Phone Scoop

printed September 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=746

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera KX12

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Average Ratings

3.69
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Cheek to Cheek

 

Jan 22, 2007 by GravityFails

Originally purchased at full retail as a replacement for a malfunctioning E815, I quickly dismissed the KX12 as a something of a moose, as it's clunky, unattractive, and slow.

Eight months later, the KX12 is still clunky, unattractive, and slow, yet I've developed a new appreciation for such qualities in a phone.

In spite of the grippy rubber material that covers 90% of this phone's exterior, I've managed to drop it a few times on the kitchen floor. With each incident it's bounced back up, laughed in my face, and inquired, rather belligerently, "oh yeah? What else ya got?" It's tough. I think it might be tougher than I am.

The screen? Let's be honest; it ain't pretty. It's slow, and there's considerable ghosting, but I got used to it after a while. The 5-way center button creaks when you manipulate it, but I got used to that too. No, this is not a device for someone with severe aesthetics appreciation syndrome.

But the call quality is top-notch. No static, no hum, no whistles. No drops, no phantom mariachi bands in the background. It displays an in-call timer while on a call, something I personally appreciate, but which might not be a concern to anyone else.

The keypad is designed for easy access and sports keen pushability, unlike some of the finicky Nokias out there, which require the manual dexterity of an Asian electronics assembler. The keys light up with an even, brilliant blue that's visible from the ISS on clear night.

The topper, though? It's got a flashlight. Not some wimpy camera flash that can double as a flashlight in a pinch, but an honest-to-Ralph, use-it-all-the-time LED flashlight. A phone and a flashlight in one.

I think I'm in heaven.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone!!

 

Oct 14, 2006 by deege47

This phone continues to impress me. Despite all the abuse that it has endured, it still maintains it's original workability. The battery life is astounding...I only recharge it once every 3 days. The reception is top-notch also. This phone pulls a signal from just about everywhere. Overall, this is a great phone and it is just that...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not the phone for me!

 

Aug 17, 2006 by oneplustwins

The one good thing I can say is that the battery life is awesome! I can go several days without charging it.

Now with why I don't like it -

The buttons on the side of the phone don't always work. The ringer sound on most of them is very quiet. My husband says he hates my phone because I never answer it. I'm a girl so I think it is extremely ugly and too big, jmo.

You're probably wondering why I have it... I pretty much got stuck with it. My son lost my previous phone and they didn't make it anymore so they sent me this one. I can't wait to get rid of it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok

 

Dec 24, 2009 by narn3049

I owned this phone and really loved it when I owned it. But let me say that it's slow, the keypad is kind of slow laggy when dialing, as I am fast at typing on the cell phone that I get many typos.

It is very rugged. I was on a roof and dropped it 8/9 ft to the ground and the phone still looked fine and worked fine. Now for the water test, it was washed once, and it worked fine, I dropped it again at a very tall height and it refuses now to power up. I think I did something to it.

This phone is not that attractive, rubbery etc, and it took a good beating before I had owned it (got it for free used)

The battery charging was great, now I own a Jax and a Samsung Alias.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very good phone if you indeed want a phone

 

Oct 8, 2007 by Robert S.

I am in the cellular industry and i used many phones and i use this one for the features it has and i do not compare it to other models. This is a real fair review of the this phone

First the bad,

This phone does have somewhat slow menus and the screen is somewhat small and old but it serves it purposes well

The Good:

Great speaker phone!
Rugged Body
Great call reception
Great call quality
Incredible battery life
and many features like calculator and day timer.
Push to talk works very well

Over all this phone does not have many features but it is a great phone for what it is! If you like a great phone that wont crack on you then this is the phone for you!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Piefce of junk! But nice rubber paper weight!

 

May 23, 2007 by xyzpdq123456

This phone is a piece of junk! It was given as an insurance replacement to me after my motorola 262 died. (and i thought that phone was a piece!) Anyways i was not impressed at all!

Pro:
great battery life
nice "rubber" crap on the outside so it did not break

Cons
the screen is puny
the keys are horrid
the side buttons are stupid
you put it in your pocket and you get it confused for a small brick
awful ringtones (my energi had the same ones)
really slow

Overal it is a piece of junk!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone but slow menu

 

Aug 31, 2006 by cjh_2002

This is a GREAT phone, but the menu is slow, as the last person stated. It definately stands up to dirt and moisture, I have never seen any other phone take the abuse from me as this one has and it still works great!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Tough but Slow

 

Aug 8, 2006 by z1fireman

This phone is an OK phone I had the extended life battery but it seems to only last a few days on standby. The big problem I had with this phone is that it was real slow reacting to button pushes. Example: Taking the key guard off takes 2-3 seconds of wait to get it to take, also this way with speed dial, making it not so speedy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1