Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=716&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-5200 / 6200

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

2.99
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4567

Pros and Cons

 

Feb 18, 2007 by markcaruth

I've owned the VX5200 for a year now; got 3 of them on a Verizon Family plan promotion.

PROS
Decent design

Buttons and navigation are reasonable

Screen is above average

Camera and pictures are OK

Speaker phone is OK

CONS
Hearing others takes getting use to; it's a "digital" type sound that's unnatural.

Signal strength is worse than my previous Cingular/Motorola phone.

The "weekly" calendar reminder will not work. This is a programming flaw that has yet to be fixed with software updates, and is terribly annoying since I rely heavily on weekly reminders. A tech told me I could change the sequence I entered the info and it would work, but I've still had no luck. (The daily, monthly, and yearly reminders work well.)

Once you view a reminder, you have no easy way to be re-reminded in a few minutes (i.e., like a "snooze" button); you must re-program the event. My previous phone had this feature and it was great.

You cannot silence a reminder without opening the phone.

Bottom line: I will be glad to finish this contract and try something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


fragile

 

Jan 22, 2007 by kgdowling

Cons:
Reception: is not that good.
Bad Sound: Too much airtime wasted asking callers to repeat garbled speech.
Case: Fragile, brittle, badly made case.

Pros: Good battery life if you buy the larger capacity battery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


THIS PHONE IS GARBAGE!!!

 

Dec 29, 2006 by Azaria

I gave this phone HALF of a point, and that was only for good reception-on good days. This phone is complete garbage, thanks Verizon.

-Silent/Vibrate NEVER work. Not fun when you are in class, and your phone randomly goes off. I took it to Verizon and they just gave me a new, but still, crappy vx5200-and this one does the same exact thing.

-NO ringtones....unless you want to pay $3.00 for them. On my old VX6000 I could make my own, or send them to my phone...not on this one. Unless you buy some program and a USB cable and work your magic, your stuck with sucky ringtones.

-Camera-is terrible unless you are in a well lit area

-Phone doesn't ring loud enough...and doesn't ring at all when open.

-The theme colors are hideous....how do you have 4 themes but only 2 colors (red and blue?) Again on my vx6000 i had everything from green to purple.

-Sending a text message is a pain

-Phone randomly freezes up..have to take the battery out and put back in

-Scratches VERY easily...(not like my VX6000) and I too have a spot where the cheap blue paint rubbed off under the screen

-Battery life? Please. If you really use your phone, it will be dead before the end of the day.

I am looking for a new phone, or reverting back to my LG VX6000 because I can't take it anymore. I can't wait until my contract is up because Verizon isn't the best that's out there anymore, and most of their phones now are complete crap...like this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NICE

 

Nov 28, 2006 by aries5823

I had this phone for a week before I Broke it. Its a good phone, lots of good features, games ringtones... No video recorder but great cam with flash. YOO HOO

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my hunk of junk

 

Nov 28, 2006 by need4speedgrl33

CONS: This phone is horrible. Do not buy it. i have had my phone for 7 months and i have a clear hole where the blue has rubbed off from my pocket,
the camera makes everything look animated, the ear piece volume sucks,
you can hardly understand what the people are saying if your using the speaker phone,
the metal piece on the bottom of the phone where it grabs the charger cord has fallen out of mine and my brothers phone.

PROS: the only things i like about the phone are that you can set a picture as the background on the outside of the phone and it is very fast and easy to text people.

oh and also this happened to me last week, i sent a text message to a friend but the phone in my pocket, walked 20 feet, pulled it out and my screen lights up, but all i can see is a blue light, on the inside and outside screen. it is still like that and i am getting a new phone tomorrow. hopefully not this piece of [...].

if you buy this phone, be prepared to to get pissed off at it and buy a new phone very quickly.

Ed. note: edited for language

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not super happy

 

Nov 6, 2006 by urfavegirrl

I'm not really impressed by this phone, I've owned others that, while they didn't have cameras (which I don't think is an important feature on a camera other than to look expensive and "cool"), were much better phones.

Pros:
Camera, see above
Pretty good reception

Cons:
Bigger than what I'd like in a phone
Weird menus (or maybe I'm just not used to LG)
camera quality was bad
ANNOYING ringers! ICK!
poor battery life
people say they can't hear me when I call them
randomly goes out of predictive text/T9 mode when txting

Like I said, I didn't like this phone, had it for about a week or so, and wasn't too impressed, switched to a "lesser" model without camera, and was happier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Voice Quality

 

Oct 2, 2006 by KatTorrez

Poor Sound quality and many dropped Calls. This one went bad and I really can hear well on the Motorola 325!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Performer

 

Sep 18, 2006 by jreisner

I selected 4 of these phones for my office since they seemed to have a good set of features for the price and I am a fan of LG quality and workmanship.

After 1 year of faithful service I can only give this phone the highest rating.

3 reasons:

1) Not one reported problem in one year. All 4 phones are still operating as new.

2) Outstanding battery life.

3) Smooth, quick, easy to use interface.

My only recommendation: If you want/need bluetooth go with the newer 5300 which is essentially an updated 5200.

Enough said.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So-So

 

Sep 16, 2006 by KaVari

This phone is okay I had it for about a year now and I think I could have done better when I bought it. I give this phone a 2.5 because overall it just isn't all they say it was suppose to be. If you are looking for a phone that you just want to be able to call without the features of most phones (mp3,Vcast esc.) then this phone is perfect for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


did not like

 

Aug 5, 2006 by lynnie8

This phone was a replacement for my lg vx 6100 and i did not like it at all it took a long time to register when you answered your phone and volume was horrible

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2