Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-8900

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.25
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 789...12

CDM 8900 is Piece of Crap

 

Jul 18, 2005 by b_check

The speaker phone sucks. The voice dial sucks. These two features have steadily grown worse over the 1.5 years I've had the phone. The voice dial really didn't work to begin with. I tried having verizon switch me to a new Motorola v710, but verizon isn't interested in taking care of customers who've been with them for 11 years. So, I'm moving to another carrier at the end of the contract, and I'm getting a new phone. I've had Motorola's all my life until this piece of crap. I would not recommend it to anyone. I've been told that the Sanyo's that Sprint has are a much better phone. Unless I hear otherwise in the next 6 months, I'm moving to Sprint and getting a Sanyo phone.

Boo to Verizon and Boo to the Audiovox CDM8900. You'll notice that phone isn't used by any of the carriers now. You need not wonder why that is - All the carriers must agree with this review.


Its alright

 

May 11, 2005 by laddertothestarz

Having worked in the cell phone industry I have seen far more LG phones come back with issues than this one.

Most of the con's on some of the reviews on here are not because of the phone but of the user for example:

Changing the banner on this phone is not a "hassle" you go into settings, display, greeting message, and scroll to the entry message.

It takes time to warm up to new phones but just because it's hard for you doesn't mean the phone sucks.

My list of pros and cons would be:

PROS-

Tri-Mode CDMA Technology

Light up key pad (easy to see at night)

Loud LOUD speaker phone

Loud voice calls as well

Lights on side of phone, not only for attractive purposes but when your music is turned up in the car and the phone lights up you know you have a call.

Easy to use even for a beginner

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

CONS-

The turn-on sound can not be shut off, this is not an option because it is a trademark of audiovox phones

When roaming on another tower from a different carrier my phone does not ring. This could be just my phone though, some phones have individual problems.

The front LCD screen does not stay lit

Otherwise the phone works well, it suits me, the buttons are not good for someone with big fingers I will say that. They are flat, I don't mind but some others might.

I haven't had any big problems with the phone other than the ringer but the phones a safe bet.

AD       reviews continues below...


WORST PHONE EVER!! / within reason

 

May 9, 2005 by cgt3g2000

I bought this phone back in may of last year , thinking what a cool camera phone
and the camera and large color screen was cool . but the things I hate about this phone is the **** "Verizon Wireless" banner flashing back and forth on the ext lcd screen ( not color B&W ) as if Verizon doesn't have a enough banners on there phones I mean I like Verizon but this is too much!! There was a fix (a patch really) using "BitPim" and a USB cable to stop the VZW banner from flashing . OK that was fixed now to get the pix off the phone (using USB & BitPim ) that was easy but placing pix back on the phone was not so easy MOST of the time the phone's software crashed and I Had to take the phone in to VZW to swap it out . Finally I got fed up and swapped the phone out for good and got a Samsung A670 ( not so good of a phone but that story later ) . Long story short :

1: DON'T try to put pix back on to the phone you will **** up your phone !

2: USE BitPim ONLY for downloading pix FROM phone and fixing "Verizon Wireless" banner !

3: Just be very careful with this phone VZW already ****** us up with this extra banner!

I guess the unhappy reviews from this phone to VZW made them decide NOT to but the Flashing banner on EXT phone screens ( I now have a Motorola v710 cool phone again this story later , but on this V710 NO flashing "Verizon Wireless" banner on the EXT screen).

N.L.N


good phone

 

May 1, 2005 by xkell3x

This was my first phone i ever got!! I loved how small it was and that it had a camera on it!! I got it free with instant and mail in rebates!! This phone is very easy to use!! The blue lights on the side make it easy to find when its dark!! Thats the part i will miss!! I dropped the phone so many times and i also dropped it in a glass of milk and it still worked the same!! The camera is pretty good i mean its a cell phone its not gunna be the best quality!! i usually had good reception!! The screen is big and it is very good!! I didnt't like how u couldn't personalize it tho!! i would still have this phone but i just got it stolen!! i was very upset bc i had absolutely no problems with it over the year that i had it!! This is a good phone!!


