Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=696&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson K750 / W800 / D750 / W700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.98
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 12 3 

Problems with firmware

 

Jul 8, 2005 by jonnyboynyc

When will Sony Eric. fix their firmware or software bugs? I thought that since the k750 was so advertised and so much with new amazing features, that they finally fixed their bad reputation of phone bugs. Well,
now I see I was wrong.

I also have realized that the advertising of this phone by gsmarena.com is provided by CON. Advertisers from that site ( I'm sure Sony paid them good money for that favor), since they always emphasize on Sony phones as if other brands are nothing comparing to Sony.

PROS:
-Amazing camere for a cell. phone
-Nice color screen
-MP3 player quality and sound is amazing
-nice compact size

CONS:
-Phone freezes sometimes during the fast browsing through the menues (typical Sony's and Motorola's bug)
-Earpiece could be a little louder
-Photo takes long time to process
-The delivery report if unread stops all incoming messages

Well what can I say for conclusion?
NO MORE SONY OR SAMSUNG FOR NOW!
I will try excute's DV1
( $545 ,is reasonable) First 3 megapixel GSM phone, with 16.7 Million color TFT screen,
+30 frames per second video!
available since 3 days ago at
http://www.expansys-usa.com
(just type dv1 in thesearch box) .
Don't mistake the spelling:
it is DV One , not DVL or DVi .
review could be found at http://www.mobileburn.com

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very disappointing phone

 

Jul 8, 2005 by Jenifer

FIRST OF ALL:
I give this phone 1.5 review because for me phone should work well as a phone first and then as a camera ( good 2 mp camera costs today $60, not $200!).

I ordered k750 from http://www.welectronics.com
and now don't know how to sell this little toy, since welectronics do not accept phones back unless the phone is defective.

PROS:
-True 2 mega-pixel camera

CONS:
-Can't hear anyone clear or loud enough
-Phone is too small and therefore is not very convenient to use
-Screen color is far behind of Sony s700

The worst side of this is that now
I can't prove to W-Electronics that the phone does crashes since it doesn't happen all the time. And also, they told me that for everyone else who bought this phone ear-piece sound was reasonably high and clear enough! ( I understand this, since majority of our society today are kids).

My friend has S700 and that one is definitely much better than k750 for a reason. You can't make such a tiny phone and expect it to be without software or sound problems. ANYWYAY, PEOPLE BE AWARE OF K750, IT IS TOO SMALL AND NOT AS GOOD AS
S700.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The best camera, but what about the phone quality?

 

Jun 23, 2005 by mike78nycc

I went to cti telecoms office in New York area and was interested to buy k750.
I inserted my T-Monile Sim card and made few calls to check the quality of the phone.
Unfortunately this time Sony did not go without a bug. Camera and other features of the phone are exceptional, but the sound quality is horrible.

PROS:
-Excellent and probably the best on European market camera/phone
-High quality screen

CONS:
-Screen is too small
-Phone is too small as well
(that make the sound far away from being even medium loud).

CONCLUSION:
There is a reason as to why average Nokia phone is by $200 more expensive than Sony or Samsung. Nokia of course does copy the design and features of Samsung and of Sony in some of its models. So due to this reason Nokia phones always behind the Sony and Samsung in its features by 6 months. But
there is nothing wrong with it since after all,the copied model becomes more durable, higher quality, and better sound quality than Samsung or Sony. Nokia ( whether you want it or not) is the largest distributer of cellular phones worldwide (read the statistics). Since the average Nokia phone
( not all models of course) has a much higher review online than Sony or Samsung, Nokia is very confident about its global reputation for durable and high quality phones and that is why will not bring the price of its phones even closer to Samsung or Sony.

So my simple suggestion is:
- Either spend $200 extra on Nokia 6680 (1.3 megapix, with flash UMTS!-phone, or wait until 2 megapixel Nokia will be released (which will be by the end of this year).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This thing rocks

 

Jun 23, 2005 by deekaybee

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Almost as good as it gets..

 

May 27, 2005 by Zorn

I really love the K750. The phone looks great, feels sturdy, has a fantastic screen, and the Sony Ericsson UI has always been a favorite of mine.

Pros:

Fantastic screen
Battery life seems quite decent
Great UI
Camera outclasses every other cell phone, bar none
Handy feature to let you use the flash as a light
Very very customizable
Good reception
I've always liked that SE's record function lets you record both sides of a call

There are only 2 cons that keep this phone from a perfect 5 in my book.

1) There's no reason SE should have left out EDGE from this phone. The S710a has been out for months and has EDGE, this flagship model should too.

2) The menus are a VAST VAST improvement over the snail's pace that was the S710a, but it's still not quite as instantaneous as some of LGs interfaces. Don't get me wrong, its very acceptable, but a little refinement (hopefully the first firmware update) and it will be perfect.

Otherwise, I would say this is probably one of the best GSM phones on the market today, if not the best.

If you really need to be able to add tons and different varieties of programs, you need a smartphone. But if you use your phone to schedule some appointments here and there, and some tasks, and as your alarm clock, the K750 will serve you very well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is unbelievable!

 

Sep 16, 2005 by Dibe11

The K750i is a great phone. Don't pay much attention to the people leaveing such negative feedback on a phone that has incredible features. Everyone that is saying that it doesn't have EDGE doesn't understand that the phone is not made for the US market, so why would they put EDGE? They rather invest the money into the amazing camera they put into the phone. Also, I use the phone with Cingular in Florida which only has 850 MGz and it doesn't have the best reception, but believe it or not it has decent reception.

For those of you who have problems with the actual software or the phone is restarting itself like mine did when I first bought it...just update the software...actually I flashed it into a W800i, I now have the walkman phone for $30 instead of paying over $100 difference to buy it...it fixes all the bugs!!!

Its a definete buy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


K750i sucks

 

Oct 18, 2005 by nojoke

Believe me, this phone really sucks. Sony is famous for it's design + inmafous customer service. i really love the design & size of this phone, not too big & also looks classy. But the problem is with it's features & functions.

I'm not going to elaborate on this phone becos it's not worth mentioning it, it freezes all the time, CAVEAT EMPTOR!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOMEE!!!

 

Nov 1, 2005 by ammarsf

Okay ppl, decided to write something about this great phone!!

This thing is really cool.

PRO's
- An Awesome 2 MP Camera
- Highly useable menus!

Con's
- It cud have a real media player
- Hangs up sometimes/restarts.

Overall, i think its the thing to have!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


VERY GOOD, except for one major thing

 

Oct 26, 2005 by absolut_ian

I love this phone! It is small, cool looking and has every feature a boy could ask for. 2MP camera, bluetooth, autofocus, speakerphone and other great features. There is nothing I would modify about this phone (maybe if it was a flip) except for the fact that it does not get great reception.

Cell phones are used for talking #1, and features are a secondary feature. The phone just does not seem to be getting the high signal quality that it should be.

However, I still gave this phone a 4 because, although its more prominant on this phone, Sony Ericsson in general does not have the best reception. If you want reception, then you should own a Nokia. You want a cool small phone with more gadgets than Ron Jeremy's basement, then this is your phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone Too Small

 

Oct 31, 2005 by TheBoi588

my dad got this phone about 4 months ago as soon as it was released on the market i borrowed it for a month and was not happy with it for how much it cost
Pros
-Quality Screen
-Battery Life
-Speaker Phone
-Speaker quality

Cons
-Doesn't support 850 mhz band
-No 3.5mm headphone jack but you can buy a cheap adapter on ebay for about 10 bux
-Video Camera not as good as i thought

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 12 3 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2