Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 26 replies

Good people are hard to come by

Sholyhit

Mar 8, 2006, 11:32 AM
I have been interviewing for 3 months and can't get a decent app to hire. So far I have not been able to find anyone who:

Did not drop out of high school- Male or Female
Has a G.E.D. or high school diploma- Male of Female
Does not have 5+ kids (and is under the age of 22)- Females
Dresses better than torn jeans and a t-shirt for the interview- Male or Female
Doesn't try to "act black"- Male (sometimes female)
Scores higher than 13/25 on the copetency test(basic math and vocabulary skills)- Male or female
Doesn't have a history of substance abuse/violence- Male
Hasn't been arrested at least once- Male
Can sell me a pen (I make my apps sell my pen to me)- Male or Female
Can answer all the questions during the interview- Male or Fem...
(continues)
sowhatsowhat10

Mar 8, 2006, 12:04 PM
where are you at? 😕
Sholyhit

Mar 8, 2006, 12:06 PM
Idiots do too. That's where I'm at... Indiana
sowhatsowhat10

Mar 8, 2006, 12:09 PM
try posting on monster or like place. most of the people you just explained DON't or can afford to operate a PC and make a resume. as well as surf the WEB.
Sholyhit

Mar 8, 2006, 1:25 PM
We already have posts on Monster.com. No good hits. Mostly people looking for 15/hr+ or with no experience. Had one person who has a B.S. in computer science so he wanted 32/hr to sell cell phones or it's equivalent. Yeah right...
Nikoletta

Mar 8, 2006, 3:31 PM
How much are you actually offering?
3ntropy

Mar 8, 2006, 4:27 PM
if you want good solid people you will have to make it worth their while. i'm sure you pay ok, but those who work hard and well want more money.
Nikoletta

Mar 8, 2006, 4:47 PM
I'm not sure that was my point, I was just curious more than anything, 15 an hour is excessive for a position like this but 8 or 9 an hour is too little to make it a livable wage, so I was just wondering.
tequilasundae

Mar 9, 2006, 10:38 PM