Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=875&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola i580

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.28
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

A tank of a phone (that's a good thing!) with all the features!

 

Jul 10, 2006 by clhdo4self

A first of its kind, a phone built to withstand heavy rain. This phone is very rubberized, and has a very solid build. The phone has a 1.3 mega-pixel camera with video capabilities, a microSD card slot with a 64mb card included so you can listen to music or record pictures or video, push to talk (of course), a crisp screen. It has a small outside screen which I never understood the point of the horrible color screen on the i860 or i870. This phone is almost identical to the i870 with the exception of the build. I love the high contrast setting on this phone too.

PROS:
Very solid build, feels truly rugged
1.3 megapixel camera for pictures/video
MicroSD capabilities
Uses the same Falcon accessories
Bluetooth
Great reception in Cleveland, Ohio

CONS:
Some people may think it is too bulky (I have large hands) so I don't have an issue.
Text messaging sometimes lag (network issue) not a phone issue.
No calculator

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not finished reviewing this phone yet, BUT...

 

Aug 25, 2006 by mdexter

To be fair to all the readers, I have had this phone for 1 week and have not completed my full review.

Now on to the comments.

Being a Cingular veteran, I cannot tell you how pleased I am with this phone. I have had Cingular forever and finally got sick of them and their network.

This phone rocks. Compared to the Cingular phone and network I get 3-5 bars in places Cingular would have none. But it is so much more than that.

On my Cingular phone, (HP 6515) I would not be able to use the phone roughly 75% of the day. At work I had nothing and at home I had nothing. Half of the commute was spotty at best.

No matter where I go with the i580 IT WORKS.
I have gone from very angry frustrated person to completely satisfied person. This is despite everyone telling me Nextel has a bad network. After 1 week I simply have no idea what everyone is talking about.

I know if I go to far away from the major metropolitan cities I will not be happy, but for my purposes this phone and network are the bomb.

As for the phone menus, they are very vibrant and a bit tricky to navigate, but I chaulk that up to me being so new to the phone and not yet having time to read the manual.

Note, I also have the Jabra BT250V, and The two work so seemlessly together, I would have thought they came out of the same manufacturer.

Major thumbs up to Motorola and Nextel for finally bringing peace to my life.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


the best mobile phone

 

Oct 23, 2006 by imbolc

upgraded my i730 to this i580 on the mike network (telus) here in ontario.while i had no real complaints with the i730, the i580 is near perfect example of form and function. no more fear of dropping or getting it wet. bluetooth is fantastic paired with plantronics voyager 510 headset.reception is better. sound quality is the best i have heard on any phone.battery is better. screen is excellent. the size and feel of the unit is perfect for me. i have looked at and researched many many phones and none can touch this one. and of course there is the icing on the cake with the good camera and all the other goodies. i have also always had very good service with mike and client care. anyone that reqires or likes to have a top mobile phone, owes it to themselves to give this little lexus in a tanks clothing a go

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone does its job.

 

Dec 5, 2007 by bwizzy

I have had this phone for some time now and it has the best speaker I have heard on any nextel phone. Its rugged body frame allows it to take a lick and keep on ticking. GET THIS PHONE IF YOU WANT NEXTEL AS YOUR SERVICE PROVIDER.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


MOST AMAZING PHONE

 

Dec 25, 2006 by Calichris

ive had all the nextel phones going from a 860 to a 870 to a 930 and had the option of getting this or the 880 and picked the 580 and am so happy with it i havent had any problems with it, i get great signal and great pictures that i can bluetooth to my computer wirelessly witch is amazing. the mp3 player is chrisp and loud i play it while im in the shower and hear it fine.

pros
*1.3 mp camera
*mp3 player
*very durable, basically a H1 Hummer :)
*very nice stiff clip
*water resistant ( afraid to try it though)
*front facing speakers
*battery lasts a couple days so no complaints

cons
NONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CAN'T GO WRONG W/i580 ;-}

 

Dec 18, 2006 by cellulars4less

OH MY GAWD I Simply can't express or tell you how wonderful my Nextel i580 is {smiles}. This phone is the best phone Nextel has made and they have out done themselves.
It's water proof can you believe that?
It has a built in MP3 player and I LOVE IT!!
It rugged and does'nt get worn down or out quick. It's super Loud....The ringers are nice and different from all the other phones Nextel make. Really nice sounds i think one sound is sorta like old skool i liken it to the temptations or one of those groups.
The Number pad is well lit. The wall paper is totally different i likes{smiles}.
The camera is so clear and it has a spot lite to see better and a 4x zoom button to see really upclose. Sometimes, i look through my camera down the street to see what's going on.;-)

If i had to say one bad thing about the phone it would have to be that Nextel needs to work on the battery life. Other than that the phone is simply wonderful.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I580 Survives!!

 

Oct 11, 2006 by nbkg13p

Pros:
Tough Rubber Shield
Great color screen
GPS is awesome...why buy the big bulky one you carry in the car.

IS WATER RESISTANT!! On my second day with the phone, I was at a restaurant showing my friends my new phone. I told them it can withstand shock and water damage. After constant pressure I dropped in my friend's glass of water. Once everyone saw it was completely submerged, I picked it up, opened it while still dripping water I made a phone call and used the walkie talkie...no problem!!

Cons:
Signal sometimes

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fail Proof Phone

 

Jul 13, 2006 by Customs572

Unbelievable unit. This phone is ready to be used in any environment anywhere. It feels rugged and looks durable but also has an expensive appeal. I gave up my blackberry for this i580. A very quality product Motorola produced here. I wish they made lap tops the same way. I would not have any other phone i580 triple thumbs up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it!

 

Jul 11, 2006 by Police21786

I have been waiting for the new i580 to come out for a long time. The first day it was available I ordered it. Now I have been with Nextel for a while now and I have gone through i90c, i830, i850 and now on to this one. I absolutely love it. I have never owned a rugged phone but I like the fact that if it falls or gets wet I don't have to really worry about it.

PROS
-1.3MP camera with flash
-Video capture with sound
-Micro SD card w/ SD card adapter included to make transferring pictures to computer easy
-Bluetooth
-Vivid color screen
-Easy to read external display
-Solid and rugged with a sleek design
-Belt clip holds phone in well
-Seems like a longer battery life and stronger signal than previous Nextel phones owned

CONS
-Slightly bigger (although not too big)
-No calculator
-Belt clip can sometimes hold phone in too well when trying to get it out
-Old SIM cards do not work with i580 and the Nextel SIM card copy device has a hard time duplicating numbers onto new card

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Nov 2, 2006 by sparkles01

I have to say thanks to Moto for coming out with front facing speakers again. This phone is worth every penny you spend on it.
From the durability, speakers camera, and Water resent. If your looking a great phone i would say get the i580.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2