Phone Scoop

printed May 25, 2016
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=905&s=h&p=20

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8300

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.19
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1...171819 20 

Not bad but lets not get outta hand

 

Jun 26, 2006 by MikeAckerman

I am coming off of the LG VX7000, which i had for over two years and i loved it but it was time for a change. VZW was giving me their bi-annual $100 credit but i wanted a repacement before i bought another. My vx7000 was recently dropped so i filed the insurance and was delighted when i heard that my replacement was the brand new VX8300!!

I wanted something new and different but figured id try it out for a while. Its a solid phone but is missing a few things that even my two year old VX7000 had. NO VOICE recorded rindtones. buzz kill... i liked free ringtones. o well. im mad that you cant view the text messeges from the front as in the previous 8100. odd to lose such a nice feature. but finally you can lose the BS verizon UI kinda... if you switch to a different theme the phone glitches a bit and slows down (not very good) The camera is at best... DECENT. im not a fan of it. the dual surround sound speakers yada yada yada only sound clear when the volume is fairly low.

Other than that, the phone is pretty solid. it is my third consecutive LG but i am sad to say i will be giving up on it as soon as verizon gets their heads out of their rear-ends and comes out with a decent phone. but that may be a while as we all know. although not too impressed, it is good enough to hold on to and not worth trading up for just any new phone. ill wait a bit. and verizon... if you re listening... i am very close to switching services because your phone selection is just PATHETIC. release the nokia 6265 dang it. and im extremely mad because i wanted the nokia 6305i until i heard that it just doesnt have anything to offer. release something. and make it count!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


bad experience

 

Jun 13, 2006 by kswong

I traded in my old Samsung 650 for the new LG 8300. I was sold on it because it had just came out that day and it was either that or the new samsung 930.

Cons:
*Dropped Calls*
After about a week of using it, about a third of my phone calls were dropped. I had numerous complaints from friends and family about not being able to hear me or get through when they called. This I assume was related to the amount of calls the phone dropped. I never had this problem before so I know it isn't the reception in my location

*Battery Life*
The battery life wasn't at all what I thought it would be. This phone was suppose to have a long standby time. Within a weekend, the phone had run out of battery. During the day, it said it had 2 bars left and within 4 hrs of non-usage, the phone completely ran out and turned off. I wasn't using bluetooth or vcast. My old samsung of 2 yrs could keep a charge for longer than this phone. I've had the phone for a week and I've already had to do 3 complete charges. Keep in mind that I haven't been using Vcast, bluetooth, speaker phone, or the Mp3 player.

*Animated Wallpaper*
This is small and not as important. There are some loaded animated wallpapers in the phone. The first few days they ran perfectly fine, but now when I flip my phone open, the animations lag and then ultimately just stop within 10 seconds.

Pros:
*Lightweight*
*Nice Design (only compared to other Verizon phones)*
*Sturdy

I will return this phone and try the Samsung 930 like i had originally planned. This phone would work if calls didn't get dropped

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


So close, but yet so far...

 

Jun 13, 2006 by cmv96

Have owned and used the 8300 for almost two weeks now. Unfortunately, mine's going back to VZW in exchange for the RAZR v3m. In contrast to several other reviews here, I found the audio quality & RF to be rather disappointing, and since this is the primary reason for getting a phone, I can only rate it a 2.

PROS
nice design - color, shape, size & weight
excellent dual color screens
speakerphone
sturdy build

CONS
AUDIO QUALITY IS POOR IN SEVERAL WAYS (defective phone perhaps??)
Reception is much worse than my old 4400 and the Motos I've tried
Got a few dropped calls and several that were garbled
Earpiece volume fluctuates
I bump the buttons on the outside frequently
Ideally would like it thinner

I think this will likely be the last LG in my family (we subscribe to VZW's 3,000-minute plan).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

May 29, 2008 by boston7

awsome phone ..............

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad display, otherwise great!

 

Jul 3, 2007 by lrmafu1

PRO
Phone is durable
User friendly
All digital

Con
I had this phone for five months. Recently, when I have opened the phone, it has given me either a white screen or an all red screen where you can't see what numbers you're dialing. It seems there is a problem. Other than that the phone is great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST PHONE IN THE WORLD

 

May 15, 2007 by marmardav

I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS THE BEST PHONE EVER. I WORK AT VERIZON WIRELESS AN LOVE THE PHONE IT HAS EVERY FEATURE I CAN THINK OF. IT CHEAP COOL LOOKING AND +BETTER THAN THE RAZR!!!!!!!+

RAZR SUCKS BUY THE lg vx-8300

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Whatever

 

Mar 27, 2007 by gore181818

I think my phone Kyocera k323 is better than this phone. I have more features that make it better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


POOR QUALITY PHONE

 

Jan 20, 2007 by Jn01

This is a poor phone. I knew the v325i was better, and I should have stuck to it.

PROS
-speed dial
-buttons work
-display illuminated

CONS
-reception
-camera
-lack of flash
-colors/contrast
-accessories/ aftermarket items
-too expensive
-no belt clips

I honestly have no idea how they sell this cell.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome

 

Aug 11, 2006 by Walnuts

Awesome

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1...171819 20 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2016 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2