.


Muffled audio

 

May 1, 2005 by campersand

This phone is probably a pretty good product overall, but I've found that some of the most important features are lacking. For example, when I first got the phone and started making calls, I immediately noticed that it was hard to understand what people were saying to me most of the time, especially if there was any background noise where I was, as compared to the very clear sound of my previous phone, the Samsung SCH-A460.

PROS:
nice looking
good camera
good reception
long battery life
lots of bells & whistles

CONS:
muffled sounding
ringers are too quiet
a bit bulky (for my tastes)

Advertisements       reviews continues below...


Sanyo iz it!

 

Apr 23, 2005 by tekknomonkey.com

I have had this phone since november 04' and it has been one of the best phones I've ever used. Awesome speaker phone nice big color screen and light and compact. Also works great and better then most other phones with certain apps. A few cons though, like the memory for one...1MB, I mean common that could have been improved with minimal effort. And the memo recording I think should have been a lil longer. Im debating on which phone I should puchase next, and its between another upgraded version from sanyo, (maybe with video and multimedia) or the treo 650.


don't for get the insurance

 

Apr 16, 2005 by mranderson33

This phone is packed with great features, great signal but it is not durable. My mother, sister and wife all had this phone and the hinges on 4 phones have broken in the exact same manner. None of the issues were due to a dropping or unusual use. So buy with caution and make sure to get the insurance because sprint and sanyo do not cover this under their 1 year warranty. They say since it is physical damage the warrant doesn’t cover it.


Ready Link vs. Voice Memo on Side Button

 

Apr 3, 2005 by lobtob9

After disabling the Ready Link feature, some 8200 units are able to utilize the side button to activate the Voice Memo.

My original 8200, as well as many other 8200's retain the Ready Link operation on the side button, even though the Ready Link is disabled.

In my opinion, there is clearly a defect on some 8200 units. The people at the Sprint store were surprised to see this. They exchanged my phone, and the new one operates correctly.

When you disable the Ready Link, the side button becomes a voice memo button.


this isn't that great

 

Apr 2, 2005 by biggshaad

this phone isn't really that great i just left cingular and came to sprint and i got this phone its not what i like i just left the Motorola v550 and that was pretty nice this one I'm going to return tomorrow and try a new one there isn't anything i like about this phone maybe thats why it was only 79 dollars


AWESOME PHONE!

 

Apr 2, 2005 by crnobers08

This is by far my favorite phone!! Its my first phone with sprint. i used to be with AT&T and i went through like 7 phones with them but this one is my FAVORITE! I LOVE IT! The camera works great! I dont use the flash as much as i thought i would but that works pretty good for a phone! EVERYTHING ON IT IS GREAT! ive never used the ready link..
The only problems that i have had with it are
1. Sometimes when you have it on vibrate it rings! My brother has the Sanyo 8100 and he has had the same problem.
2. one time it froze and i had to take the battery out and put it back in for it to work again.
3. Sometimes(it may be the area im in) ill have at least 3 bars signal and it will just cut out..Its usually not a problem with me cause i just dial *2 with sprint and get credit for my dropped call but it only happens sometimes..OTHERWISE I WOULD DEFINATLY RECCOMMEND THIS PHOEN TO EVERYONE!


Good Features, Bad Function

 

Mar 18, 2005 by bullseye_brian

Got one of these from a Sprint store. Took it back to them after a couple of days because randomly when I'd end a call, the number pad lights stay on indefinitely. Even turning the back light for the number pad had no effect, they stayed lit. Nothing short of turning the phone totally off is able to fix it.

Second of the same phone, same problem.

Sprint says they've never had anyone have a problem with them.

Tomorrow it goes back and I'll try something else.


great phone

 

Mar 13, 2005 by dreadedknight

this phone is by far the best phone i have ever had.
pros
the larger crystal clear screen
the camera that takes photos going down the highway at speeds near 70mph
memo recorder
easy to use internet
outside controls for camera
cons
low volume ringers none are high piched
bulky phone
no video function

great phone all around for those sanyo or sprint lovers. very much recomended.


EXCELLENT PHONE!

 

Feb 24, 2005 by CellReviewerNumber1

Wow, this is my first phone since joining Sprint. Cingular customer care is absolute TRASH! I owned the Samsung S307, Motorola t-720 and the V400. I would easily say this phone is better than all those. The main think i wanted was a nice, solid phone. The PM-8200 offers that and much more.

I love how when you open the phone it clicks into place making it hard to open with one hand, but i prefer it to be solid after having the v400. One of my favorite features is voice activated dialing. You can call someone and chat with them without ever having to open the phone. The COLOR caller ID screen is great!

The camera is decent but its what i had expected from a CELL PHONE.

Cons:
-Hard to open with one hand
-Phonebook button is to the right side
-Speakers get a bit muffled at high volumes
-Doesnt support MP3 ringtones
-No video
-Not AS customizable as other phones

PROS:
-Camera
-Color screens
-Speakerphone
-Dedicated speaker button
-Solid
-Flash for camera
-Ease of use
-Many colors available
-One touch controls

Overall i give it a 5 out of 5 and would recommend it to anyone with the sprint service!!

Page 12345 6 789

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2022 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.