Phone Scoop

printed October 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=875&r=29796

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola i580

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.28
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

The most well rounded package available

 

Oct 10, 2008 by cellular77

I purchased this phone recently because I needed a NEXTEL phone for work. A friend purchased a Renegade and has had it replaced twice with new phones and he isn't even completed his first thirty days yet. For this reason, and because I already own a Sprint Rev A unit,which I use for data, I opted to go with strictly a Iden phone. I will say I have been more than pleasantly surprised at this unit and its performance. The rugged build of this phone surpasses even what I imagined after reading other reviews. Calling it a tank is a understatement. The reception on this phone is amazing, it is even better than my HTC Touch. The data on it is slow and it is the only reason for the half point deduction. Of all phones currently on the market this phone performs better and does more than any other truly rugged and waterproof unit out. Motorola and Sprint should be proud of this unit, it is a shining star in a very large sea of duds for them both.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NICe!!

 

Jul 9, 2008 by duvonneb

this fone is nice!
it wont scratch no matter how much u try
lasts very long... no nextel fone has a good battery ;]
no nextel fone has good signal
MP3 player micro memory card slot
its a good fone
good on pictures to!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


It Survived

 

Jul 11, 2007 by STAAR05

EXCELLENT - I use this phone as my personal line as a Base MP out @ 29 palms CA.
I literally had to submerse it completely in water rescuing a drowning victim, and it came out NO PROBLEM.
I have RUN IT OVER with a 2007 Impala Police Interceptor & it came out fine , No problem, It has been thrown, smashed, &even shorted due to a lightning strike to my house, still came out fine.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT FOR THE JOB WHERE YOUR CELL PHONE IS CONSTANTLY AT RISK.

VERY IMPRESSED - Only con is sometimes Ive had a few dropped calls, however the network out here for NEXTEL isn't exactly the greatest (mountains) / attack range - there are no towers on either

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i580 A perfect cell phone?

 

May 15, 2007 by PlatMan

Owning and using the i580 now since it's release, I have to say it is not
only Nextel iDEN's best cell phone but the best built cell phone out there,
period!
I have used and tried ALL the major carriers and had their best cell phones
to use and none compare. One of the reasons I am back with Nextel and
the iDEN network is not just for the excellent coverage and service I
receive, but for the i580 cell phone!

The rugged Mil Spec construction protects from the weather environments as
well as hard use and keeps you at ease knowing your phone will work when
you need it to. The most water resistant cell phone there is.

Pros:
Mil Spec Rubber Casing (feels good to hold, too).
Nice and crisp 262K color screen (176 x 220 pixels).
Size isn't too big and not too small.
Great reception.
Excellent volume levels (1-7, 7 being the loudest. The loudest of the
Nextel iDEN phones).
Bluetooth works great and with most Bluetooth Headsets.
MP3 Player.
25 MB of internal memory can hold hundreds of walls.
SD Card slot (holds up to a 1GB Sandisk Transflash Card).
Picture I.D. capable.
Assign Ringtones.
Bluetooth your pictures or walls into the phone's internal memory or on the
SD card.
Email walls or pics to the internal memory or SD card.
Can transfer pics, audio, videos, from SD card to phone and visa versa (as
long as they are not protected files).
Outside I.D. window - super clear and gives off a slight blueish tint when
on. Very easy to read.
Keypad is easy to use, even with larger fingers.
Dual front speakers are crystal clear and loud.
1.3 megapixel camera is above average (but could have been better.
Built in Spotlight can be used with camera or as stand alone.
More great features I haven't listed can be found on Nextel's web site.

Cons:
Standard battery that comes with it won't last a day (get the Maximum
Battery and Max. Batt. Door - this will more than take care of that issue).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is the bomb

 

Jul 8, 2006 by 4ACESFU

I have to congratulate moto for finally making a phone worthy enough to have all the advanced features in a phone without it being so fragile. I have always had to settle for a regular phone and then it ending up being scratched or damaged due to my line of work

I love this phone no complaints whatsoever This phone to me is basically an i870 with ALOT of armour about as much as an i305, way mor than the i530 and i560 (i was a little disappointed in the i560 they used more plastic than rubber on it the i530 has more rubber than the i560) The voice playback is pretty cool but it takes some getting use too. The phone is bulky coming from an i850 but not bad considering all the technology and armour they put in this grenade

Pros
all the above
262k sceen
1.3meg camera
mp3 player
BLUETOOTH!!!
sd mem card slot
voice playback
great rf capabilities
tough as nails body structure
dt/dc
LOUD speaker
Cons
none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i580 iden's best right now

 

Oct 31, 2006 by SeanJ

Motorola's iden phones have their king. There's nothing about this phone I can say that hasn't been said.

Even if you're not someone who works or is often in a rough environment, this is a great phone. How many times have you cursed yourself for dropping your phone? I drop the i580 to show it off, and it looks today as new as when I bought it (3 or 4 months ago). This thing is a tank.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just went high end!

 

Oct 1, 2006 by mampaw

I've been a cell user for over a decade and have been with Nextel for 3+ years, truly wish I'd gone with them sooner, but to the point, I just went high end for the first time with the i580.
Not having a camera phone before I can't compare it to anything, but the signal is much stronger, the sound is much clearer, and folks I've talked to say my voice is a lot more crisp/clear sounding to them. Navigating hasn't been too hard to pick up on either. So far, I absolutely love it, the only problem I'm having is getting my text message to send. I cannot find any info on what I may be doing wrong, so I won't fault the phone. That aside, I truly love this phone and look forward to many years of use with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Sep 11, 2006 by r0adra93

This is the best of the 500 series phones from nextel.

I have 2 i560s in the hands of my field technicians. All the phones in this line are impact resistant.

The i580 brings in the water resistance to it's list. Which is awesome. I have gone through 2 i560s due to water damage. I then decided to upgrade to the i580 and this phone has so far worked without a problem.

Pros:
WATER RESISTANT
Impact Resistant
Bluetooth
Front Speaker
Camera
65K Colour Display
Mpeg Player (Video and Music)
Voice recording
Downloadable Content
Web Browsing
Direct Talk (Phones can be used as a two way radio and not just a phone -- works with the i560s which means I don't have to go out and buy a slew of i580s for all my employees)

Cons
Low Battery Life (like all the 500 series phones)
Sprint together with Nextel
Difficult to navigate menus as with all the 500 series phones. (you get used to it)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Finally

 

Jul 13, 2006 by GBC

I agree with all the pro comments that have been written. This is the phone any true Moto/Nextel fan has been waiting for.
One thing that I have not seen mentioned:

FINALLY-BACK TO THE FRONT FACING SPEAKER!!!!
LONG OVERDUE!!!

Now here's an idea, when is Moto going to come out with Direct Talk compatible Walkie-talkies??

Cons:
None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Almighty i580

 

Jul 13, 2006 by fd5722

I have to say to Moto & Nextel, BRAVO!! This phone is, IMO, the toughest phone, next to the i700 that Moto has produced. Kinda reminds me of my i95 size wise. I work in the fire service, and we use our phones almost more than our actual FD issued 2-ways, and it counts to have something like this, that you know if it get wet, or is exposed to the elements that it is going to step up & take the "heat".

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1