Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=812&r=24191

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 7100i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  20  

Average Ratings

4.1
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

How do you say... POS!

 

Oct 19, 2007 by ajmanz

This phone is horrible. It broke by falling out of my holster. I ended up buying a 7520 on eBay and love it much better then the 7100i. The 7100i is made up of the cheapest plastic you can find. I will admit that I liked the size and screen better on the 7100i but other than that it is a POS. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. The 7520 is the way to go! It is a shame Nextel doesn't make the 7520 anymore, but there are tons on eBay for under $100.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7100i is the Nextel I'd Choose, If I could afford the plan

 

May 19, 2006 by motorola1

It works as a great phone, has neat features like detecting when it's put into or taken out of the holster. Screen turns on as soon as you lift it off your hip, very cool! Mad sound profile configuration. Charges via USB port on any computer, sweet!

The predictive text system is pretty good, the QWERTY layout was nice. Very popular forums discussing software and themes are available for the BBs.

Direct connect is good, works just like a normal NEXTEL Moto phone. Speakerphone seemed to vary a lot in volume between calls. Earpiece distorts around mid volume. But call quality is top notch. Menus are fast (4.1.0.136 OS). Device looks durable, more built out than the other providers' 7100s.

Unfortunately, Nextel MANDATES that you have a data plan, and their billing system will automatically bill you for the data plan, even if you use it as an offline PDA and phone. Real bummer, as there is no other NEXTEL phone with a display as nice for managing notes, contacts and taking memos. Also, display is difficult to read outdoors unless you pump the brightness up momentarily using the power button. You can't send text messages without the (currently) $39.99 data plan.

Looks like I'll have to get a less-cool-looking 7105t from T-Mobile. But if you're stuck on NEXTEL's Direct Connect, you love features, and you can afford the $49 (cuurent) price for the data plan in addition to your minutes, I don't think that you'll be dissappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


great tool

 

Dec 8, 2005 by dustin2697

Just upgraded to the7100i from the bb7520. Love it. Feels more like a phone than a business tool but still has all the great blackberry features. Would recommend this over the other blackberrys for any nextel user.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


First Blackberry I have ever owned.

 

Oct 26, 2005 by Sirfubu

Okay I have owned this thing for about 2 days now and I gotta say whomever dubbed these things Crackberries were not messing around. The 7100i is lighter than it looks. The Blackberry options (Push E-Mail, Berry 411) are the bomb so I won't go into detail about that. The MMS is also a plus, I know people will say but it doesn't have a camera, buy a digital camera folks, it's worth the extra $200.00 you can spend and get a decent 5 Mega-Pixel one. Once you have them on your P.C. all you gotta do is send an e-mail to the BB to use as your background or send to other BB users or cellphones. Okay enough here are some pros and cons. And the antennae is not a con all Nextel Phones have to have an antennae.

PRO's
Great Screen, Color wise and size
SureType is awesome and easy to use
Reception is the same as any Nextel Phone
PTT on the side instead of on top

CON's
Holster doesn't swivel
Thumbwheel lags a bit, not that noticable
Doesn't feel tough, kind of plasticy.

I will still keep this BB and use it for a while its got everything you need and some you don't need. But you don't have to use all of the applications.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7100i

 

Feb 12, 2006 by W1ll1am

I think it is a great phone and a even better way to stay in contact anywhere. I've had the phone for a few months now and I have never known such access. I never miss a email. I find I use my "out of office" message a lot less. Although unlike some others I was able to find a leather carry case with a swivel belt clip. I have even began to use the instant messenger alittle. The only thing is that the blackberry IM only works with other blackberry users.

Pro's :
MMS
Email
Bluetooth
Application : Password Keeper
lightweight

Con's :
Earpiece still has low sound.
Battery lasts only a day.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


IT'S ABOUT TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Oct 20, 2005 by KEVIN1270

Well I think this phone is great i have no problems with it except one. The vibrate is to weak thats it.overall Nextel DID GREAT on this phone and the price wow it's a steal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It Works Great!!!

 

Nov 7, 2005 by njwhite

I am enjoying this phone alot! Like the other reviews it does seem less durable than the BB 7520 that I had previously. I will keep it anyway!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7100i

 

Feb 24, 2009 by JohnA1350

I've had this phone for over a year, it was sold as new but found out it was reconditioned, I heard through sources that Sprint tends to do this with their phones and pda's. Biggest problem is you have to reboot every day, constantly losing email and text messages! One other problem I don't know if many have had but it will call the last person called just when setting the phone down, yes thats right, so when I place it on the counter top and plug in the charger I noticed it was making a call this happened at least 30 times in one month

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Good Phone

 

Oct 25, 2007 by bloppy

Very good Reception
the phone has allot of functions.
very Good speaker phone.
excellent screen
the sound are not to good in my opinion but it is ok.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Jul 17, 2007 by srcaseyjr

I love the 7100 blackberry, nice keypad, and track wheel. lots of features you would love, too many to list. you can set the screen so many ways, pass word keeper for all your accounts, battery life ok, easily set up other email accounts also

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1