It was fairly good!!

 

Apr 16, 2005 by dreaiscool

THIS PHONE WAS GREAT UNTIL I DROPPED IT A WHOLE LOT OF TIMES
I TAKE MY PHN EVERYWHERE IT IS MY ONLY CONNECTION TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE A HOME PHN-

I WOULD TAKE IT WITH ME TO CLUBS AND EVERYTHING THIS PHN HAS BEEN THRU ALOT IT HAS BEEN DROPPED KICKED SCRAPED AND STILL TODAY IT WORKS OKAY BUT NOW I AM HAVING PROBS WITH PEOPLE HEARING NE ON THE OTHER END. I HAVE HAD THIS PHN FOR ABOUT 1YR AND 1/2. IT HAS BEEN GOOD TILL NOW. SINCE II HAVE DROPPED IT SEVERAL TMES

THE PROS:

IT HAD REALLY GOOD RECEPTION AND EASY TO USE -- IT WORKED UNTIL I DROPPED TO MANY TIMES WHICH IS MY FAULT

CONS:

THE CAMERA WAS OKAY WAS NOT VERY GOOD
THE SPEAKERPHN WAS NOT VERY LOUD AT ALL
THE RINGTONES THAT CAME WITH PHN SUCKED


Terrible with Verizon, but good with other carriers

 

Apr 7, 2005 by cluftig

I had my 8900 through Cell One it was a great phone very user friendly, the camera wasn't that great but it is a phone. The screen is huge and clear, the phone it self is good looking it doesn't look cheap like a lot of motorola's and nokia's do. I read one review saying you can't change the greeting or the banner and thats because Verizon has to advertise on there phones for some reason, If you have Cell one everything can be personalized and on the front it has Audiovox instead of Verizon. This phone is very easy to use and the voice dial is very smart. Mine did break and I now have the 8930, but that was because of mis-use on my part. The hinge slowly became loose over about 9 months and that it started having problems. But if you aren't hard on your phones this one could last years and still look good at the end.


I love this phone!

 

Mar 20, 2005 by kbmiller

This phone is terrific!

PROS: Sound quality is excellent. Super durable! My boyfriend and I both got this phone the same day. He has ran over his phone and dropped it into a pail of water and it still works. I live in a very rural and mountainous area, so I was completely amazed that I can use my cell phone at my home and other places where I've never been able to before.

CON: Only one! When you've been talking on this phone a while, the phone gets really hot!

I would recommend Audiovox to anyone! Great phone. High quality reception.


good phone almost

 

Mar 7, 2005 by lil_wyte_404

its a good phone with metro but when you buy things from the brew yes brew not INTERNET it wont let you use it Ex ringtones you can download them but you cant put them as your ringer camera is good not good pic in the dark


great phone

 

Mar 7, 2005 by daminki

have had this phone since it came out and have loved it. i had and audiovox phone prior to this one and loved it as well...the only thing that i don't like is the phone book setup, but it is something i have gotten over rather quickly. the reception on by phone is great for the area that i live. delaware (verizon wireless). this phone can definetly take a beating as well. battery life is good. some of the downloaded ringers are not that loud, but i don't think that is the phone. i think an audiovox phone is definetly worth the money!!!


Not Good

 

Mar 5, 2005 by tyman

I owned this phone for 1 month. Turned it on one morning after it had been charging one nite and it came up saying phone was in "service mode". Took it back to the cellularone store and they sent it back to Audiovox. Audiovox sent it back saying it had software problems and that software isn't covered under their warranty. I sent audiovox letters and they didn't even reply to them. In my opinion Audiovox Support is NOT GOOD at all. My advice: do not buy an Audiovox phone, they provide no support and obviously their warranty is a joke too.

Page 12345 6 789...12

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2018 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.