Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=867&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Xcursion KX160

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  30  

Average Ratings

2.26
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

This phone is nice for the total of 25 days it worked

 

Aug 3, 2007 by Lauren31

I have bounced through many different brands and many services of phones. I have to say this phone was one of the worst. Don't get me wrong, it is nice when it works.. my pictures came out good and it was easy to use. But after only a few short weeks one day the screen started messing up and i thought.. no big deal.. but then later that night the screen did not show up at all. Now keep in mind i did not drop the phone at all and i kept very good care of it.. with a cover on it at all times. Also the phone would lock up and turn off randomly and definitely lock up when i received pic messages and tried to open them. Now after using the phone for a few weeks i will be forced to buy a brand new phone for big bucks..i would not rate this phone very well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not real impressed

 

Jun 28, 2007 by Rhinovici

I got this phone through Cricket and for about the first couple months it was great. Then it started shutting off randomly, screen would go white, I could hear people but they couldn't hear me. Cricket customer service is a joke but what can one expect from a carrier that provides such low priced service.
Pros: cheap phone after rebate, blue-tooth, camera (average).
Cons: not reliable, Phone is huge it reminds me of the phones back 10 years ago, customer service through both Cricket and Kyocera was terrible.

Wouldn't advise buying!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The Kyocera Xcursion KX160 is junk!

 

Mar 7, 2007 by MACHINEGUN

This phone is junk. Do not buy it. I've owned about four of them and every single one of them has had problems including freezing up and the battery life is terrible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Garbage *DON'T BUY*

 

Feb 24, 2007 by modestojuggalo

I PAID A LOT MONEY FOR THIS PHONE THINKING THAT FOR THIS MUCH THE PHONE SHOULD BE PRETTY FRESH. I WAS WRONG.I HAD IT FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS BEFORE THE DISPLAY BROKE. I HAD INSURANCE BUT HAD TO PAY CRICKET $80 TO GET ANOTHER. WHICH SUCKED AFTER PAYING $300.00+ FOR THE PHONE. ATER I GOT THE SECOND ONE I TOOK OFF THE INSURANCE. I FIGURED IF IT BROKE AGAIN I WOULD JUST PUT THE$80 TORWARDS A NEW PHONE. AND I HAD THE 2ND ONE FOR 2 MONTHS BE4 THE DISPLAY BROKE ON IT NOW I LOST ALL MY NUMBERS AND EVERYTHING. THE ONLY GOOD THINGS I HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THE PHONE IS THE BLUETOOTH FEATURE. CONS:RING TONES-GARBAGE ,GAMES-GARBAGE,SPEAKER PHONE REALL GARBAGE,WELL BASICALLY EVERYTHING. tHE ONLY REASON I AM EVEN LEAVING A REVIEW IS BECAUSE I WAS VERY UNHAPPY WITH IT . AND I ONLY WISH I HAD LOOKED AT THIS SITE BE4 I BOUGHT MINE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A weak B-minus or strong C-plus

 

Feb 5, 2007 by KersonBaumingartenhausens

Had it 15 months or so now (since late in 2005) and it's a solid "OK." Frankly, I have a list of what I don't like that sounds pretty bad for as little as I dislike it. (Maybe it's time I start expecting more!)

First of all, I only paid $100 bucks for it after a Cricket rebate - so maybe that's a big part of still liking it. And although a few times it has gotten into weird states like the during-call touch-tones won't work - or the screen says crazy stuff on it, pulling and replacing the battery has always restared it. And while it's far down on the list of why I have a phone, the camera seems to be "okay," too.

Problem 1: BATTERY LIFE. I work around this by leaving it plugged in at my desk or in the car - but I'd rather just plug it in overnight everynight. Note: Cricket is the ONLY prepaid plan at less than one cent per ten minutes... No, I don't get "ROLLOVER" (only Cingular has that) but until they can figure our how to give me more than 24 hours in a day, rolling over my unused minutes won't help me much. But battery life for my 45,000 minutes a month sure would.

Problem 2: It takes a lot of pictures of the inside of my pocket.

Problem 3: At 4x2x1 inches, the thing is GIGANTIC. I think the thing weighs in at a quarter-pound. GEEZ!

Problem 3.5: I mainly got it to use bluetooth, and so far, all the headsets I've seen look like they weigh about as much as the phone and would require me to say "RESISTANCE IS FEW-TILE." So it's kinda only half a problem, as if KYO would make a good headset, I'd have one, or if anyone else made one, I could try theirs.

Oh, and CRICKET customer service is TERRIBLE. But at a tenth of a cent per minute, I just can't handle paying 50 times that for service that's still just going to be one or two times less bad on the rare occasions that I need them.

What I WANT is a phone the size of a 5-stick pack of gum (3 x 1 x 1/2). It doesn't have to take pictures, play UT2007 or microwave my lunch.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


kyocera done did it again

 

Feb 2, 2007 by Tennessee

I got this phone Christmas Eve. Two weeks later it started acting a fool. I have had 3 different Kyoceras and all of them were jacked up. I have this phone on the Cellular South network.

Pros:
some nice pics
loud speaker

Cons:
freezes up
blacks out
keys are too far apart
camera button on side cnt lock
words jumble up

I could go on forever. Just take my advice and don't get a Kyocera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Kyocera Xcursion KX160

 

Sep 18, 2006 by james_h44223

I got this phone a little over a week ago. I have to admit, for the price, it's a really nice phone. I love the size of the internal display, as well as how nice and colorful. Nice external display. Has the same wallpaper as the internal display. Also displays the information clearly... the time and date... also when there is an incoming call or a message.

Battery life is ok. I think it could be better if the signal in my area was better. I live in a valley. But it still gets a signal.

Has a really nice and loud speakerphone. The bluetooth is easy to set up... in no time I was literally wireless. All in all, a really nice phone for a pretty good price.

Cons: none yet.

Cons: none yet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Xcursion, Could be better

 

Aug 9, 2006 by amandayhart

I had the Xcursion for about three months this year, and it was the worst phone experience I've ever had.

Pros:
Hold Feature
Large Color Screen
Signal Strength

Mediocre:
The battery life of my phone was average, and unlike some of the others here, I was able to use it while it charged, just not for nearly as long as I needed to.
Bluetooth

Cons:
It would cut on and off completely on its own.
Ringtones do not sound good on these phones. They come out garbled terribly.
Picture quality is terrible and fuzzy no matter what.

I would never invest money into this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Hate It

 

Mar 28, 2006 by mskaren01

I am very unhappy with this purchase. My major problem with this phone is that it is not possible to talk on the phone and charge the battery at the same time. Also the camera pictures are not very clear.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great this is happening again......

 

Jan 23, 2007 by lightskinfonefreak

Ive had this fone for about three weeks now and its already freezing up on me.... not sending my text messeges like normal and not letting me use my bluetooth... this sucks.... i mean i look on the other sites reading about all the good reviews before i bought it and i finall y thought that i was going to get away from cheap fones. I bought this fone from Cricket... online....(big mistake).... it said online that it would only b 3-5 business days yea rite it took them almost three weeks to get here. Then the internet browser wouldn't work rite... what else next... ppl dont get this fone...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1