Phone Scoop

printed August 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=919&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-3100

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  27  

Average Ratings

3.17
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

DO NOT BUY

 

Nov 15, 2006 by ohcellphoneuser

DO NOT BUY! DO NOT BUY!
This is my second scp 3100 by sayno in three months. Both shut down and do not turn back on. The first one was not even a month old so they gave me a new one to witch is now doing the same thing. Sprint now says i have to send it to sayno or buy a new phone. For what it is not even four months old.This is a defect that needs to be addressed by sayno and or sprint.

PLEASE DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Nice, Solid Phone

 

Apr 26, 2006 by Sndmn23

The SCP-3100 is the replacement for the VI-2300 with some nice additions.

The 3100 is roughly the same size and shape as the 2300 but sports a more updated design both on the outside (the speaker grill design is a lot less generic than on the 2300 and adds a nice look to the phone) and the inside (the button layout has changed a bit). The 3100 sports larger main and external displays than it's predecessor, a welcome addition for anyone who had to put up with the tiny external display on the VI-2300. It also adds a VGA camera with zoom to the mix.

All in all, a nice basic camera phone at a good price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Cannot download pictures to computer

 

Oct 19, 2006 by jwheeler

Sprint (816 area code) provided phone.

PRO: good sound quality, excellent reception even in difficult spots, speakerphone works great

CON: no third-party software recognizes the file system in this phone, making it impossible to retrieve pictures from it direct to PC. One must have the Sprint Vision system (at additional charge) and upload pictures that way. Returned the phone in the 30-day trial period because of this issue. Camera is a little blurrier than it ought to be, too.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


2 brand new failed in 2 months

 

Aug 25, 2006 by megalopolis

Having had perfect ownership experiences with 8 Sanyo phones over the past 6 years (some were in the hands of my wife and kids), my wife and I decided to each buy an SCP-3100 when we were due for an upgrade.

What a mistake!

Within two months, both phones had problemss. On one phone, the external LCD became intermittently non-operational. On the other phone, the keypad went bad. After a LOT of complaining, Sprint replaced one of the phones. We are still waiting for a replacement for the second phone, which they insisted that we send to the Sanyo repair center in Texas.

What a piece of junk.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone Trouble

 

Jun 13, 2006 by C. DELGADO

Within the last month my wife and I purchased phones from a local Sprint store.(based on reputation). Sunday I received an incoming call; when I went to answer, the display screen on my phone went blank. I returned to my local Sprint store. I was shocked and disappointed at the apathy on part of the personnel. We are leaving on vacation and had planned to take my phone but they told me there "wasn't much they could do for me". I would have to send my phone off and they "just don't do loaners", when asked they "don't have any of that style(scp-3100)phones available". However for an additional charge on my monthly statement they could make sure that in the future "this would not be an issue". Or for $55 they could order me a new phone, thats more than I paid for the first one! My question is this: Is this phone problematic to the point where I should consider replacing it?(@ < than one month old) Is this the type of customer service I can expect in the future from Sprint? My employers local branch is considering outfitting our sales staff with Sprint phones, this experience has weighed heavily on my opinion. Chris Comer, FLN
I will update.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Had all the colors of these phones 3!

 

Sep 21, 2009 by narn3049

I love this phone. It was my second phone over the razr v3m in red, because it took a dramatic fall into the sink and kept giving me the bootloader error, (not sure of the software or PRL)

The two expresso brown ones I owned were absolutely junk. They would always break, so i went to the store, and luckily sprint replaced it, but the only one that they had was BARBIE PINK!! and I'm a boy,

I love everything about this one and saying that the brown one I had didn't work is what I think is shunning the pink one.

If you like sprint and sanyo you should get this!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Um...ok phone

 

Jan 2, 2009 by kcsimm11

It's a pretty good phone. I've had it for 2 years. very sturdy (i've dropped mine so much, but it's still good) A very good phone to get kids getting a cell for the 1st time. Probably not great for someone who uses the internet or email a lot. not for someone who wants a really good camera either. Mainly just an average phone, nothing too special or really bad about it.
pros:
very durable
voice recording
long lasting battery
self portrait mirror next to cam
good volume
not too complicated
cons:
not the best camera
not a big choice in ringers
doesn't hold a lot of pictures
no flash for the cam

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sad to see this one go

 

Oct 20, 2008 by ke5med

The Sanyo 3100 has been one of the best PCS phones I have ever owned.

I've been around the wireless industry since 1997, and have used a lot of the phones out there on the market.

This phone has been dropped so many times, it seems to get reception where most phones don't work. it was ran over by a pickup truck and trailer, and thrown across the driveway by my 2 year old. and it still kicking. doesn't look the greatest these days @ one time it was blue. now under the paint it's clear.

Pro's
One solid little phone.
850/1900 plus analog
external antenna

Cons
Discontinued

Thanks to Sanyo, and the Buyers at Sprint for this greatest little phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OK phone...

 

Aug 14, 2008 by sebastianlara96

Pro's:
-It is a very strong phone
-Great battery life
-AMAZING speakerphone
-Basically waterproof

Con's:
-Scratches very easily
-1MB of memory!!! (Sanyo, why?)
-HORRIBLE SIGNAL in some areas here in Rockville, Maryland
-Low-resolution display
-Bad, naughty camera with no flash... :(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Phone To Have!

 

Feb 9, 2008 by tkthompson244

I have enjoyed this little phone. I got it for free a year and a half ago and have had no problems with it even after several swims in glasses of water and sinking down to the bottom of a pool. I have had to dry it out more times than I can count.( I have 4 young boys) Even with it being as old as it is I only have to charge it every 4 or 5 days. I really like the phone.

Pro's:
small
GREAT battery life
easy to text on
easy to use

Con's:
really dont have any

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1