Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=813&r=18696

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T809 / SGH-D820

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.7
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...9

good work of samsung

 

Nov 29, 2006 by anelroa

love this I telephone by almost 8 months, its design was unico, very fine perfect for the pocket of my trousers, screen LCD was impressive, very shining, for that reason master the telefonos of samsung as much by its designs and funsiones that many companies would not ofresen to me.

single tube a single problem with this I telephone that it was the life of bateria, was too short, tapeworm that to load it to the day twice, never habia happened to me with other telefonos. and had many telefonos of samsung like a920, a680, a500, e600, e105 and other but that I do not decide to me.
pros:
great revolving screen
camara of 1,3 megapixel good fine design to
speaker phone
mp3 micro sd

cons:

life of bateria very bad nonflash but I recommend it but for its life of bateria so bad, but if you have shipper of car I believe that you are not going to have ningun problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone !

 

Nov 7, 2006 by friendly_cell

I've had my D820 for about 4 month and i like the phone very much. My provider is Rogers in Toronto, Canada and i have great reception with this phone. Much better than E900.(quad vs tri) here's my list of pros and cons.

pros
- the camera is so cool 1.3( easy to take self pics)
- the mp3 + expended memory.
- interface is easy to use.
- the phone is just great !

cons
- silde is rough (at least for mine)
- camera is a lil slow.

ENJOY the phone and i hope this msg is going to help someone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great phone. Very few CONs.

 

Nov 2, 2006 by estephan500

as they all say, it's an amazing phone with a great design and incredible screen and strong features. I will only mention the strongest CONS here because the pros are too many and people repeat them endlessly.

Bad thing number one: If you wanted to sync with MICROSOFT OUTLOOK, i.e. your CALENDAR and your CONTACTS, then that is a big question. Phonescoop is incorrect when they say "YES" for that feature on their specs. The Samsung software that ships with the phone actually has the Outlook sync NOT function for this particular model. that was a bummer. HOWEVER, if it is important to you, then buy the third party phone syncing software called Datapilot. They say that they can do it. HOWEVER, NOTE: (a) if you are going to sync using bluetooth, BUY THEIR BLUETOOTH ADAPTER FOR YOUR COMPUTER. because their sync does not work with the default microsoft bluetooth, it wants WidComm or whatever that other fuller bluetooth system is. So buy Datapilot's bluetooth adapter unless you are certain that your bluetooth is widcomm (very much doubt that.) (b) if for some reason you're not thinking to sync using bluetooth but instead want to use a cable, BUY Datapilot's USB cable. their software doesn't work with the default samsung usb cable. they have some funky proprietary kind.

Bad thing number two: no voice dialing for those of us that really make use of a hands-free earpiece. Oh well! no huge deal.

I really am considering flashing the software into the d820, as described elsewhere on this forum and also around the posts on this site:
http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=890496&page=17&pp=15

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Was good, but now disappointed

 

Nov 1, 2006 by pashomina

When I first got this phone back in March, I was so happy with it. I loved how it slides and I think it looks really nice. Not cheap at all. But I started having problems with it after about six months. Sometimes when someone called me, it wouldn't let me answer it OR deny it. It just kept ringing. Also, sometimes when I end a call, it freezes and I have to take the battery out then put it back in because I can't do anything with it.

I sent it in to T-Mobile and they sent me another one (I had to pay the shipping, even though it wasn't my fault that the phone was being stupid) but this new one does the same things, only not as bad. I'm thinking that the model of phone is maybe a lemon. I'm just getting really frustrated so I bought a T509 off of e-bay so I can switch in and out.

Aside from these problems, I love the phone!

