Phone Scoop

printed April 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=89

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-6200

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.46
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

The Last Good Voice 3G phone

 

Aug 10, 2002 by slacker

This phone will go down as the last good voice 3G phone. With Sprint's release of PCS Vision tomorrow, I'm sure we'll be in awe of their new phones.

However, this is the best mobile I've ever owned. If it's worth anything, I also have an Ericsson T68 with Voicestream that I despise compared to the 6200.

The Good: reception, clarity, voice quality, battery life, menu options, look, price.

The Bad: Apparently the 6200s have had some download problems, although you can get the software upgrade on your phone through any Sprint direct store. Also, the phone heats up if you talk longer that 10 minutes.

The Ugly: The thought of owning any other phone.

If you need a phone today, get it! If you can wait until late 3rd quarter or early 4th, pick up the updated model, I think the model is the Sanyo SCP-6400.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone!

 

Sep 22, 2002 by Darek Zmigrodzki

I give this phone a perfect 5 because I simply can't find a complaint. The Samsung A500 is still my favorite phone, and the best one in my opinion, but I can't think of even one complaint about this phone. It weighs almost nothing, is tough enough to sit on or even through, despite its thin, fragile-looking frame. Magnesium-alloy case, combined with the clever angled-design of the antenna housing make this phone the most durable I've seen yet. Every feature you can imagine, short of a color screen, incredible battery life considering the size of the battery, and of course Sanyo's now legendary reception, which is very useful on sprint's spotty network. Picture caller-id, customizable screensavers and wallpaper, midi ringers, and dual-color lighted screen and keypad, make this a whole lot of phone in a very small package. Not to mention the stylish design makes heads turn. Instead of spending $300 on a Sanyo 5150, pick up one of these with a data kit and software for $250, it's well worth sacrificing the color screen. And when people see how thin the phone is, the screen just isn't gonna matter. This is definitely a keeper, can't wait to see the new vision version of this phone, though I hear it is still gonna have the old grayscale screen.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Excellent Phone *Highly Reccomend*

 

Aug 9, 2002 by Christopher Cruz

Helllo Every, I just want to share my excited regarding this phone the Sanyo 6200. I recently changed phones from the Samsung A460 to this phone because I wasn't getting great reception with the Samsung phone. So, I did some research and read alot of reviews and thought I give this phone a try. I can honestly say this Sanyo phone is truly amazing. The call reception is alot clearer and the phone never had to search for a signal yet. The features aren't has much as the Samsung phone but the Sanyo phone is still pretty sharp. I always get people asking me to see my phone. So if your looking to purchase this phone, don't hesitate and buy it before they discontinue it and you'll never get to experience the clarity of this wonderful phone. Happy Shopping!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Spectacular Phone!

 

Jul 16, 2002 by donovansmith

I got this phone in late May after they went on sale at RadioShack to replace the Sanyo SCP-4700 I had been using for barely 3 months. To say the least, I absolutely love this phone. The form factor and size are perfect. The features are extensive, yet the phone is incredibly easy to use. I miss the speakerphone that was on my 4700, but that is only a minor issue for me. The signal strength and battery life, especially considering the size of this phone, are incredible. The only way I think I could give up this phone is if Sanyo made a phone in the 6200's case with the same ease of use, with a color screen, and a full-duplex speakerphone. Otherwise this phone works for me too well for me to consider replacing it anytime soon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's the best phone sprint has out today.

 

Jul 3, 2002 by Ilovee marshabrady

I have tried *all* the current sprint offerings (as of July 4, 2002), and this is what I settled on. Here is my reasoning:

The Samsung A400/440 sounds a bit better at both ends, but in my experiments with both phones, the 6200 has *much* better reception and can call out from the fringy-est areas where the Samsung phone has no chance.

The Kyocera offerings are good at grabbing signal, but sound like garbage at the other end.

The 5150 is good at signal and also has good sound both ways, but is bulkier and personally I find that flips, while they *look* cool, are delicate and and overall PITA to use if you are a frequent mobile phone user. Also the 5150 has a screen that is invisible in sunlight.

The 4700 is nice but weighs in like a brick.

So I decided to stick with the 6200 as it has the best overall combination of features: passable to good sound quality, great reception, OK battery life, excellent durability (I wish they made the whole thing out of magnesium though instead of just the front), and incredibly light and compact. BTW, the sound quality issue at the other end is easily remedied with a good headset. Why Sanyo didn't spend an extra $5 on the internal mic I have no clue. (It's not just my 6200, I tried several others and they are all like this).

What is really weird is that I have this old Qualcomm QCP 2700 and the sound quality at both ends is *perfect*. Signal grabbing ability is 95% of what a Sanyou phone can do. Yet that phone is years old! Why can't modern phones sound at least as good? Shouldn't newer tech sound even better?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 6200 Rocks

 

May 26, 2002 by debbie chong

I've been a user of cell phones for over 10 years. This phones pluses are its size and features. It has every feature that one could possibly need or want and easy to program. The size is a plus if you need to carry it or clip it onto a belt --- it's not noticeable. It's compatible with the 3G format that Sprint is rolling out, so why wait if you need a new phone now.

