Phone Scoop

printed November 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=832&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 8700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.05
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 123 4 

8700c is great!

 

May 16, 2006 by jojo2248l

I have had this phone now for 2 months and I love it, great screen, Edge is outstanding.
I also own a 7100 but the 8700 is by far my favorite.
i would highly recomend this phone for business use or like me I use it for everything!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Once you go blackberry, you never go back...berry.

 

May 8, 2006 by BrokenCellPhone

I love to photog and I was a little apprehensive about this device because the blackberries never have cameras. I am moving up in my company, and my manager gave me the new 8700g. It was love at first sight. The wonderful auto-light screen leaves the 7290 in the dust. The reception quality is great and I could even receive calls in certain rooms in my house where I've had problems with my razr. I'm a true blackberry convert.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Adios Palm

 

May 6, 2006 by Kimberibradford

After 5 Palm devices I've finally made the decision to switch to RIM. For all business professionals who are thinking about it...don't wait any longer. The Push email is great, the syncing with your PC is a snap...I had it all set up and synced within 45 mins.

PROS:
Vibrant Screen
Love the QWERTY keyboard vs. multi lttr keys
Easy one hand use
EASY sync with Outlook for calendar & contacts
Real Music Ringtones

CONS:
I feel like for the price of this PDA/Phone, it shouldn't feel like a cheap piece of plastic. It's strange that it functions so well but feels like a piece of crap.

In short, great business tool for people who need instant accessibility.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent phone

 

May 6, 2006 by saa001

I have had the 8700c for a while now and I am very impressed with the unit. I had the Treo 650 before this and the only area that the Treo beats the Blackberry is in signal strength (and thereby by voice quality).

Pros of the Blackberry:
- Great for email and messaging (my messaging has increased dramatically)
-Excellent screen (both in daylight and in dark)
-Able to log onto web pages that the Treo would not let me (i.e. bank web page, some photo web pages)
-Fantastic email device (can't say enough about that)
-Good phone signal and voice quality (not as good as the Treo but fairly good)

Cons:
-Can't check emails when you want, it does it every 15 minutes whether you want it to or not
-Does not have Yahoo Messenger yet (Cingular)
-A camera would be nice but is not mandatory
-No touch screen

Overall a good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


T-mobile 8700g

 

May 2, 2006 by sstrech

I have been a treo & pocket pc guy for years. I test drove a cingular blackberry 7290 a couple years ago and hated it.

I got the T-mobile blackberry 8700g a few days ago. My employer only allows blackberry access to our groupwise email. I am very happy with the device. The battery life is great, the bluetooth works better than my previous pcoket pc phone. The screen is very good. The device is very light.

I am not quite pleased with the 3rd party apps, but that isnt necessarily t-mobile or blackberry mistake. I havent really found anything useful in the personal finance area that really is any good.

Overall, I am quite pleased with the phone and t-mobile service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good email bad phone

 

Apr 1, 2006 by brentjeffcoat

The email and other features are really good and I was hoping this machine would allow me to unify the phone, pda and enterprise email. Not so. Phone is virtually useless.
The background noise is such that without a headset everyone I call complains and frequently I have to repeat myself. In a car, even with a headset, the noise is far too high. In a car (tried in Avalon), if I'm trying to participate in a conference call and anyone is using a speakerphone, the noise level results in blanking out all other conversation. There is, so far as support can tell me, no way to adjust microphone sensitivity. There are other nuisances, but the phone is the killer. Best thing I can say is that it doesn't have a camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Avoid It

 

Mar 10, 2006 by RiverCity1

I'm now about to receive my third 8700C in the past three and one-half months. The first one shut itself down, as in rebooted, everytime I put it in the holster. The second one is impossible to use as a phone since everyone sounds like they are underwater. FedEx is suppose to be shipping the third one to me. But, I don't have much hope it's going to be any better. Feels like I'll be switching to another product very soon. My clients are starting to get pissed when I constantly ask them to repeat themselves.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


8700C

 

Jan 31, 2006 by jrdiaz68

Superb!!! Well done RIM. [...]

Ed. note: removed off-topic comments

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


8700c

 

Jan 13, 2006 by hfkgc

Everything about it is great. Size, screen quality as well as call quality and speaker phone. the only con is the limited BT functionality.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good....Not Great

 

Dec 11, 2005 by XpertO

Pros
Great big screen, themes are nice, ear volume is good, battery life is good. Speaker phone is good

Cons
The ring tones are absolutely horrible, it would be better if the phone would vibrate and ring AT THE SAME TIME, it vibrates about 3 times and then rings, the ring tones are also very low.WHAT HAPPENED TO TRADITIONAL RING TONES???? SOME OF US STILL LIKE THOSE.... I hate the fact that you must have a special data connection feature in your plan in order to access the internet. It is also a little difficult when taking the phone out of the holster, but you get used to it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 123 4 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2