Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=889

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A580

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

2.11
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

MANUFACTOR DEFECT

 

Jul 5, 2006 by MALLGO02

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Somethings Wrong

 

May 24, 2006 by queensyankee

The phone has nice features-external caller id, vision, external speaker, price, big inside lcd. But it seems like everyone of these phones have a problem with the lcd. The lcd is blank, the lcd is blurred, always something with this phone. I sold alot of them when they first came out, and it seems like I've had to deal with all the troubles that come back. I would recommend for anyone looking at buying this phone to stay away. It has great features for a non camera phone, but it just has too many problems to deal with.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great phone

 

Apr 27, 2006 by cougarfan

Recieved for free from Sprint on a new activation.

Pro's
Call quality is excellent
sleek form factor
lots of options to custumize
great battery life
Nice ringers
Fast web browsing

Con's
No color external display

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Apr 26, 2006 by JoeMessa

This phone is simply spectacular !!
Great Buy

I Highly Recomend this phone !!

Pro's
---------
Sleek
Colorful Casing
Great Reception
Great Volume Control
Good Speaker Phone

Con's
----------
Small Outer Display and Not Color
Software seems to be from older models
Same Old Factor Ring Tones ( Who Cares)
No Camera (Who Cares a Phone is to Talk )

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


poor quality - terrible cust. service

 

May 29, 2007 by precplac

I bought this phone from Sprint due to its simplicity for my wife. It was simple to use and for about 10 months, it worked fine. About two months ago it started over heating and the battery quickly lost charge after that. After finding out that Sprint would offer no support for it, I had to turn to Samsung since it was still under warranty. After about a week back and forth with Samsung, I finally was issued an RMA number to return the phone. After a month, I got the phone back. It worked great - for one day. Then it overheated again. Now Samsung will repair it again. We just have to be without a phone for another month. All the while we are paying Sprint a monthly fee because of the two year commitment. After speaking with three levels of Customer Service, they refused to offer any help. It is not a big deal to them to be without a phone for two months. It will not be a big deal for us to choose a more dependable company than Samsung in the future.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


hard to say

 

Dec 9, 2006 by Rookie007

Working for a communications company in NB Canada. We sell many different phones obviously.
This phone, on the Canadian side, is a fair beginner and a good starter phone.

Pros
simple to learn
easy Samsung menu
clear screen
sleek look

cons
reception could use improvement
side button on side (speakerphone button) can redial last number called without opening the phone. this can be a nuisance if you don't want your conversations heard by the last person you spoke to.
battery life suffers, considering it's only a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't Buy It

 

Dec 9, 2006 by fishbait

I purchased 3 of these phones for members of my family when I renewed my service contract 6 weeks ago. They are all plagued with common problems.

Problem 1: Echo. These phones echo both the callers voice and the voice of the person using the phone. At times the echo is very loud with a 1/2 - 3/4 second delay. On one occation, I couldn't carry on a conversation with my wife who was using the phone because the echo was so bad.

Problem 2: Dropped calls. Calls on this phone drop regulary after a minute or two. My wife uses our land line in the house because the cell phone drops the calls. It is not a signal issue - the phone shows 4 bars. Other phones do not have a problem maintaing the connection in the house.

Problem 3: Missed calls/messages. I get complaints regularly from all 3 users that they miss calls and messages regularly on these phones. They only find out about the calls later when they look at the missed calls and voicemails left when the phone was on and they were carrying it.

Bottom Line: If I only had one of these phones, I might think that I got a bad one. However, with 3 of them, it is obvious that they are seriously deficient and plagued with problems that are common to all of them. One of them has now died and I'm heading to the Sprint store tomorrow to see if I can get Sprint to replace all 3 with different phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't buy it

 

Jul 22, 2006 by LocoXXL

I have owned this phone three times now, and have obviously not been satisfied yet.

The phone randomly turns off at times (usually when trying to send a text message), requiring you to take the battery out and back in for the phone to power up again. But that isn't the tip of the iceberg, because the unrepairable problem which all three of mine suffered from (including the one in my pocket) involves not being able to send/recieve calls, send/recieve text messages, connect to the web... seems like all communication with the Sprint is cut off but I have 4 bars, whoohoo!

Don't waste your time or money on the A580, unless you're looking for a good alarm clock.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Too many DOA's

 

Jun 6, 2006 by jtcronin

When we renewed our cell phone plan, we received 3 new Samsung A580's. They were nice phones for the first week then 2 failed. Apparantly there have been recent quality problems, so all 3 phones were replaced. Another phone failed 11 days later. The cell phone company is now replacing all 3 phones again with another brand. That's a 50% failure rate in less than 12 days of usage. The cell phone company has been very responsive to these problems, thanks Sprint!!! When the phones *were* working, they were quite nice. However it was questionable if the phones were going to last for the two year plan.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1