Had a flip Motorola StarTac before and this is much less physically intrusive. It's easy to answer vs. flip to use any function. Slips into a pocket, clips on easily, etc. with no bulk and all features!

Nice standard ringer tones, etc. Unless you are dead set on a flip phone, this is a phone you may really want for Sprint service as signal strength and voice quality are outstanding.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BACK TO 6200 FROM A460

 

Jun 28, 2002 by CLARK HARVEY

FROM SPRINT I HAVE HAD 5150(COLOR WASHES OUT IN BRIGHT SUN),A400(DOESN'T RING LOUD ENOUGH AND ALREADY OUTDATED,AND SOLD MY 6200 TO TRY A460--WHAT A MISTAKE THAT WAS!!THE 6200 HAS JUST THE RIGHT LOUDNESS FOR THE RINGERS,PERFECT FEEL WHEN USING IT,FANTASTIC FEATURES,AWESOME RECEPTION AND BATTERY LIFE,ATTRACTS A LOT OF ATTENTION FROM PEOPLE WHO HAVE NEVER SEEN ONE(ANNOYING AT TIMES!),VOICE MEMO,3G READY,AND VERY DURABLE.TOY CAN ALSO GET A PERFECT FITTING BELT POUCH FROM REELINE CO(RIPOFFS BRAND NAME-MADE FOR PANASONIC ALLURE).AS MUCH AS I WAS ANTICIPATING THE A500,I HAVE HEARD THAT A 6400 MAY BE IN THE OFFERING WITH COLOR DISPLAY.THIS PHONE IS DEFINITELY WORTH THE PRICE.NOW IF SPRINT CAN GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER AND GET THEIR WEBSITE ACCESS FROM CELL PHONES UP AND RUNNING PROPERLY,THIS PHONE HAS THE CAPABILITY OF BLOWING AWAY ALL THE OTHER PHONES.THIS INFO COMES FROM SOMEONE WHO IS ONE OF THE FIRST CELL PHONE USERS IN THE NORTHEAST AND COMMONLY HAD $800 MNTH PLUS CELL BILLS.

CLARK HARVEY

PS
DISREGARD MY PREVIOUS REVIEW ON A460-IT WAS PREMATURE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dynamite comes in small packages

 

Nov 23, 2003 by iiinightchildiii

I have been a Sprint PCS customer in San Antonio, Tx, for almost 4 years now. I've been through 3 phones at this point, the last being the Sanyo 6200.

The Sanyo 6200 was initially chosen because of it's Slim / Stylish design. I purchased it two weeks after it's release, and owned it for a little over a year and a half. The phone was a great purchase! After about a month, I realized that the 6200 was amazing in several ways:

PROS:
- Slim, unobtrusive design
- Lightweight (less than 3 oz)
- Durable (I'm a college student, and that phone went through hell and back. It's magnesium alloy face took much abuse)
- Amazing reception. My family has 3 lines and 3 separate phones. Out of all of them, the 6200 received, hands down, the best reception! Not a single dropped call! Never any static!
- Amazing clarity. I know this is starting to sound like an ad, but I swear that every time I would tell somebody that I was on my mobile, they couldn't believe the clarity.
- Ringer Volume/Clarity - Could hear the phone ring from under my car seat, windows down, radio blaring, doing 80 on the highway. At full ringer volume, ringer never distorted!
- All the "That's a cool/tiny phone!" that you get.

CONS:
- Heated up a bit after 5 minutes of talk time, or 5 minutes of Back light being on.
- Battery was mediocre. Extended life battery worked wonders.
- Browser/Internet. The few times that I used the Wireless Web (Pre 3G), it had much to be desired, but then again, I purchased the phone for a phone, not a computer.
- When finally dropped for the 10,000th time, the sound chip blew - no ringer, no speaker, no microphone. :-( Now I have a Samsung VGA1000 that I am anxious to see how it follows in the 6200's wake.

All in all - I greatly wish that Sprint still offered the 6200, it has been by far the best phone I have yet to use! If you can get your hands on one, and don't mind lack of an on-line-mobile experience, I highly recommend this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


wish i still had this one...

 

Apr 26, 2003 by Mitch wells

this was my first phone when i got sprint, and i picked it specifically because it was so thin and unobtrusive... you could literally slide this thing into your pocket and not know it was there... and talk about durable... seeing as how its an alloy of some kind, the thing was likely industructable to all human means... i dropped it in the rain one day, and despite getting all wet, it never missed a beat... you wouldnt think it to look at em, but sanyo makes some killer phones!...

cons... ringers seemed a little quiet sometimes, phone got hella warm after talking for a while, and not much memory for downloads...

i left this on the desk at work one day, and came back to find it gone... i suppose someone stole it... i was depressed, but it gave me an excuse to buy the a500 id been drooling over...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


just got the 6200

 

Apr 15, 2002 by ERIC s

really nice....a teensy bit thicker and heavier than my 6000 but the extended power + the extra features (dual mode, poly ringers etc..) is well worth the extra .001 gram and .0001 inch (approximates)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2