PROS:
Convenient slider
Awesome camera
MP3 player
T-Mobile is a great carrier
Nice large menu icons

CONS:
Freezes after calls and sometimes from- incoming calls
Short battery life
Low texting memory

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Review for D820 not t809

 

Oct 20, 2006 by BiGg RiE

Ok i've had this phone for almost a year and was seriously considering a new one until I flashed this phone to the D820 firmware about 2 months ago. Litterally everything I didn't like about the T809 is fixed by doing this:
~Acsending ringer = fixed
~Vibe & Ring together = fixed
~Lack of email client = fixed
~install of non-signed java apps = fixed
~Mp3 ringtones without renaming = fixed
~Unlock phone for use with any GSM carrier = fixed
~Can't turn off camera shutter sound = Fixed
~Asign different soft keys functions = fixed
and much more.

the only reason I gave this phone a 4.5 instead of a 5 is because of the lack of voice dailing on a phone that has a voice recorder, this doesn't make sense. and the battery life just plain sucks I'm luck if i get through one day of use without a recharge.

Oh, and i think the guys at phone scoop should do a seperate review for the D820 firmware because it is truely a completely different phone. Or at least note in the specs analasist the differences between the two firmwares. To simply put it in the title isn't enough. The D820 firmware truly shows how this phone was ment to be used.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST... PHONE... EVER!!!

 

Oct 15, 2006 by Tonylegend01

The t809 is the phone of my dreams. I have had the phone since it came out and, I have "upgraded" it twice and still, I come back to my t809. It has a crystal clear LCD screen and, the camera is amamzing. The sound quality is excellent. I can hear my phone ringing while walking in downtown San Francisco during rush hour. It is very user friendly and, take a good beating to. Plus, this phone looks downright down dope with the sleek black finsh. The drawsback is battery life, I have to carry around my charger everwhere. Other than that, this is the best phone ever!

Tonylegend

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good enough phone

 

Sep 16, 2006 by simmonz

This phone is slim, light weight, great LCD screen, good sound quality, and since I'm not that tech savvy, it has all the basic features I need...I don't think this phone has a lot of extras, but at least it has Bluetooth. The reception is good, even when there is one bar on my phone, I can still hear the other person on the line just fine.

The 3 most annoying features about this phone are that the battery life is pretty short, it is difficult to slide open without putting your fingers all over the screen, and that it freezes/lags sometimes.

I got this phone through T-Mobile for a pretty good deal so although it's not perfect, I can't say that I feel jipped.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone on market

 

Sep 9, 2006 by txnplayboy22

This is the BEST phone on the market for Tmobile, I work in the wireless industry and the T809 is a great phone, I love my phone. If you get tmobile you have to get this phone, it is by far the best phone Tmobile has and the one with the least problems!!!
Pros:
Great Camera
Great Audio
Awesome LCD
Swivel Camera
Expandable Memory
Use custom ring tones (just convert MP3's to 3GP format)

Cons:
Ascending ringtones
No option to change Text Message Alert,

Those are minor cons, but you have to get this phone if you have tmobile

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best phone

 

Sep 2, 2006 by t019t

this phone rocks i love it. it is the best phone that i have owned. i have owned 23 phones. everything is great on this phone.

pros
awsome camera
video recording untill memory full
mp3 player
loud speakers
awsome look
just all awsome

cons
rf is on the ok side but it can be better

in general get this phone if you are getting tmobile. it is awsome and i hope you love it as much as i do......

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very cool!!!

 

Aug 18, 2006 by Ukonobai

The T809 gets dusty sometimes but it's like a habit now to wipe every five hours.

Pros
The MP3 is nice because I don't have an IPod and the sound is very clear.
The photo quality isn't as good as the videos, strangely, but the phone isn't suppossed to be used as just a digital camera.
I can't live with a phone that doesn't have a video camera and this phone has a clear camera that doesn't show it's videos in "blobs".
And it's a good thing it's a slider. If I flip open a phone then I often press a button by accident which annoys me. And I have only pressed a button twice on the T809.
It's better than the RAZR and the SLVR because those two can break easily.

Cons
I cannot find the Bluetooth.
The sliding is getting squeaky.
Some photos looked "smeared".
The web browser is slow.
I love the games but the sound is too high and I am having trouble lowering it.

It's a great phone but not the best. It's better than the D807 though for quality in photos and videos.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...9

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1