Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=795&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-D357

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  75  

Average Ratings

3.17
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Great Phone wit PTT

 

Jan 25, 2006 by bee1cee2

Intially when this phone was launched the PTT was difficult to set up because of network issues with Cingular. After Cingular and Samsung techs got together and fixed the problem this phone has worked like a charm. The voice on the PTT is clear and fast fast fast. Many more features then Nextel. The network so so much more realiable and far larger calling area. Samsung and Cingular hit a home run with this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


D357

 

Dec 10, 2005 by darrinpruitt

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


D357 call listening volume is too low!!!

 

Jan 2, 2006 by MemphisDude

From Memphis, TN.

I'm not 92 years old I'm 32. I didn't think I had bad hearing until I got this phone recently. It's been a week now and my only beef (and the one that will cause me to take this phone back to Cingular tomorrow) is that you can't hear what the caller is saying to you 50% of the time. It's not that there's static in the line or that occasionally cuts out, it's just that the volume is too low! It's very frustrating. I think I'm going to try the Moto V557 instead. Problem is that there aren't that many Bluetooth phones to choose from.

Pros: I like everything else about the phone.

Cons: listening volume too low (only raises to level 5 whereas my old Samsung VGA100 raised up to level 8).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I don't like IT!

 

Feb 20, 2006 by GrandmaT

I've tried to adjust to this phone. I've had it for a week, but I just don't like it. The buttons on the side are in awkward places, I keep pushing them at the wrong time. And the sound quality...well let me just say, there is no quality! My daughter and I got the same phone on the same day. She hates hers as much as I hate mine. You just can't hear the person talking to you. I've already called to see if I could exchange my phone. I've never done that before!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone so far

 

Jan 25, 2006 by pubongxlakas

Well i got this phone Samsung d357 for christmas and it is pretty good so far i love the way it looks and all the features. for me, a camera isnt needed so it fits just perfect.
Pros:
Lightweight
looks great
has great ring tones

Cons:
The sound quality sucks but oh well
after a while the contrast changes
do anyone have that problem?

overall, its a good phone i recommend it personally its definately a keeper!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Pleased

 

Jan 5, 2006 by kosset

Cons: I've had this phone for a week & plan on returning it to Cingular. The volume is no volume at all. Even on the highest setting, which is a 5, you can barely hear the person you're talking to, and have to keep asking them to repeat what they said. The ring volume is no good, unless I have it in my hand, you can't hear it very well. Can't hear it at all if you have it inside of a purse.

Pros: Love the size, but that's about all that's positve about it. My Samsung X427 was much better than this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


PTT Phone

 

Dec 15, 2005 by HaloHero

This Samsung phone is amazing. PTT is so much clearer compared to NEXTEL and the availability is incredible. The texting is somewhat unimpressive on a count of I used to use the V3 and it gives you alternate words at the bottom of the screen. The customization fell a little short. You can customize the directionals (which is why I did not choose the LG F7200) but not the soft keys...yet you can change the numbers as you dial to either black and white or color!!?? PTT can be accessed straight from the outside screen without ever opening the flip. Numbers are really big and the color on the main screen is amazing as well. Bluetooth is always a must for me and the phone can sync with a lot of devices. The phone itself is very light and compact, which is why I liked the V3. Very loud earpiece and speakerphone. Voice recognition is such a great feature as well. Open applications, call numbers in your phonebook without "training" the names like I had to with the V3 (pain), and lookup names as well. The phone itself is a great buy even if you don't want the PTT feature. It is user friendly and for the cost, is a great deal. TRY THE PTT THOUGH. IT'S AWESOME!!!!

P.S. Let's get some data cables though. Ha Ha

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


At last

 

Dec 15, 2005 by policechief

...a push-to-talk that works well as a cell phone too.
This phone is a keeper!
I would have liked metal faceplates, but you can't have it all. Kudos to Cingular and Samsung.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very AVerage Phone

 

Feb 9, 2006 by plane

Thought I wanted PTT, decided after trail that m2m works almost as well, and it's free--just is just me.

I've been (and will use again the moto 551/557), with which I had been fairly well satisfied--Had and likes a samsung w/ vzw, and expected more bang with the sammy--IMO, it ain't there.

Now it's now a bad phone, it just ain't a great phone.

Pros

Reception seems good
speaker phone adequate/but difficult to navigate to, unless I'm missing something
I like the phone size, smaller than 551, is a cool looking phone. but to me it's like a great looking woman/man whose only feature is aesthetics. (It's like a blond joke) Nothing against blonds

as a basic phone I guess is okay--could be/should be. a lot, a whole lot better

Cons
I have read the negatives on both this sam and the moto
I may just be used to the moto, but menu navigation (as bad as it is claimed on the moto) is even more horrible with this phone. The moto, has some problems with the menu programming, but at least it offers some choices. It seems that someone just randomly reached into a box, drew out features, and just as randomly placed them into some of the available positions.

I like the address book to be listed/searchable by either number of name--while it is possible, not convenient.

Accessory selection/prices etc. Do an ebay search for moto--there are thousands available--I can't even find a battery for this phone

I understand the negative comments about the ptt phone selection very clearly now-- If I just had to have ptt, I would hang onto this unit--I may try ptt again with another future brand, but this sam goes back tomorrow.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NO - This isn't the Samsung I used to know

 

Dec 15, 2005 by adf111

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2