Phone Scoop

printed November 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=71

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A400

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.17
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Samsung A400

 

Feb 25, 2002 by rjmoose

The A400 arrived at my house today and it's pretty cool (of course, I always say that about new phones!!!). Like Chum reported, it is a bit wider than the 5250, but it is a lot thinner than what the pictures indicate. It has a cool, new menu system that allows you to make multiple setting changes without having to go back in and do all the steps over again. The ringers are about the same. The volume and ear-piece quality and signal strength are very good .....so far. It is real sleek looking, but it does not really have any features on it that would give it the "WOW" factor. Of course, it does not have the external caller ID, but I can live without that until the next "perfect" phone comes out. What else....the display is real clear and sharp and the phone is really light, but it still feels solid and contours to your ear nicely. I would have to say it is basically a new and revamped 8500. It comes shipped with PRL 10014. Also, 4 games are on it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Had to go back an get it !!!

 

Apr 6, 2002 by Roland Smith

Well I had bought the Sanyo 5150, and I loved it with all the little toys and the full color screen, I give it a 5 really for the technology but as far as the signal strength and reception is very poor to say it cost 300.00, but i had tried the Samsung A400 before I had bought the Sanyo 5150, and i was really impressed with the Signal strength and reception of the A400 I was getting signals where I could not get them before with my 8500, plus it added the games to it and the voice volume is awesome, very clear, and the idle screen, and I like the new key pad and the big numbers for the display, but I hate they took out the Voice Memo I really used that alot and hope they bring it back soon, but I went back and bought the Sanyo 5150 I was happy with it for about a week, and when I saw how poor the Signal Strength was I had to go Back and get the Samsung A400, because I rather have A good Phone that has the reception that I need then to have a phone that looks good and has nothing else to offer. So to get to the point the Samsung A400 is the best phone to me. I don't know why I strayed away from Samsung because I had been Faithful up until now , " I am sorry" I will never do it again I will just wait for Ya ll = "Samsung" to come out with a Full Color Screen.

Thanks Samsung for being so Reliable

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


My first lost phone

 

Sep 29, 2010 by Chillinpape

This phone was lost in a hotel and there person that found it called a bunch of 900#'s WOW Awesome how this was what I remember about this phone. Sprint was awesome about those charges

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not a bad phone

 

Feb 15, 2005 by jayslady

Just thought I'd let you know what we're think here in Canada about this phone---It's a quality phone, with a nice external display, but it tends to get really warm with excessive use-I've had mine for almost a year now and the only downside is that I wish it had a camera(but for the price, we can't be choosy!) I really like the size and weight of the A400, but it is oddly shaped(a weird rectangular shape). All in all, it's a good phone that I have recommended to many friends!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!

 

Sep 9, 2004 by kenofive

This A400 in my opinion is the best! This phone is affordable and very reliable! I've always liked the flip or clam shell design! I bought this phone on ebay 2 years ago and it's still works like new! When it comes to cell phones and service. Just think Samsung and Sprint!!! I started with the Motorola 3000 which was analog, then I moved to the Motorola Startac 7867W. Then to this awesome Samsung A400. I liked Samsung so much that I went out and bought the A620 too. These 2 phones and the Sprint service is the best for overall satisfaction! I use the Samsung A620 as my modem and connects at 115,000 bps.
Goodbye dialup! So between the internet service and the phone call use. Say goodbye to the Home phone, throw away the caller id box and answering machine and say goodbye to dialup service!!! SAMSUNG AND SPRINT ARE HERE!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


One of the best....

 

Aug 3, 2003 by ajgalli

This is one of the best phones I've ever used. I don't use a phone other than my cell. I did replace it with the A500, but I sometimes regret that. I love my A500, but my A400 was awesome. Battery life is very good. It gets good reception (in Chicago and most of the US.) Never have any problems with dropping calls. In the 8 months I had the phone, I can count how many times I dropped a call on one hand. Mostly that was in my kitchen where EVERY cell phone drops a call.

This was a great phone to me. I miss it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME

 

Nov 18, 2002 by Bob Bahrami

I have a Samsung A400 and have had it for 6 months now and I know the ins and out of sprint and I have to say the A400 is by far the best phone sansung has produced.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cool phone, good features

 

Aug 3, 2002 by Doron Beit-Halahmi

A solid, durable phone that is not only packed with some pretty amazing features, but pulls in a pretty strong signal as well .... Compared with some of the other phones Sprint PCS has to offer, this lineup of phones has to be one of their best. I am totally planning on getting the A500 when it comes out, as it can only be even more amazing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Rants & raves

 

Apr 10, 2002 by Sujeet Bambawale

Keeping this as simple as I possibly can, here's a short summary:

If call quality, battery life, size, features and looks at a reasonable price are your prime considerations in buying a mobile phone, then this would be a prime recommendation.

This phone, in my opinion, is a worthy successor to the feature-rich 8500. Too bad that they had to take the voice memo feature out of the bag while making this one, but I'll give them a few points for moving the headphone jack to the top, and for reducing the width of the phone to a significantly thinner profile.

This phone would have received a 5.0 rating from me, if it weren't for the removal of the voice memo feature, and if it weren't for the almost-esoteric GPS functionality. I've heard a plethora of seemingly confused responses to my queries regarding an explanation of the user-facing features of this phone's GPS capabilities. If the GPS features of this phone pushed up the price, and they can't tell me what I paid for, then it does take my appreciation slider down by a few points.

All in all, this is a great phone and very good value for its price. For those who haven't used / seen a 8500, refer to the 8500 review elsewhere on this site.

Regards,
Sujeet

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1