Phone Scoop

printed September 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=759&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A850

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  97  

Average Ratings

2.85
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

This phone honestly is great and durable

 

Jul 24, 2010 by narn3049

I owned this for about 2 years, I probably got it wet about 2 times, it still worked, and was dropped tons to where the front screen covering glass was off that screen was cracked and all the black bordering around the top was off because it was dropped so much, but it still worked. I dropped it and it hit the corner of a brick on our patio and seperated the flip a little so that the flexcable was torn. This phone was extrememly durable. You should get one if one of your kids is wanting to get a phone.

Pros:
Camera
EVERYTHING ELSE
Durable

Cons:
Really nothing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SAmsung SCH-a850 (sucks)

 

Oct 27, 2007 by ash5674

i personally hate this phone i bought it from metro when it first came out over a year ago. at first it was a great phone lacked features (blue tooth) that i wanted but overall ok. about five months of enjoying it i decided to turn it off and it never came back on! it just kept re-loading until i either took out the battery or it died. i started pushing numbers to see if it would do something but all it did was turn the screen blue and display "emergency UART uplaod mode" i had to take it back to metro over a dozen time for various reasons....

PROs:
~kinda cute
~sturdy design
~great voice recognition
~cool features
~power save mode came in handy

CONs
~randomly deletes pictures
~locks you out of your messages
~freezes
~limited storage space
~small inbox/oubox
~low on technology
~bad reception
~hot battery
~bad picture quality

overall it sucks, good thing it was discontinued...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone!

 

Oct 23, 2007 by Baggio

I've had this phone for two years now, and even though I can replace it in a month, don't think I will due to its outstanding performance.

Pros: Always a good signal
Easy to use
GREAT Speaker phone
Sturdy (Dropped a bunch of times)

Cons: Camera: Pictures are too dark
Battery life could be better

Overall, the phone has and continues to do its job superbly. I would buy this style phone again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Okay For Beginers

 

Jan 25, 2007 by JeepGuy80

The phone reboots for no reason. Although options are nice such as speaker phone and ease of use... The voice software absolutely sucks. Also, the battery gets to hot, making everything go wacky. Not the best that Samsung has ever made... Which is why I am getting the SCH-i730... This phone is not bad for first time users...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its a good phone

 

Apr 11, 2006 by princess2006

I got the phone about 5 months ago...the phone is a pretty good phone. It does have its days when it just cuts off for no reason and right in the middle of a call it likes to drop the call!

Pros:
Great camera...better than most I've seen
Loud speaker phone
Plays true tones
Great service
Very good durability...I drop my phone ALOT

Cons:
Not blue-tooth capable
ugly red lines on top and bottom of screen
doesn't hold enough pictures in albums
the get it now access is too slow

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Junk

 

Feb 6, 2006 by Black Diamond

Hey,

This phone is junk and they use it as a bait and switch.

They have no signal unless you are close to a tower.

The battery life is crap. We have had two sets of these phones along with replacement batteries. They only hold a charge for a few hours. Example I plugged the phone in to charge at noon, unhooked it fully charged at 5:15 pm. At 10:30PM the phone powered itself off due to low battery. It has been this was on all four of these phones we have had and also with the replacement batteries.

The store suggests that we upgrade to the 950 at our cost. HMMMM let's see we can't get the cheap phones to work for them so we will upgrade them at their cost, What a frikken racket. We are returning the phones and going back to our old contract and switching to someone else when our contract is up in a few months.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a good experience...

 

Nov 12, 2005 by cellmanstan

This phone has been a major letdown (Thankfully we have 15 days to return it). I purchased it with Verizon Wireless service, and although Verizon is great (I use the Motorola E815 with no problems), the Samsung A850 has been disappointing at best.

PROS:

> Compact Size
> Nice Size LCD
> Easy Navigation

CONS:

> Poor Reception (Columbus, OH)

Even with a full signal, the user sounds muffled.

> Unintelligible Speakerphone

> No way to erase all contacts simultaneously

(must erase one by one, an unnecessary headache)

Though this is an entry-level phone, the call quality is unacceptable. When talking to my wife while she was using the phone, I had to ask her to repeat every other sentence. When she switched phones the problem was resolved.

If you want a cheap camera phone and are not concerned about call quality, this is the phone for you. Otherwise based on the other reviews, I would steer clear and try something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not the greatest

 

Oct 3, 2005 by thetrevor

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung SCH-A850

 

Oct 5, 2005 by ryjb219

Well this phone is mighty deceiving I was thinking I was going to get one of the better phones I had seen for a while. The menu is horrible it is just like the LG VX5200 I think it is becoming a standard on Verizon Blah.

Pros:
*Good headset quality
*Reception is good
*Button are nicely spaced

Cons:
*Speaker phone not to great
*I hate the inside screen being on during the whole call

I know that as time people will find new things about this phone that I have maybe missed. And as always you dont have to take my word for it. For the price you pay you are better off going with something with more features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


simple but dependable

 

Apr 12, 2006 by jtron01

if you live in a rural area DO NOT expect to get very good reception. this phone only works on the newer digital towers. which means its fine when your in or around a big city but if your in an rural area it probably wont work very well. the fact that its digital only will also account for the fact that the antenna doesn't extend.

pros
-basic simple phone which results in less problems
-loud ringer
-clear speaker phone
-good clarity

cons
-not the best camera (my old Samsung SPH-A860 has the same camera built into it but the pictures are much clearer)
-camera does not have flash
-phone randomly powers on and off. although this is probably just a problem with my specific phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1