Phone Scoop

printed December 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=983&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo Katana / SCP-6600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...9

The Katana is a work of art

 

Aug 27, 2006 by IndyDoc

The Katana is a work of art. Excellent engineering and attention to detail. The phone fells solid. The blue color is really cool. The screen is bright and the menus are easy to navigate. The speaker phone works well. The blue tooth also works in my Lexus RX330. Not many blue tooth phones are actually compatible with the RX330 and before now almmost none of the Sprint PCS phones worked. Would be nice if this was a power vision phone but the other attributes make up for it. Sanyo comes through again with another excellent phone. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty good phone

 

Aug 16, 2006 by LeeMax

I just replaced my old phone from Samsung with the new Katana. I did my research on here first of course!

PRO'S:
Very lightweight & slim-NOT BULKY!

Outer display w/time & caller ID (this was majorly what I was looking for)

Great colors (I got the blue)

Easy to navigate through the phone and setup

Seems to be built fairly well & sturdy

Great screen inside for your screen saver etc

Camera Phone (didn't care about having one)-but it is easy to operate

Speaker phone seems to work very well

Blue tooth ready (although I don't need it)

Don't seem to have any problem hearing the other party through the ear piece.

Big screen for sending and receiving text messages and you can increase the font if you need it

Battery life hasn't been a problem at all

While I don't have too many CONS I will write them here for your consideration

CONS:
The downloaded ringers aren't very loud at all! Too bad they didn't make the speaker on the back louder, sometimes I can't hear my phone at all with a downloaded song. And the tones on the phone are stupid, they should have included more to choose from.

Came with 3 games only and they are demo, I was really used to having Bejeweled from my old phone to play with when I was bored.

That is really my only complaint about the phone...if you can live with that then I think you will have a great phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not bad!!!!!

 

Jul 9, 2006 by Ced91071

I got this phone a couple of days ago and after about a day, I gave it to my 11 year old. Whne I did carry it, I got about 5 or 6 questions about it. There is no doubt that it will sell pretty well for Sprint, but the phone should be free or about 20 bucks. Not too bad!!!!!
PROS:
+battery life
+external screen
+appearance
+operation
+build quality
+Bluetooth
CONS:
-No EVDO/PowerVision
-full availability of colors, i.e. store only had the blue one

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


front screen

 

Nov 12, 2006 by najeup

On my KATANA my front view screen just started getting black lines in it and then it just went black! I would advise you not to drop it, buy it is a very easy accessible phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Pleased

 

Oct 13, 2006 by chuckwn

The best Sprint phone I've ever owned. Adding Opera Mini, and Google Maps Mobile really makes it shine! The built in browser is fine for email, but weak on the web.

Only complaints:

1) Can't figure out how to completely silence the phone (including the noisy vibrate mode) for some sleep and still have an alarm when it is time to wake up.

2) Unable to synchronize phone via bluetooth from my Apple Mac. The only way to upload contacts to the phone is via Sprint's $4/month service. There should be a way to do this for free.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Bad At All!

 

Aug 29, 2006 by cellgeek

I just got the exclusive polar white katana from radioshack and I am very pleased with it.

Pros:
Design is actually better than the a900.

Really big and bright color screen.

Very clear pics in good lighting. Not as clear in bad lighting.

Decent Signal.

Cons:

Battery could be better. You can't talk on this phone for more than just a few hours.

I kind of wanted video recording.

What else is there to say. The phone is really a true razr competitor.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo Katana with Kajeet Service

 

Feb 8, 2010 by kajeetmom

The Sanyo Katana is one of the best flip phones. Kajeet offers this phone for kids. The parental controls are excellent. You can set the times of day when the phone will be on or off. The GPS tracking is useful for tracking down your kids. Get 15% off when you shop through www.kajeet.com/bigdeal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I enjoy it

 

Dec 18, 2006 by crzyusr

I work for Sprint, and I like this phone just fine. I do wish I could reprogram the launch pad the way I wanted, but not my main concern. Also I don't like that when I close it, and then open it, its in the same spot. One big thing I didn't like is when I downloaded a song ringtone, it was so quiet, I could barely hear it. I do like Sanyos. They are very user friendly, and the earpiece speaker is very loud, even in a crowded mall I have no trouble hearing people. Oh and by the way, we do not make any extra commission on selling Sanyos. They are just very durable phones and have received the JD Power and Associates award 3 years in a row for customer satisfaction.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Katana Rocks

 

Dec 2, 2006 by jjc2828

I bought this phone to replace my Samsung A 680. I did a lot a research and look at the other thin phones and the Katana was the best. I had it for about a week and I'm pleased with it. It's a solid phone with great clarity and great blue tooth. I can get signals in place I couldn't before. I don't have any cons about the phone only pros. All I have to say is the Katana Rocks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice but problematic

 

Nov 19, 2006 by stony

I have had this phone for 24 hours. I am considering taking it back for a razr, despite the bad reviews that got.

This phone is nice eye candy, great screen but major functionality issues.

You can't flip this phone open with one hand. Two minutes ago I tried with two hands and it flipped out of my hands onto the floor!!! I had two people try today and the woman with a fingernail had the best luck and even then it was in two steps with a single hand. I like the solid feel and how thin it is, but it won't easily open, definitely not as springlike as a razr, which I tested today.

It is impossible to see the screen during the day when in power-saving mode. Could be dangerous when driving.

The stencilled fonts are very hard to read and you cannot change them for the clock or date in some screens.

The keypad does not light up along the edges, so some keys do not light fully at night. You have to guess what the letters are for the 1, 4, and 7 keys when illuminated.

The camera is nice, no zoom in fine VGA mode. Pics look pretty good overall, and a nice perk for getting the rest of the phone.

I just opened the phone to see what else I liked about it. The speakerphone button and action is very nice.

But when I opened it, I realized that I don't like this phone, and that is largely due to how difficult it is to open. Sadly, that is the most important feature to me. I think I will consider taking it back because of that and the keypad issue.

Both are safety factors as well as user design and interface issues. Too bad, cause I like the phone overall.

Oh, on my old Sprint phone you could choose one of the contact labels as the default label, can't seem to be able to do that on this phone, least not after spending an afternoon trying. Also saving contacts is more cumbersome than my old phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...9

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2